Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/29 01:37:28
Subject: Are models in a transport treated as on the table?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Hey guys was doing some research as to whether models in a transport are treated as on the table or not. This comes up with mystics in a land raider with their inquisitor. If a unit deep strikes near them and they are in the transport does the mystic allow the deep striking unit to be shot at if they are in the 4d6 range? (any unit within 12 inches of a inquisitorial retinue that has 2 mystics can shoot at a DSing unit.)
Specifically I can't find a page or rules reference that says they are no longer counted as on the table. (help here?)
I can find 3-4 examples where they are treated as on the table still but not directly mention as if they are on the table.
1) shooting from a transport
2) psychic powers on a transport
3) scoring units in a transport
4) chaos icons and how they function while in a transport.
Help! I was going to use this in Ard boyz but can't find a rules reference to let me do it! OR tell me I can't! :(
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/08/29 01:48:49
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/29 01:59:46
Subject: Are models in a transport treated as on the table?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Keep in mind the Mystic Ability does not need LOS to the DSing unit to let another squad shoot at the DSing unit.
EDIT:
Found it on page 66.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/08/29 03:15:45
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/08/29 04:20:37
Subject: Are models in a transport treated as on the table?
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The only thing that ever said that units in transports were 'off the table' was the old rulebook FAQ.
That FAQ is gone and with it that ruling.
That means models in a transport are treated as being in the transport. Page 66 tells you to measure from the hull of the vehicle for things that affect the unit inside.
So in your case, the Mystic's 4D6" range would be measured from the hull of the vehicle they are in.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/09 23:20:20
Subject: Re:Are models in a transport treated as on the table?
|
 |
Guardsman with Flashlight
|
I have a similar question. Say I have several chimeras holding a mix of armored fist, stormtroopers, and guardsmen, which I deploy loaded up. I informed my opponent what forces I had, and even offered him the army list, however I secretly recorded which troops were in which chimeras, for fear of him putting a railgun shot straight through the one holding my stormtroopers, officers, ect. He was not happy about this. Was I being rude, am I required to reveal the exact deployment of my forces?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/10 00:50:00
Subject: Re:Are models in a transport treated as on the table?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Zanslev wrote:I have a similar question. Say I have several chimeras holding a mix of armored fist, stormtroopers, and guardsmen, which I deploy loaded up. I informed my opponent what forces I had, and even offered him the army list, however I secretly recorded which troops were in which chimeras, for fear of him putting a railgun shot straight through the one holding my stormtroopers, officers, ect. He was not happy about this. Was I being rude, am I required to reveal the exact deployment of my forces?
The rulebook doesn't care. Nearly every tournament is run "open list", with every unit's equipment & disposition known to your enemy, including which transport holds which unit. Most pick-up games tend towards the "open list" format, at least in my experience.
|
Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/10 01:08:31
Subject: Are models in a transport treated as on the table?
|
 |
Uhlan
|
So if "measured" from the hull, does that mean abilities requiring base 2 base are treated as if touching the hull?
Example: Can an Mech in a trukk fix a battle wagon if the Trukk is touching the wagon?
|
I play + |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/10 03:03:22
Subject: Are models in a transport treated as on the table?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Datajax wrote:So if "measured" from the hull, does that mean abilities requiring base 2 base are treated as if touching the hull?
Example: Can an Mech in a trukk fix a battle wagon if the Trukk is touching the wagon?
This is what I wonder too, I would love to start tossing webway portals over the side of my raiders. What about a model in a moving transport do they count as having moved (it says they do for shooting but how does this extrapolate if at all)
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/10 03:35:26
Subject: Are models in a transport treated as on the table?
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
This affects my marines as well [for 1 more month anyway], as I wanted to run lots of Apothecaries for the 'Ard Boyz. Do they still function inside the transport?
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/10 03:58:09
Subject: Re:Are models in a transport treated as on the table?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Dayton, Ohio
|
So Doom or Guide would work from inside a falcon or wave serpent, but not mind war, since mind war specifies line of sight and that it's a shooting power?
|
If more of us valued food and cheer and 40K over hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/10 09:12:40
Subject: Are models in a transport treated as on the table?
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Datajax wrote:So if "measured" from the hull, does that mean abilities requiring base 2 base are treated as if touching the hull?
Example: Can an Mech in a trukk fix a battle wagon if the Trukk is touching the wagon?
Base contact has nothing to do with measuring from the hull. The embarked models are on or inside the vehicle that is transporting them but are removed from the table for gaming purposes. So yes, if it is reasonable (to me) to say that the embarked models are in "base contact" with the vehicle they are riding in.
Besides, doesn't the Mek rule specifically allow them to fix the vehicle from within (I don't have the codex on me right now but that's what I seem to recall).
Drunkspleen wrote:
This is what I wonder too, I would love to start tossing webway portals over the side of my raiders. What about a model in a moving transport do they count as having moved (it says they do for shooting but how does this extrapolate if at all)
The model is onboard the vehicle so if the vehicle moved then I would most certainly the model counts as having moved.
Spellbound wrote:This affects my marines as well [for 1 more month anyway], as I wanted to run lots of Apothecaries for the 'Ard Boyz. Do they still function inside the transport?
If the effect has a range it is measured from the hull of the vehicle.
Krak_kirby wrote:So Doom or Guide would work from inside a falcon or wave serpent, but not mind war, since mind war specifies line of sight and that it's a shooting power?
Correct.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/10 09:33:13
Subject: Are models in a transport treated as on the table?
|
 |
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot
|
yakface wrote:Datajax wrote:So if "measured" from the hull, does that mean abilities requiring base 2 base are treated as if touching the hull?
Example: Can an Mech in a trukk fix a battle wagon if the Trukk is touching the wagon?
Base contact has nothing to do with measuring from the hull. The embarked models are on or inside the vehicle that is transporting them but are removed from the table for gaming purposes. So yes, if it is reasonable (to me) to say that the embarked models are in "base contact" with the vehicle they are riding in.
Besides, doesn't the Mek rule specifically allow them to fix the vehicle from within (I don't have the codex on me right now but that's what I seem to recall).
I vote yes, a mechanic (Techpriest/techmarine etc) can fix vehicle A from inside vehicle B if A and B are in base contact, as odd as that sounds. Since models are now assumed to be in the same location as the hull of the vehicle they are in.
|
"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."
-Joseph Stalin
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/10 12:23:21
Subject: Re:Are models in a transport treated as on the table?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Krak_kirby wrote:So Doom or Guide would work from inside a falcon or wave serpent, but not mind war, since mind war specifies line of sight and that it's a shooting power?
Note that both Fortune and Eldritch Storm also works.
The only Farseer power that require LOS is Mind War.
|
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
 |
 |
|