Switch Theme:

Multi-Assualt Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block







After re-reading the assault rules I have question regarding multiple assaults.

Say I have unit that wants to charge into 2 units. I declare the charge into both and measure. I find one of the units is 5.5 inches away the other is 6.5 inches away. Because I can only charge 6 inches I am able to reach one of the units but not both, am I able to charge the one I could reach and not the other or does the charge just fail and I am not able to assault either unit?

thanks
Brave Rifles

drybrushwash.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Imperial Guard Landspeeder Pilot




On moon miranda.

BraveRifles wrote:
After re-reading the assault rules I have question regarding multiple assaults.

Say I have unit that wants to charge into 2 units. I declare the charge into both and measure. I find one of the units is 5.5 inches away the other is 6.5 inches away. Because I can only charge 6 inches I am able to reach one of the units but not both, am I able to charge the one I could reach and not the other or does the charge just fail and I am not able to assault either unit?

thanks
Brave Rifles


First you must declare and move the primary charge. If that makes it, then that combat results. If the secondary charge is too far away, the rules really don't cover this but since you are already in a combat I would assume you just fall back to the standard rules and get as close in to the combat that you did get into as possible.

IRON WITHIN, IRON WITHOUT.

New Heavy Gear Log! Also...Grey Knights!
The correct pronunciation is Imperial Guard and Stormtroopers, "Astra Militarum" and "Tempestus Scions" are something you'll find at Hogwarts.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Assaulting multiple units is a little counter intuitive if you're going from 4th to 5th, but it's simpler to deal with.

In 5th, you only declare one charge target and you need to get that first model you move into base to base with a model from that unit. If you come up short, no assault takes place.

Once you've established base to base with that model, there is no need to worry about declared targets because the only requirements are that you can get into base to base with it and that maintain your unit coherency. Every enemy unit which you've moved into base to base with becomes part of the assualt.

So, in you're situation if you make a mistake and you declare the charge against the unit 6.5" away and that first model comes up short, you're charge fails and it is too late to correct the situation.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/09/08 15:48:04


 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block







Thanks, for the clarification, after reading the section after the game I was thinking we played it wrong and we had

drybrushwash.blogspot.com 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: