Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/04 19:34:34
Subject: Talos vs vehicle squadron
|
 |
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior
|
Per the latest BGB, DE faq et al the Talos is a MC. With all the confusion about its skimmer rules it has come up that what does the talos do vs say a squadron of Warwalkers.
The Talos claws entry say it rolls #attacks, and those that hit beyond the first add +str, but roll penetration once. Old codex to be sure. Now the MC rules come in, and it gets 2d6 + str.
The entry says attacks versus a vehicle. But what about multiples in a squadron? Does it only get to munch on one at a time? Do you resolve to pick # attacks versus each vehicle. I get 5 attacks say, I put 2 on this one, 2 on this one and 1 on that one?
I am surprised it has not come up before. Just wondering what the fine forum readers might think.
|
"Confidence is my weapon, arrogance my armor"
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/06 03:28:52
Subject: Talos vs vehicle squadron
|
 |
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller
|
I think its per model, because there a squadron. If you are in BTB with more than one, then you may direct attacks to multiple models, but since there are no "wounds" to carry over the 2", I don't see how more than one can be effected if you are only in BTB with one.
|
Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/06 05:48:40
Subject: Talos vs vehicle squadron
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
It's an interesting question, I hadn't considered it before now.
Looking over the Talos Claws rule it clearly dictates that you roll once to penetrate the target vehicle and get +1 to penetration for each extra attack, if you allocated hits before rolling to penetrate you could spread them around, but the core rules say "When engaged in close combat against a squadron, enemy models roll to hit and for armour penetration against the squadron as a whole." This means all the rolls are made simultaneously against a single unified target, and since the Talos must "roll only once for armour penetration" he will still only get a single attack.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/07 17:21:11
Subject: Re:Talos vs vehicle squadron
|
 |
Deadly Dark Eldar Warrior
|
Really there is no update rule to cover it. The Talos claws are very limiting unless you consider the latest FAQ ruling to just make the Talos a true MC and call it a day. Ignore the skimmer rule, ignore the Talos claw entry. So it has move through cover, it runs, has the extra d6 for armor penetration and ignores armor saves in CC. The extra d6 and move through cover is the change, it could run and ignores armor saves already.
|
"Confidence is my weapon, arrogance my armor"
|
|
 |
 |
|