Switch Theme:

Template weapons and Firepoints  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Confessor Of Sins






Scranton

Hey guys can you shoot template weapons from a firepoint? I ask this because they touch the transport and they can't cover your own units. (this came up when I tried to use a heavy flamer from my rhino at a tourny!)

If you do where where are the firepoints on a rhino for example?

If you say you can't... how can a turret mounted heavy flamer shoot?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/09/29 14:19:28


 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I was wondering the same thing. I know Open-Topped Vehicles have no problem with this since you measure from the hull.

But I want my Marines to be able to torch Orks from safely within a Rhino!
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


It's a grey area in the rules.

I cover it in the INAT FAQ, but nothing official is out there.

I've never seen someone actually try to enforce this rule, but my advice to you if you're really worried about it would be to model an extra long turret barrel for your heavy flamer.

But of course, then you're getting extra range out of your flamer and some people won't take kindly to that either.

I think most people are fine with you placing the template over the firing model without it causing a hit. But that's just my experience.




I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins






Scranton

yea... this happened to me at ard boys when I shot out of my rhino at people:( any way we can get it into an official GW FAQ?

 
   
Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





follow on question: unit of burna boyz in an ork trukk (open-topped vehicle). Where should the template come from? Under "open-topped transports" is says that all passengers may fire and range and LOS is measured from the hull. It just seems odd to me that with all the boyz in the back of the trukk, you would place the template on the front of the engine (which is part of the hull).
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

budro wrote:follow on question: unit of burna boyz in an ork trukk (open-topped vehicle). Where should the template come from? Under "open-topped transports" is says that all passengers may fire and range and LOS is measured from the hull. It just seems odd to me that with all the boyz in the back of the trukk, you would place the template on the front of the engine (which is part of the hull).


If it bothers you, don't do it, but you are allowed to do so by the rules.

Just imagine that the boys clamber out over the top of the vehicle to fire their burnas.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: