Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/01 17:04:50
Subject: Drop Pod Rules: Redux in 5th
|
 |
Furious Raptor
|
Hi.
So I found this thread from a few years back
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/65234.page#65246
That was pretty good, but is it still valid? I think so but lets take a look for 5th.
I think the best part of the thread is quoted below with 5th ed rules in italics.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hatches- Do you consider them part of the vehicle and no enemy model can be within 1" unless assaulting?
Yes. Yes
If a pod is completely destroyed, do you make the crater left behind the size of the main body or include the ramps as well?
Either way. If you get a "6" for the Pen roll
Do the ramps block LOS for troops?
No. Probably not, True LOS and all. It may however provide cover....
Do they block LOS for things bigger than troops?
No. Depends, again True LOS and all. Do you convert yours with no internal components for a dreadnought, so that you can draw true LOS though the pod? Even if you dont convert it that way and keep the seats ,then larger models can still probably draw LOS through the inside to other larger things..
Now with all that being said, lets not forget that when the drop pod lands you MUST blow all the hatches, no keeping 4 closed and deploying out the front/back to block LOS.
|
Check out my conversion blog-
"Iron Warriors turn: he shoots my falcon with his lascannon, and destroys it" -Blackmoor
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/01 18:16:43
Subject: Re:Drop Pod Rules: Redux in 5th
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
|
The movement rules say you only count hull or base of the model for the 1 inch rule...so the hatches would not count.
|
.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/01 18:17:17
Subject: Re:Drop Pod Rules: Redux in 5th
|
 |
Resentful Grot With a Plan
Silver Spring, MD
|
Now with all that being said, lets not forget that when the drop pod lands you MUST blow all the hatches, no keeping 4 closed and deploying out the front/back to block LOS.
What if the guy had his pods glued shut? What then? Where is it written that a player must "blow the hatches"? I can't find that in the 40k 5th edition rule book in any phase. I know the fluff part of the drop pod rules in the sm codex talks about this though.
|
Club me. Ain't I cute?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/01 18:49:09
Subject: Re:Drop Pod Rules: Redux in 5th
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
General Hobbs wrote:
The movement rules say you only count hull or base of the model for the 1 inch rule...so the hatches would not count.
Except that while closed, those doors make up the hull of the vehicle, and while open, they form part of the base and/or hull.
|
My WHFB armies were Bretonians and Tomb Kings. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/01 19:15:23
Subject: Drop Pod Rules: Redux in 5th
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I honestly don't think it makes much difference whether the doors are part of the hull or not. All you have to for assault is get a model in base to base contact. In the absence of a base, any part of the model should do.
At worst, you just have the funny situation that you can be in base to base with the drop pod and yet if you shot at it you'd be 2" or so away and you can stand within 1" of the model if you want.
Otherwise, the doors are part of the hull and you can't move within 1" without assaulting.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/01 19:16:43
Subject: Drop Pod Rules: Redux in 5th
|
 |
Grumpy Longbeard
New York
|
GW never defines what parts of the vehicle compose the hull, so it's a problem that needs to be resolved via FAQ.
However, not counting the doors as part of the hull leads to some seriously stupid situations, such as large creatures not being able to assault Drop Pods because they can't ever make contact with the hull without moving through the doors (which are still part of the model).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/01 20:28:29
Subject: Drop Pod Rules: Redux in 5th
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
|
However, not counting the doors as part of the hull leads to some seriously stupid situations, such as large creatures not being able to assault Drop Pods because they can't ever make contact with the hull without moving through the doors (which are still part of the model).
Why? The movement rules state that you can't move within 1" of a models base or hull...if the ramps aren't part of the hull then they are ignored for movement purposes (Not being able to move past the ramp because it is part of the model but not the base/hull, would be like me mounting a 3" wide hula skirt to my genestealers and claiming that you can't get into base-to-base thanks to the hula skirt physically blocking you from my models base).
Also having the ramps count as part of the hull leads to some incredulous situations as well. Such as if my opponent was able to deployed DP side by side with doors open and touching each other, thus giving my opponents passengers a 6" wall (3" per ramp ) that he could shoot through (assuming he deployed them on the opposite side of my guants, genestealers, ect. I on the other hand would have to take a couple turns tracking around the now incredibly large hull to assault the passengers, because my guants are too stupid to climb up on the ramps and assualt the troops on the other side.
Besides, in the white dwarf articles battle reports, they show passengers being deployed on the ramps which couldn't be done if they were counting the ramps as the hulls (that would be like having troops deployed on top of a rhino).
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/10/01 20:45:25
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/01 21:40:27
Subject: Drop Pod Rules: Redux in 5th
|
 |
Grumpy Longbeard
New York
|
Actually you're right. Somehow I missed that on a previous read and didn't look at it again before posting. You can pretty much disregard my previous post.
|
|
 |
 |
|