Switch Theme:

Striking Scorpion Exarch (in 5e)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Guarding Guardian




Charlotte, NC

Somebody mentioned something as being a change in 5e, so I did some checking and I'm not quite convinced of the answer.

The Scorpion Exarch may be equipped with the Scorpion's Claw.
He's now equipped with a Chainsword (ccw), Mandiblasters, and the Claw (Shuriken Catapult and Power Fist.)
When he attacks, he has A2 + 1 (Mandiblasters)

Now the question is: did he lose an attack in 5e?
Since he was equipped with both the Chainsword and the Claw, he has two single-handed CCWs (which would have given him four base attacks), but the 5e rule for Power Fist now says that they forfeit their additional CC attack (unless they have two Power Fists, which he can't have), thus reducing his number of base attacks to three.

If this is the case, what is the point of him carrying a chainsword if he isn't able to use it? Did I miss something or might this be an oversight?

 
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





He can use the Chainsword instead of the Scorpion's Claw to attack at his Initiative interval. He can also upgrade to a Biting Blade for the same purpose.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

DarthIbis wrote:

If this is the case, what is the point of him carrying a chainsword if he isn't able to use it? Did I miss something or might this be an oversight?



It's not an oversight, it's just a change in the game. The Exarch with a claw can't get the +1A for having two close combat weapons the same as any other model with a powerfist.


Edit: Actually Nurglitch, the rules now state that you must use a special close combat weapon if you have it, so the Exarch does *not* have the option to strike at his regular Initiative.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/08/28 21:03:30


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Plastictrees






Salem, MA

Yep, it looks like SS exarchs now fall under the category "Two Different Special Weapons" on page 42, which means they never get a bonus for two weapons.

It's still useful because an exarch might want to attack at I6 in order to go before some I2-4 models (although at only str4 and allowing armor saves). So he still has the option to use his chainsword instead of his fist.

"The complete or partial destruction of the enemy must be regarded as the sole object of all engagements.... Direct annihilation of the enemy's forces must always be the dominant consideration." Karl von Clausewitz 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Flavius,

See page 35 of the rulebook under "who can fight?".

Models must use their special close combat weapons now, so unless he has a biting blade (another special close combat weapon) he's not going to be able to choose between what Initiative value to strike at.



This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/08/28 21:06:14


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





The Scorpion Chainsword is a special close combat weapon. It adds +1S.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Nurglitch wrote:The Scorpion Chainsword is a special close combat weapon. It adds +1S.


Ah, good point. My apologies.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in be
Bounding Ultramarine Assault Trooper




ghent

chose if he uses the sword for his atack whit in6 than he hets +1 at for the blaster on the claw

sorry for my spelling but I em dislextic
ultramar for the win

? pnt  
   
Made in us
Guarding Guardian




Charlotte, NC

quietus86 wrote:chose if he uses the sword for his atack whit in6 than he hets +1 at for the blaster on the claw
I don't think so, as the weapon on the claw is a Shuriken Catapult (not a Shuriken Pistol) and wouldn't confer the extra attack for two single handed weapons... would it?

So we have said that he can use either the Claw at I1 with no additional attack bonus, so A3 (A4 on the charge) or the sword at I6 also with A3/A4 since he's unable to attack with the claw.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





That is correct. Power fists do not count as an extra CCW if using another special weapon.

In the dark future, there are skulls for everyone. But only the bad guys get spikes. And rivets for all, apparently welding was lost in the Dark Age of Technology. -from C.Borer 
   
Made in be
Bounding Ultramarine Assault Trooper




ghent

ow I thos that was a pistol hell havend seen the codex eldar in ages

sorry for my spelling but I em dislextic
ultramar for the win

? pnt  
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion




Between the Sun and the Sky

yakface wrote:
DarthIbis wrote:

If this is the case, what is the point of him carrying a chainsword if he isn't able to use it? Did I miss something or might this be an oversight?



It's not an oversight, it's just a change in the game. The Exarch with a claw can't get the +1A for having two close combat weapons the same as any other model with a powerfist.


Edit: Actually Nurglitch, the rules now state that you must use a special close combat weapon if you have it, so the Exarch does *not* have the option to strike at his regular Initiative.



Yakface, as a note, the Scorpion Chainsword is a Special CCW, as per the Striking Scorpion army list entry in the Eldar Codex.

EDIT: Whoops. Someone beat me to it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/08/28 23:41:58


Catch me if you can.
 
   
Made in us
Guarding Guardian




Charlotte, NC

I suppose 3/4 power fist attacks is still nothing to sneeze at.

 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






DarthIbis wrote:
quietus86 wrote:chose if he uses the sword for his atack whit in6 than he hets +1 at for the blaster on the claw
I don't think so, as the weapon on the claw is a Shuriken Catapult (not a Shuriken Pistol) and wouldn't confer the extra attack for two single handed weapons... would it?

So we have said that he can use either the Claw at I1 with no additional attack bonus, so A3 (A4 on the charge) or the sword at I6 also with A3/A4 since he's unable to attack with the claw.


Interestingly I'm not sure this is true because of wording they chose to use in writing the 5th ed core rules, "+1 Two Weapons: Engaged models with two singlehanded
weapons (typically a close combat weapon and/or pistol in each hand) get an extra +1 attack." With the older wargear sections this would have been clear, as there were specific single handed weapon sections, but now it's a bit more questionable.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion




Between the Sun and the Sky

I've always played that PF are CCW, whether or not this is RAW, I do not know. IIRC, then the PF entry in the BGB simply says that you can't gain an extra attack with the powerfist unless you have another PF, but it says nothing about the Power Fist itself not being a CCW.

Catch me if you can.
 
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





In the 4th edition of the rules you could use your special close combat weapon effect (Power Fist) or you could treat a weapon just as a close combat weapon.

In the 5th edition of the rules you must use a special close combat weapon, as Yakface notes.

Indeed, the rules specifically say that the Power Fist is not a close combat weapon by listing it as a special close combat weapon (See p.42, Rulebook).

So if a model is armed with a close combat weapon and a Power Fist, it must use the Power Fist and cannot gain the bonus from the close combat weapon.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: