Switch Theme:

5th Edition - Multiple Barrage Weapons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Lurking Gaunt





Buford, GA

...

Pardon if this was answered somewhere else (or if I'm just having a bad math evening), but I couldn't find it when searching the forums.

In looking at the example on page 32 of the rule book, it shows an overhead shot of a multiple barrage with 9 hits - 4 on the first marker, 3 on the second, and 2 on the third. But then it says:

"If, for example, a hit had been rolled for the third marker instead, the player could have placed it anywhere in contact with or over markers 1 and 2, even directly on top of the first marker (as long as it causes the most hits on the target). If he did so, the salvo would have caused a total of ten hits instead of the nine caused in the example above."

So, two questions:

1. Wouldn't that be 11 hits, rather than 10? (Because you'd have 4, 3, and 4)
2. Does the parenthetical reference "as long as it causes the most hits on the target" mean that you're required to position the additional markers (that don't scatter) in such a way that the most hits are given?

Dave


   
Made in au
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control




Australia

It seems that way. What the designer's intent was I will never know, but

1. It's 11 hits.
2. Yes.

109/20/22 w/d/l
Tournament: 25/5/5 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


On #1:

It's ten hits, not eleven. The first blast hits 4, the second blast (as pictured in the diagram) hits 2 and the third blast hits the same as the first and scores 4.

That's 10 hits.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Lurking Gaunt





Buford, GA

yakface wrote:
On #1:

It's ten hits, not eleven. The first blast hits 4, the second blast (as pictured in the diagram) hits 2 and the third blast hits the same as the first and scores 4.

That's 10 hits.




Doh, I see now - Darn my eyes, I had the second and third blast markers confused!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: