Switch Theme:

chaos breath+transport+fire point = ???  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block





Okay so with a flamer I can hit a building and the unit inside via the fire point, does this also apply to transports? It seems like it should.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Maybe for open topped vehicles you could get someone to agree to a house rule, but you'll have a tough time arguing that a Land Raider would allow that sort of effect.

Either way, that's not how the rules are written in the BRB.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


The answer is no.

That rule is specified as something you are allowed to do with buildings, not with vehicles.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




I could use some additional points on this topic, though.

Models in a vehicle are considered to be on the table. What prevents them, ruleswise, from being hit by weapons that do not require line of sight, or psychic powers that are area effect? I must have missed a rule in the main book.

Is the answer different for open-topped v. close-topped vehicles? also, is the answer different if the large blast does not completely cover the vehicle?

Manfred on Dwarfs: "it's like fighting a mountain, except the mountain stabs back."

For Hearth and Home! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







To answer your direct question, it doesn't matter whether its an open-topped or close-topped vehicle or whether the template is a large blast completely covering the vehicle. The answer remains as Yakface stated.

To elaborate, in order to hit something with a template of any kind, the template has to be physically over the model. One, and only one specific excemption to that rule is given for placing a flame template over a fire point of a building. In all other cases, since none of the embarked models are underneath the template, the embarked unit will not be hit by the template.

For things which don't require line of sight or which have an area of effect (but are not templates), the rulebook says two things:

As far as abilities or psychic powers which don't require line of sight, there are two phrases involving transports:
"When the unit embarks, it is removed from the table and placed aside..."
and
"If the players need to measure a range involving the embarked unit (except for its shooting), this range is measured to or from the vehicles hull."

A psychic power or shooting attack which targets specific models (for instance, Boon of Mutation) isn't going to work because the model itself is out of range. The same goes for Aura of Decay and Nurgles Rot because none of the models are within range even though the unit may be. Other abilities might be usable against the embarked unit, depending on how they are written.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




So Nurgle's rot, for instance. You measure distance to the unit based on the edge of the vehicle's hull. What prevents Nurgle's rot from a model within 6" of the vehicle will hit the models within? I understand the argument that the models are not physically there, so you can't measure to them, but that is not applicable to 5th anymore from a rules position - they are considered by the rules to be at the edge of the hull.

Fear of the Darkness was a great example of an applicable power (though moot now). How about items like the DE wargear, the cube of kill-the-psyker? (sorry, forgetting its real name)

Manfred on Dwarfs: "it's like fighting a mountain, except the mountain stabs back."

For Hearth and Home! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







Antonin wrote:So Nurgle's rot, for instance. You measure distance to the unit based on the edge of the vehicle's hull. What prevents Nurgle's rot from a model within 6" of the vehicle will hit the models within? I understand the argument that the models are not physically there, so you can't measure to them, but that is not applicable to 5th anymore from a rules position - they are considered by the rules to be at the edge of the hull.

Fear of the Darkness was a great example of an applicable power (though moot now). How about items like the DE wargear, the cube of kill-the-psyker? (sorry, forgetting its real name)


But the problem is that Nurgles Rot specifies "all enemy models within 6" ...". Say your sorcerer is 4" from a loaded transport. Is the unit inside the transport 4" away? Yes. Are any of the models in that unit 4" away from the sorcerer? The models are off of the table, and there is no way to determine which models in the tranported unit are within range. That's as far as the written rules go.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/10/03 22:35:45


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: