Switch Theme:

Apocalypse: Does an entire formation roll one die for reserves?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Mounted Kroot Tracker







I'm getting geared up for a huge in-store Apocalypse game tonight and just had a single question, and since I don't own the Apocalypse book and the store is out of them no one knows the answer:

If I choose a formation (in this case, a Kroot mercenary formation), and every unit in the formation has infiltrate and I choose to outflank with the formation, does the entire formation come in on a single reserves roll or does each unit still roll separately?

   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




Murfreesboro, TN

Apocalypse doesn't roll for reserves.

As a rule of thumb, the designers do not hide "easter eggs" in the rules. If clever reading is required to unlock some sort of hidden option, then it is most likely the result of wishful thinking.

But there's no sense crying over every mistake;
You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

Member of the "No Retreat for Calgar" Club 
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

Actually, you do roll for reserves in apoc.

Most marine players take 'careful planning' and therefore don't need to roll, but it doesn't mean that EVERYone else doesn't roll.

It says that the formations are deployed together (and if any part cannot be deployed due to time constraints, the ENTIRE formation goes back into reserves), so I'd say the ENTIRE formation arrives from reserve as one choice.


I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




Murfreesboro, TN

Ummm... no.

1st turn: no reserves.
2nd turn: half of the reserves come on.
3rd turn: the rest come on.

As a rule of thumb, the designers do not hide "easter eggs" in the rules. If clever reading is required to unlock some sort of hidden option, then it is most likely the result of wishful thinking.

But there's no sense crying over every mistake;
You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

Member of the "No Retreat for Calgar" Club 
   
Made in gb
Courageous Skink Brave





The Heart of the Eye of Terror (aka Blackpool)

Mmm, that's how I understand it too, you just need to decide beforehand which formations you want to arrive on which turn.

EDIT: I was going to pose another question here, but that would be thread-jacking. Time for a new thread!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/09/07 23:19:58


Greenbynog:
"To stray down the murky path of analogy, if I stuck a mustache on a banana, it's a special kind of banana, but a banana none the less. Yep, I think that made it loads clearer."

Minmax:
"Average GW mouthbreather statline:

WS 1; BS 2; S 2; T 4; W 1; I 1; A 1; Ld 5; Sv -

Special Rules: Mob Rule, Consume Snacks, Whine." 
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

My bad.
Haven't played an apocalypse game in over 6 months - and the slimewad who destroyed the fun of the game stole my book as well (I know where he lives, and when my wife is feeling better, I'm gonna go around to his place and re-adjust his attitude with a size 9 steel cap).

I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

Turn 2 nothing HAS to arrive - it says up to half your stuff can arrive on turn 2. But on turn 3, everything remaining does, guaranteed.

In the case of Careful Planning it's just up to half turn 1, the rest turn 2. If you bring nothing on turn 1, it makes for a VERY devastating turn 2 depending on your army composition. Having that much arrive as a big hammerblow all at once can be hard to recover from.

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







See page 100, Apocalypse. "Note that units bought together to form a battle formation are deployed simultaneously when the formation is deployed, but then move and fight independently, unless specified otherwise."

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: