Switch Theme:

Tank Shock from reserve?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Dayton, Ohio

Can a vehicle declare a tank shock or ram from reserve, after making a reserve roll?

If more of us valued food and cheer and 40K over hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world. 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Vacaville, CA

I don't see why not.

"Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas."

-Joseph Stalin
 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





St. Louis, MO

Yes.
You come on in the movement phase, so you're good to go.

Of course, you still have to CALL it and all that...

Eric

Black Fiend wrote: Okay all the ChapterHouse Nazis to the right!! All the GW apologists to the far left. LETS GET READY TO RUMBLE !!!
The Green Git wrote: I'd like to cross section them and see if they have TFG rings, but that's probably illegal.
Polonius wrote: You have to love when the most clearly biased person in the room is claiming to be objective.
Greebynog wrote:Us brits have a sense of fair play and propriety that you colonial savages can only dream of.
Stelek wrote: I know you're afraid. I want you to be. Because you should be. I've got the humiliation wagon all set up for you to take a ride back to suck city.
Quote: LunaHound--- Why do people hate unpainted models? I mean is it lacking the realism to what we fantasize the plastic soldier men to be?
I just can't stand it when people have fun the wrong way. - Chongara
I do believe that the GW "moneysheep" is a dying breed, despite their bleats to the contrary. - AesSedai
You are a thief and a predator of the wargaming community, and i'll be damned if anyone says differently ever again on my watch in these forums. -MajorTom11 
   
Made in us
Hunter with Harpoon Laucher




Castle Clarkenstein

Hypothetical situation:

A unit is set up at a board edge in such a way that the vehicle doesn't fit on the board, or can't enter the board. Vehicle declares a tank shock. Unit declares DOG and immobilizes the vehicle.

1) Vehicle is destroyed as there is no place to place it?
2) Don't allow the vehicle to tank shock in the first place?
3) Move aside the DOG unit to make room for the vehicle?

This would get even more complicated if the vehicle in question was a transport with troops inside.

Thoughts?

....and lo!.....The Age of Sigmar came to an end when Saint Veetock and his hamster legions smote the false Sigmar and destroyed the bubbleverse and lead the true believers back to the Old World.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Dayton, Ohio

That's a good point mikhaila. Following the tank shock rules I would expect the vehicle and occupants to be destroyed. Obviously a desperate move for the tank shocking player.

I was thinking more along the lines of keeping my army in reserve. In practice games, if my opponent goes first, he can fairly easily cross the board to objectives on my side, and bring up tanks in support. If it's legal to tank shock or ram from reserve my opponent might have to think twice about what he's willing to risk. Most of the time I'll have room to place the tank...

If more of us valued food and cheer and 40K over hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world. 
   
Made in us
Executing Exarch





Los Angeles

When you come in from reserves, you move in from a position just off the board. Since that's the only limiting factor, I don't see anything that would prevent you from tank shocking from such a position.

Death or glory gets to be something of a sticky situation. In general, you are not allowed to move off the board. If you are forced to move off the board, your units are considered destroyed (as with the situation of falling back or deep striking off the table). With that precident in mind, if a death or glory would stop the tank off the board and prevent a unit inside form disembarking, then I figure that they would be counted as destroyed.

With that however, I must say that there are no specific rules that really cover this situation (as far I can tell) so it's more of a judgement call than anything that's specificaly supported by the rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/09/02 19:38:11


**** Phoenix ****

Threads should be like skirts: long enough to cover what's important but short enough to keep it interesting. 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Phoenix wrote:When you come in from reserves, you move in from a position just off the board. Since that's the only limiting factor, I don't see anything that would prevent you from tank shocking from such a position.

Death or glory gets to be something of a sticky situation. In general, you are not allowed to move off the board. If you are forced to move off the board, your units are considered destroyed (as with the situation of falling back or deep striking off the table). With that precident in mind, if a death or glory would stop the tank off the board and prevent a unit inside form disembarking, then I figure that they would be counted as destroyed.

With that however, I must say that there are no specific rules that really cover this situation (as far I can tell) so it's more of a judgement call than anything that's specificaly supported by the rules.



There is one additional rule to possibly consider (pg 94):

"If a unit has a special rule forcing it to move in a specific direction (such as 'rage', for example) or that could stop it from moving, the rule is ignored in the phase when it arrives from reserve."


However I don't think a DoG attack falls under a the heading of a 'unit. . .special rule' now that I read it carefully.

I agree this is a situation not really covered in the rules and should be FAQ'd.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: