Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/12 04:37:43
Subject: Terminators, ICs, and sweeping advance
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
The Void
|
Terminators cannot sweeping advance. But, if you had a unit of terminators with a power armored IC attached, could the IC sweeping advance any enemies who fall back?
|
Always 1 on the crazed roll. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/12 05:06:07
Subject: Terminators, ICs, and sweeping advance
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
Murfreesboro, TN
|
I'd say no, as you're restricted to what the unit can do unless otherwise noted. I don't think there's any rule directly on-point, though, so it's all inference.
|
As a rule of thumb, the designers do not hide "easter eggs" in the rules. If clever reading is required to unlock some sort of hidden option, then it is most likely the result of wishful thinking.
But there's no sense crying over every mistake;
You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.
Member of the "No Retreat for Calgar" Club |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/12 05:29:12
Subject: Terminators, ICs, and sweeping advance
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
From page 11 of the Warhammer 40,000 5th edition rulebook under the heading 'Different Move Distances In A Unit':
All of the models in a unit move at the speed of the slowest model.
And from page 48 of the Warhammer 40,000 5th edition rulebook, third bullet point under the heading 'Independent Characters Joining And Leaving Units':
The combined unit moves and assaults at the speed of the slowest model while they stay together.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/10/12 05:29:55
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/12 05:33:04
Subject: Terminators, ICs, and sweeping advance
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
The Void
|
Duly noted Ghaz, but sweeping advances say nothing about movement.
Another sweeping advance question while we're all here: If you have 2 of your units in a combat vs an enemy unit and the enemy falls back do you make 1 sweeping advance roll per unit of yours, or one period?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/10/12 05:34:00
Always 1 on the crazed roll. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/12 05:40:35
Subject: Terminators, ICs, and sweeping advance
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
I've never had to do anything about the issue since people normally don't mix termies with lesser armour types. The only place I've seen anything specific is the SW FAQ where it says a unit led by a Wolfguard termie can't sweep - and that's unchanged in wording since their 3rd editon FAQ. Unfortunately Sweeping Advance hasn't been movement since 3rd edition so any reference to speed is meaningless.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/12 05:42:56
Subject: Terminators, ICs, and sweeping advance
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Drudge Dreadnought wrote:Another sweeping advance question while we're all here: If you have 2 of your units in a combat vs an enemy unit and the enemy falls back do you make 1 sweeping advance roll per unit of yours, or one period?
Multiple Combats, page 41 has the answer. ;-)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/12 05:57:33
Subject: Terminators, ICs, and sweeping advance
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
I would probably apply the majority or if no majority use highest Initiative rule and extend it to the armour, if most of the unit can sweeping advance then you can, if most of the unit can't then you can't.
Obviously there's no RAW support for this though.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/12 06:03:26
Subject: Terminators, ICs, and sweeping advance
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Spetulhu wrote:Multiple Combats, page 41 has the answer. ;-)
Except it's not a 'multiple combat' by the time you get to the Sweeping Advances (Independent Characters & Assaults, pg. 49).
Sweeping Advances are made by a unit, not individual models. Being a part of a unit that can not Sweeping Advance means that the character can not as well. He can not make a Sweeping Advance of his own unless he's by himself in the first place.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/12 06:16:10
Subject: Terminators, ICs, and sweeping advance
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
The Void
|
Sweeping Advances are made by a unit, not individual models. Being a part of a unit that can not Sweeping Advance means that the character can not as well. He can not make a Sweeping Advance of his own unless he's by himself in the first place.
Can you tell me where in the book it says this? I asked the original question because a guy i am going to play tomorrow puts a regular guy with his terminators so they can sweep, and if it isn't allowed i need to be able to show him where exactly in the book it says it isn't.
|
Always 1 on the crazed roll. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/12 06:24:51
Subject: Terminators, ICs, and sweeping advance
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Ghaz wrote:Spetulhu wrote:Multiple Combats, page 41 has the answer. ;-)
Except it's not a 'multiple combat' by the time you get to the Sweeping Advances (Independent Characters & Assaults, pg. 49).
If it's two really separate units it is, and that looked like the question asked. I'm sure no one would demand two SA rolls if he's got an IC in a unit that wins combat.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/12 06:52:49
Subject: Terminators, ICs, and sweeping advance
|
 |
Sergeant First Class
|
problem is, an IC can only leave a unit in the movement phase, not the assault phase. So long as the IC is part of the "unit" then it doesnt really matter what HE can do, because the "Unit" of terminators may not sweeping advance. Though in 5th, this has a lot less severe ramifications than in 4th and earlier editions, when sweeping advance meant piling into the safety of a new unit to avoid shooting revenge  I'd ask the guy to show you where it says his unit CAN sweeping advance, and he will be SOL. Thats sh&t out of lasguns in the 41st millenium.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/12 06:57:28
Subject: Terminators, ICs, and sweeping advance
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
The Void
|
The problem is that, atleast in the chaos codex, it says that models in terminator armor may not sweeping advance, not that units that include terminators may not sweeping advance.
|
Always 1 on the crazed roll. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/12 08:05:19
Subject: Terminators, ICs, and sweeping advance
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Drudge Dreadnought wrote:The problem is that, atleast in the chaos codex, it says that models in terminator armor may not sweeping advance, not that units that include terminators may not sweeping advance.
And it says in the rule book "both the falling back and the winning unit roll a d6 and add their initiative value" and alos "some troops, as detailed in their entries, are not allowed to make a sweeping advance - in such cases the enemy always manage to disengage safely"
so for one, it's treating the whole unit, not individual models, when it comes to sweeping, you even use majority Initiative if there are more than one, and a character can't override the rules for terminator armour unless he has a rule that says he does, that's the way the system works.
If that isn't enough, show him the second phrase in the sweeping advance rules where it says troops that can't sweeping advance allways let the enemy get away and use that.
Sounds to me like your opponent knows he is claiming rules that don't really exist to me though so expect him to argue it to the bitter end.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/12 08:14:08
Subject: Terminators, ICs, and sweeping advance
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
The Void
|
Alright thanks, that does explain it. But to clarify, if there is a unit of terminators and an independent char attacking the same unit but the indepent char is NOT attached to the terminators (entered combat on a different turn or was simply not attached before) then the IC CAN sweep?
|
Always 1 on the crazed roll. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/12 08:50:43
Subject: Terminators, ICs, and sweeping advance
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
yes in a multi unit combat, each broken unit rolls once and each victorious unit rolls once, then the victorious unit with the highest I+D6 total, checks which enemy units are below their total.
So yes, the character would get to roll and the terminators would be entitled to one but ineligable to claim it.
Also not that you can only join/leave units in the movement phase.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
|