Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 00:16:47
Subject: New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
http://www.games-workshop.com/gws/content/article.jsp?categoryId=1000018&pIndex=2&aId=3400019&start=3
new FAQ covers a few rules questions I've seen on here.
Pykers in transports can they use powers. YES
Do they need a fire point if they don't need line of sight NO
Can they fire at a different target than the transport. YES
Bikes scout move can you turbo YES
and many more
|
An observation about Lash:
Well, the powers granted by Slannesh are meant to be tempting .
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 00:45:15
Subject: New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
lucullus wrote:
Pykers in transports can they use powers. YES
Does this mean a libby can use infinity gate to deep strike himself and a unit of termies riding in their dedicated transport land raider, which then disgorges the whole mess into combat?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 01:36:11
Subject: New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
unclejimbo827 wrote:lucullus wrote:
Pykers in transports can they use powers. YES
Does this mean a libby can use infinity gate to deep strike himself and a unit of termies riding in their dedicated transport land raider, which then disgorges the whole mess into combat?
I suppose you could deep strike out of the land raider, but you'd have to find the text which allows you to take the transport with you...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 01:55:29
Subject: New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Does this resolve the whole black templar's righteous zeal issue as well? Since the unit has to not be pinned to be eligible and the FAQ says Q. If I find a reference to a unit that is ‘pinned’, does it mean a unit that has gone to ground? A. Yes, ‘pinned’ is simply a short way of saying gone to ground by failing a pinning test’. Also I'm glad to see this, I still remember trying to explain it to people and how adament they were that it was the other way around. Q. Can a unit with the Fleet special rule assault after disembarking from a transport? A. No, it cannot. The Fleet rule simply removes the prohibition of assaulting after running.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/10/14 02:00:14
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 02:28:53
Subject: New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
That is kind of broken that you can scout move turbo boost. I mean that kind of makes Scout Bike squads incredibly useful.
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 03:06:25
Subject: New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
It's a pretty nice way to get that Locator Beacon into position for your first wave of Drop Pods, no doubt.
Trying to stay more than 12" away from the enemy during your whole move would make it rather difficult, though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 03:06:29
Subject: New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Charging Wild Rider
|
Hollismason wrote:That is kind of broken that you can scout move turbo boost. I mean that kind of makes Scout Bike squads incredibly useful.
Hurr!
|
And so, due to rising costs of maintaining the Golden Throne, the Emperor's finest accountants spoke to the Demigurg. A deal was forged in blood and extensive paperwork for a sub-prime mortgage with a 5/1 ARM on the Imperial Palace. And lo, in the following years the housing market did tumble and the rate skyrocketed leaving the Emperor's coffers bare. A dark time has begun for the Imperium, the tithes can not keep up with the balloon payments and the Imperial Palace and its contents, including the Golden Throne, have fallen into foreclosure. With an impending auction on the horizon mankind holds its breath as it waits to see who will gain possession of the corpse-god and thus, the fate of humanity...... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 03:21:22
Subject: New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
|
I am now finally happy about one thing. They did adress the one thing I thought they need to.
in the FAQ it now says you can not fleet after getting out of transports.
I did see it both ways, but now it has been settled.
|
Armies owned
5th Ed:
Tau Stats: 14-2-8 Won against: :
Eldar Stats: 5-0-3 Won Against:
Space Marine:
Ork:
4th Ed:
Tau 82% Win, 5% Tie 13% Loss
Blood Angels: 70% |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 03:34:20
Subject: New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
Astalado wrote:I am now finally happy about one thing. They did adress the one thing I thought they need to.
in the FAQ it now says you can not fleet after getting out of transports.
I did see it both ways, but now it has been settled.
To be clear, you cannot Assault with Fleet after disembarking.
|
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 04:11:01
Subject: New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
man that leaves some broken situations when marines go first.
scout bikers have both infiltrate and scout
so after your opponent reacts to your initial deployment, you can set up your scout bikers within 24" of them even out in the open
then take your turbo boost, putting you just outside of 12" from them.
if they don't steal, 1/2 your drop pods can come in right there without scattering
seems kinda brutal to me
NaZ
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 04:35:15
Subject: New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Freaking Eerie! Someone just revived an old thread today and got my hopes up over a FAQ. And now..here it is.
Q. Can a unit with the Fleet special rule assault after disembarking from a transport?
A. No, it cannot. The Fleet rule simply removes the prohibition of assaulting after running.
Yet one more DE tactic completely removed from their army. Wait a minute, I have open-topped raiders...
This obviously doesn't apply to open-topped transports. I can only guess it's addressing people trying to use fleet of foot to get an assault in from a non-open topped vehicle on disembarking. So yeah, DE can still disembark, fleet and assault.
There's also way less in that FAQ than I wanted to see
|
This message was edited 7 times. Last update was at 2008/10/14 05:50:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 05:25:01
Subject: Re:New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Praetorian
|
So I checked out the FAQ.....
Apparently the Inquisition has decided that we do not have clearance to read page two...since the cover page doesn't have a page number, the 'second' page has page number 3 on it, and the 'third' page has the page number of 4 on it.
Where is my page 2, it might want to read it...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 05:37:31
Subject: New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
heh, I saw that...business as usual for GW.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 10:05:29
Subject: Re:New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Maxus wrote:So I checked out the FAQ.....
Apparently the Inquisition has decided that we do not have clearance to read page two...since the cover page doesn't have a page number, the 'second' page has page number 3 on it, and the 'third' page has the page number of 4 on it.
Where is my page 2, it might want to read it...
A few of the FAQs have that little issue. I just chalk it up to general GW Cut-n-Paste errors.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 12:41:50
Subject: New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy
|
Page 2 contains the answers to all those frequently asked questions not covered in the FAQ pages 1, 3 and 4.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/14 19:32:46
Subject: New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Praetorian
|
Boss Ardnutz wrote:Page 2 contains the answers to all those frequently asked questions not covered in the FAQ pages 1, 3 and 4.
But of course, page 1 ends with a movement question, page 3 starts with a morale question then goes into vehicles...if its following the rule book, we missed out on shooting and assaults, which may not be an integral part of the game, but comes up from time to time.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/16 16:23:37
Subject: Re:New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Praetorian
|
I didn't mean to kill the thread with my sarcasm, but really can GW tell me with a straight face that there were absolutely no questions about the Shooting or Assaulting phase? I honestly think its missing a page by some error, not that they didn't get any, or didn't answer any.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/16 22:49:42
Subject: New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Guy, ALL of the FAQ's have an initial page with no page number and the subsequent page as number '3'. GW probably just has some funky cover sheet or something to which they didn't bother subjecting everyone.
I tried to make a RAW joke about there not being any page 2's, but I couldn't make anything work. :(
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/17 04:10:20
Subject: New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Virulent Space Marine dedicated to Nurgle
where i want to be
|
Well the is a RAW there is no page 2 but, it was on page 2... It probably would not have been helpful anyways they would have to have tiny print to fit all the answers on and then it be hard to read.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/20 18:19:52
Subject: New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Praetorian
|
solkan wrote:Guy, ALL of the FAQ's have an initial page with no page number and the subsequent page as number '3'. GW probably just has some funky cover sheet or something to which they didn't bother subjecting everyone.
I tried to make a RAW joke about there not being any page 2's, but I couldn't make anything work. :(
But still, there weren't any frequent questions that could have been answered for Shooting or Assaulting at all, unless it dealt with vehicles?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/20 20:13:28
Subject: New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
Rymafyr wrote:So yeah, DE can still disembark, fleet and assault.
That is 4th, in 5th this should read "disembark, run and assault using fleet". I have to point this out to Ork players all the time, wanting to make like 3 Waaaagh! moves in the same frakkin' turn! Like having the Boss shout at you gives you warp engines or something!
Homer
|
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/20 21:41:40
Subject: New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Homer S wrote:I have to point this out to Ork players all the time, wanting to make like 3 Waaaagh! moves in the same frakkin' turn! Like having the Boss shout at you gives you warp engines or something!
That's because the ork codex refer to the former fleet move as a waaagh! move, not a run or fleet move. Ie Ghazghkull gives the ability to "rolling a 6 for the Waaagh! movement", not the run (or former fleet) move. The rules for waaagh! were not very well written even for 4th edition and it only got worse when 5th came with the change of meaning for fleet. So don't blame the ork gamers, blame Phil Kelly.
|
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/21 00:45:05
Subject: New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Homer S wrote:Rymafyr wrote:So yeah, DE can still disembark, fleet and assault.
That is 4th, in 5th this should read "disembark, run and assault using fleet". I have to point this out to Ork players all the time, wanting to make like 3 Waaaagh! moves in the same frakkin' turn! Like having the Boss shout at you gives you warp engines or something!
Homer
As long as I still have the same capability, you can call it whatever you like ;P
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/21 15:47:14
Subject: New FAQ for 5th ed rulebook
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
It's different paths/terminology for the same destination. Your DE remain fast and killy, just like you like them!
Homer
|
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
|