Switch Theme:

Can you use a webway portal from inside a raider?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






this goes along with all the other "measured from the hull" type questions for abilities, the difference here is that a webway portal cannot be used if the wielder moved or shot on the turn they are using it, whether you can move in the movement phase before deploying is IMO dubious and open to disagreement but for this situation lets assume that you cannot use the portal if the model bearing it moved in the movement phase or ran/shot in the shooting phase (which it is deployed in).

1) can a model on a raider deploy the webway portal next to the raider like an eldar psyker can use powers measured from the hull. Unfortunately I cannot get direct quotes of the relative sections but as far as I know it just says that you deploy the small blast marker next to the model's base.

2) if the model could deploy it from the raider, could it do so if the raider had moved in the movement phase? Since it is said that the deployment is done instead of movement or shooting does that mean that you can only do it from a moving transport if you had the option to fire (i.e. moved 6" or less) or can you do it no matter what as long as the model itself isn't moving or shooting?

If you can deploy the wwp from a raider moving over 6" then that would mean you could drop in with screaming jets and deploy it next to the raider, a very big tactical advantage for dark eldar, so what are the opinions on this, I'm both interested in RAW (too bad I don't have the W for it) and your opinion on how you would actually play it.

Along another vein is disembarking considered to be "moving in the movement phase" you allways count as moving for the purposes of shooting after disembarking from a vehicle, but could you disembark and then do something with the prerequisite that the model cannot move in the movement phase if a vehicle was stationary? if so what about if the vehicle had moved?

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





Colorado

I think the portal is prohibited from being used by raider units and bikes

NoTurtlesAllowed.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






.................................... Searching for Iscandar

Yes, you can do this.

You have to "carry" the item in the Raider and it cannot be in reserve (i.e. waiting in the WWP lol) but I don't see any reason why not.

It's a nice catch, really.

   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Darkness wrote:I think the portal is prohibited from being used by raider units and bikes


not raider units, hellion skyboards and reaver jetbikes prohibit it from being taken.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Widowmaker






Syracuse, NY

5th edition brings back the concept of models being on the table and actually occupying the space of their transport. Unless there's a rule preventing the release of the portal while embarked, this should now (and just now) be legal.

Though I would say that the transport cannot move at all, because doing so would count the embarked models 'as moving' which they are not allowed to do if deploying a webway.

Disembarking is also a movement, so there's no disembark + deploy in a turn.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: