Switch Theme:

Apothecary Taxis  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Irradiated Baal Scavanger




Perf, Dubya Aye

Okay, I had a game on the weekend with my Blood Angels. There were two apothecaries, one of which was in a rhino. During the game they 'healed' quite a few failed saves, much to the annoyance of my opponent. Afterwards he had two questions regarding the tactic I was using;

1. Was I allowed to use the Exsanguinator (or any other special rule/ability, like Corbulo's Furious Charge buff) from inside a vehicle?

and,

2. Could I use it in both player's turn (so if I overheated a plasma weapon, the apothecary could patch him up)?

Here is the relavant rule from the BA codex:

"Exsanguinator: Once per player turn, a friendly model within 6" of a model with an Exsanguinator may ignore a failed save as long as the bearer is not Falling Back, in close combat, or Pinned. It may not be used against Instant Death or a close combat attack that ignores armor saves."

Any insight would be apprciated, so we can agree on the correct playing of it.

Opinions are like arseholes, everyone's got 'em and they all stink. Except mine, because my sh!t don't stink. 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






.................................... Searching for Iscandar

There is no GW ruling on this.

The model is "on" the table.

So until GW says otherwise, you can trace all such "effects" (like apothecaries, standards...anything that confers an ability on someone within X distance essentially) from a vehicle because there is no real way to do it another way.

GW should clarify this but who knows?

   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Vacaville, CA

Its 100% legal, I myself keep Brotha C in a rhino and have him give FC and save models within 6"

"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."

-Joseph Stalin
 
   
Made in us
Ancient Chaos Terminator




South Pasadena

What utter crap. Legal but still utter crap. I would not complain if an opponent used it, it is the fault of the rules not the player.

 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Vacaville, CA

And on a side note you answered #2 yourself in your own quote, each player's turn.

"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."

-Joseph Stalin
 
   
Made in se
Snord





Stockholm

Stelek wrote:There is no GW ruling on this.

The model is "on" the table.

So until GW says otherwise, you can trace all such "effects" (like apothecaries, standards...anything that confers an ability on someone within X distance essentially) from a vehicle because there is no real way to do it another way.

GW should clarify this but who knows?


I do agree that the abilites work, but the model is NOT on the table.

 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






.................................... Searching for Iscandar

Hmmm.

P66: "When the unit embarks, it is removed the table and placed aside, making a note or otherwise marking that unit is being transported."

"If the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measured to or from the vehicle's hull."

P67: "A unit that beings its Movement phase ABOARD a vehicle..."

"Effects of damage results on passengers".

You don't really need me to define what a passenger is, or what aboard means, do you? Please say no. lol

   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





St. Louis, MO

Bla_Ze wrote:
Stelek wrote:There is no GW ruling on this.

The model is "on" the table.

So until GW says otherwise, you can trace all such "effects" (like apothecaries, standards...anything that confers an ability on someone within X distance essentially) from a vehicle because there is no real way to do it another way.

GW should clarify this but who knows?


I do agree that the abilites work, but the model is NOT on the table.


The physical model doesn't need to be ON the table to be considered "on the table." If it's in play, it's "on the table," essentially.


Eric

Black Fiend wrote: Okay all the ChapterHouse Nazis to the right!! All the GW apologists to the far left. LETS GET READY TO RUMBLE !!!
The Green Git wrote: I'd like to cross section them and see if they have TFG rings, but that's probably illegal.
Polonius wrote: You have to love when the most clearly biased person in the room is claiming to be objective.
Greebynog wrote:Us brits have a sense of fair play and propriety that you colonial savages can only dream of.
Stelek wrote: I know you're afraid. I want you to be. Because you should be. I've got the humiliation wagon all set up for you to take a ride back to suck city.
Quote: LunaHound--- Why do people hate unpainted models? I mean is it lacking the realism to what we fantasize the plastic soldier men to be?
I just can't stand it when people have fun the wrong way. - Chongara
I do believe that the GW "moneysheep" is a dying breed, despite their bleats to the contrary. - AesSedai
You are a thief and a predator of the wargaming community, and i'll be damned if anyone says differently ever again on my watch in these forums. -MajorTom11 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: