Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/25 20:32:16
Subject: Removing Casualties -
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
|
Do you have to remove casualties from the unit you targetted, or the unit you actually hit?
Ordinance weapon scattering into another squad, for example?
In the Little BRB pg 24 it simply states 'For every model that fails its save, the unit suffers an unsaved wound' - The 'unit' he is in or the 'unit' you targetted?
** EDIT ** - I would think that the unit you hit suffers the wounds.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/09/25 20:36:17
Please note - terms like 'always/never' are carried with the basic understanding that there are exceptions to the rule, and therefore are used to mean generally...
"I do not play people who blatently exploit the rules to their own benefit, in any game. It is disrespectful to the game designers and other players." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/25 20:52:03
Subject: Removing Casualties -
|
 |
Long-Range Ultramarine Land Speeder Pilot
Whitebear lake Minnesota.
|
of course its the unit that you hit, you cant kill something unless you hit it first
|
2500-3000pts
1500pts
750pts
2500pts Bretonnians |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/25 21:00:07
Subject: Removing Casualties -
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
|
While I certainly agree with you, I have heard people argue that 'the unit' means 'the unit you targetted'. I don't think that is what it means, but leave it up to dakkadakka.
|
Please note - terms like 'always/never' are carried with the basic understanding that there are exceptions to the rule, and therefore are used to mean generally...
"I do not play people who blatently exploit the rules to their own benefit, in any game. It is disrespectful to the game designers and other players." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/25 21:10:54
Subject: Removing Casualties -
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
|
I'll double-post to add another question:
'And they shall know no fear' Special Rule for the Space Marines. If the falling back marine is within 6" of an enemy model, does he continue to fall back?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/09/25 21:11:18
Please note - terms like 'always/never' are carried with the basic understanding that there are exceptions to the rule, and therefore are used to mean generally...
"I do not play people who blatently exploit the rules to their own benefit, in any game. It is disrespectful to the game designers and other players." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/25 21:39:51
Subject: Removing Casualties -
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/26 08:14:58
Subject: Removing Casualties -
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Regarding templates being on squads other than your own, I can't dig up RAW on it but I have allways played it that it's the squad the template is on, not the initial target, that takes wounds.
Regarding ATSKNF and regrouping, it is stated in the marine codex "...and can take such tests even if the squad had been reduced to less than half strength by casualties, though all other criteria apply"
Since the core rules forbid you from even taking the test if there are enemies within 6" or if you don't have coherency both of these situations would still prevent space marines from regrouping, automatically passing doesn't help when you aren't even eligible for the test.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/26 12:21:11
Subject: Re:Removing Casualties -
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
you declare which target you are firing at before you fire. that is your target.
if a blast weapon scatters on to a unit that is not your target you resolve the damage on that unit as normal. you cannot allocate wounds to models that are in a different unit, so you must resolve any hit for different units separately.finally only the original unit you targeted will be considered your target.
for example:
two obliterators fire 2 plasma cannon at a unit A.
B
A< . . . . . . . . OO
C
Both blast markers scatter wildly. One hits unit B and the other hits C
B<
A . . . . . . . . OO
C<
The hits on units B and C are both resolved, B takes 3 casualties, C takes 2.
In the Assault phase the obliterators may only charge unit A because that was their original target, dispite dealing damage to 2 different units.
B
A<<<OO
C
>
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/09/26 12:24:57
taking up the mission
Polonius wrote:Well, seeing as I literally will die if I ever lose a game of 40k, I find your approach almost heretical. If we were to play each other in a tournament, not only would I table you, I would murder you, your family, every woman you ever loved and burn down your house. I mean, what's the point in winning if you allow people that don't take the game seriously to live? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/09/26 15:05:12
Subject: Removing Casualties -
|
 |
Bounding Assault Marine
|
That is what I thought, but wanted to ask (for both questions)
Question #3 - I see in the new SM Codex that a Signum is a piece of wargear - but don't see anywhere that any carries one, or has access to one? Am I simply missing it?
|
Please note - terms like 'always/never' are carried with the basic understanding that there are exceptions to the rule, and therefore are used to mean generally...
"I do not play people who blatently exploit the rules to their own benefit, in any game. It is disrespectful to the game designers and other players." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/10 19:34:48
Subject: Removing Casualties -
|
 |
Whelp
|
Harkainos wrote:That is what I thought, but wanted to ask (for both questions)
Question #3 - I see in the new SM Codex that a Signum is a piece of wargear - but don't see anywhere that any carries one, or has access to one? Am I simply missing it?
I noticed that same thing about the signum. It's not useful as "get hot" insurance anymore, and nobody gets one!
|
DA60+S--G+M(GD)B--I++Pw40kPwhfbPwmhd04--D++A++/cR++T(Pic)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/10 19:59:41
Subject: Removing Casualties -
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
|
hakoMike wrote:Harkainos wrote:That is what I thought, but wanted to ask (for both questions)
Question #3 - I see in the new SM Codex that a Signum is a piece of wargear - but don't see anywhere that any carries one, or has access to one? Am I simply missing it?
I noticed that same thing about the signum. It's not useful as "get hot" insurance anymore, and nobody gets one!
Devistator sergeants get one
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/12 16:35:57
Subject: Removing Casualties -
|
 |
Whelp
|
wyomingfox wrote:Devistator sergeants get one
Ohhhhhhh. Thanks, I didn't notice that.
Hey! You Techmarines! You spend too much time hanging around with the dev squad. Just give that signum to the sergeant and go fix that tank! Yes, now.
|
DA60+S--G+M(GD)B--I++Pw40kPwhfbPwmhd04--D++A++/cR++T(Pic)
|
|
 |
 |
|