Switch Theme:

Necrons in Annihilation Missions (Kill Points):  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block





When a Necron lord or Necron unit get destroyed or wiped out, but comes back the next turn due to successful WBB, Res Orb, or Phylactery roll(s), does that count as earning a Kill Point since the lord or unit was initially destroyed?

If the above answer is yes, what happens if you continually keep destoying a Necron lord, but that lord keeps getting back up, do you continue to earn additional Kill Points for each time you wipe the lord? Or are no Kill Points earned until that Necron lord finally fails it's WBB, Res Orb, or Phylactery roll?

My local GW store is having an animated time with this discussion.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks.

   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




RAW would likely say that you do get the KP. Common sense and the fact that WBB is, for all respects and purposes, FNP at the beginning of your next turn, I would say its idiotic.

In short, a necron does not grant a kill point until it stays killed.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Besides a Necron Lord, once a Necron unit is entirely knocked down it ceases to exist as a unit. Any models that are allowed to stand back up will have to join another Necron unit.

So the only model this question applies to is the Necron Lord.


And the answer to this question is in the first line of the WBB rules:

"Any Necron model that is reduced to 0 wounds or would otherwise be removed as a casualty, remains on the tabletop and is laid on its side to show that it's dmaged."


So instead of being removed as a casualty the model is placed on its side to show it is damaged.

Ergo, until the Lord actually fails its WBB roll he has not officially been killed and does not give up a Kill Point.




This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/09/20 23:13:08


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





Thanks Jon.

Paul
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: