Switch Theme:

Wings and Walker Ordnance RAW questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Morphing Obliterator




The Void

Two RAW questions:

On page 66 of the rulebook it says "Only infantry models may embark in transports (it is worth specifying that this does not include jump infantry) unless a Codex book states otherwise."

On page 85 of the Chaos Codex under jump packs it says "Models equipped with jump packs are Jump Infantry as in described in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook."

But also on page 85 under wings it says "Models equipped with wings move in the same way as Jump Infantry as described in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook."

Therefore, winged lords/sorcs are not jump infantry, they just move as them, and so can be put in transports? Is this the correct interpretation, or just a foible? I would assume its just a problem with how it was written because they are both the same point cost and should be interchangeable, but then again they do have completely seperate entries in the armory and that is the only difference in them rulewise.

Second question:

Page 58 of the rulebook under Ordnance Weapons it says: "Firing a massive ordnance weapon requires the attention of all the gunners of the vehicle, so no other weapons may be fired that turn."

Page 72 under walkers shooting: "Walkers can move and fire all of their weapons, just like a stationary vehicle."

So, can a defiler move and fire the battlecannon and whatever other guns it has?

Always 1 on the crazed roll. 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Drudge Dreadnought wrote:Therefore, winged lords/sorcs are not jump infantry, they just move as them, and so can be put in transports?


Correct.


So, can a defiler move and fire the battlecannon and whatever other guns it has?


No. Firing 'like a stationary vehicle' doesn't over-ride the restriction on firing anything else with Ordnance.

 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






"Walkers can move and fire all of their weapons, just like a stationary vehicle."

This is the very reason they specify just like a stationary vehicle, a stationary vehicle cannot fire an ordnance weapon and other weapons, therefore, a walker also cannot.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: