Switch Theme:

Question: Tyranid Lurking vs. Go To Ground  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior






I do not have the new 5th ed rule book for myself, I know, I know, I need to get with the times.

But I was wondering if a Tyranid creature with Instictive Behavior that is "Lurking" to get a +1 cover save can also "Go To Ground" and get an additional +1 cover save for total of +2 cover save.



Don't Want a Tyranid Egg Implanted in Your Brain?
GOOD NEWS!!
It's Also a Suppository...
Hive Fleet Malicean
Cult of the Omnipotent Mind's Eye.
Your Vote Counts: C.O.M.E. Join Us! 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






I see no reason why you couldn't but in the next turn you wouldn't get a chance to lurk because you would still be GTG

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Wraith





Raleigh, North Carolina

My understanding of Lurking is that you either move Synapse to them, roll leadership to act as normal, or fall into instinctive behavior (lurking). Synapse is registered at the start of your movement phase, prior to moving any models. To be lurking, your Gaunts had to be away from 12" away from Synapse and you chose not to roll Leadership to try to act normally (or sligshot towards Synapse, whichever). After Going to Ground during your opponent's shooting phase, you are pinned during the next round.

If you did not move Synapse within 12" of the Gaunts last round, there is no way for these Gaunts to roll to act as normal, since they are pinned and cannot do anything. My assumption, then, would be that they are still exhibiting instinctive behavior while having gone to ground.

 
   
Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior






So they first get the +1 cover save for Lurking, they then get the +1 for GTG, and then on the next turn they would only get the +1 for GTG since they are pinned? Or would the get the +1 on the next round for Lurking since they are suppose to be getting back up after GTG....

Or would they still get the +2....I have no Idea how the GTG rules are written since I do not have the book yet. Could some one type it out for me or summerize it please?



Don't Want a Tyranid Egg Implanted in Your Brain?
GOOD NEWS!!
It's Also a Suppository...
Hive Fleet Malicean
Cult of the Omnipotent Mind's Eye.
Your Vote Counts: C.O.M.E. Join Us! 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Psyker_9er wrote:So they first get the +1 cover save for Lurking, they then get the +1 for GTG, and then on the next turn they would only get the +1 for GTG since they are pinned? Or would the get the +1 on the next round for Lurking since they are suppose to be getting back up after GTG....

Or would they still get the +2....I have no Idea how the GTG rules are written since I do not have the book yet. Could some one type it out for me or summerize it please?



Units choose to 'go to ground' in their opponent's shooting phase. This effect lasts through the end of the unit's next turn, so at the start of their opponent's next turn your unit is no longer on 'the ground'.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Ok so I think I got it.

First turn they are lurking +1 cover save
Then on enemy shooting phase they GTG +1 cover save
=Total of +2 cover save

Then it's tyranid turn again
GTG cover save is gone and they can not move since they are getting back up
Lurking save is gone since they are getting back up which is the oposite of lurking
=Total of no bonus



Don't Want a Tyranid Egg Implanted in Your Brain?
GOOD NEWS!!
It's Also a Suppository...
Hive Fleet Malicean
Cult of the Omnipotent Mind's Eye.
Your Vote Counts: C.O.M.E. Join Us! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Well, that is interesting.... There really is only 2 choices if out of synapse. Roll, or Lurk. I don't think you can do 'neither'. Lurking isn't something you do, as much as what happens when you don't roll.

So on the 'second' tyranid turn, if you were still out of synapse, I think you would be lurking, since you can't move.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

technically the option is still there if no synapse is present.

so choose to lurk again or roll w/ no result?


shrug

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Thats just it, I dont' think you ahve an option. Since you can't do anything, that means you can't roll; which means you are lurking.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






well coredump, you are at odds with all the nid players who claim you can choose not to roll, and also choose not to lurk if you stay motionless, allowing you to secure an objective without fear of your unit breaking.

Just thought I would point this out, interesting that nid players have it going both ways depending on who you ask.

Personally I think if anything you are right, not the concept that you can stand around and not lurk and not roll, but lurking when pinned is a bit dubious, I thought there was RAW to support this but It must have just been a houserule.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el





Reedsburg, WI

Drunkspleen wrote:well coredump, you are at odds with all the nid players who claim you can choose not to roll, and also choose not to lurk if you stay motionless, allowing you to secure an objective without fear of your unit breaking.

Just thought I would point this out, interesting that nid players have it going both ways depending on who you ask.

Personally I think if anything you are right, not the concept that you can stand around and not lurk and not roll, but lurking when pinned is a bit dubious, I thought there was RAW to support this but It must have just been a houserule.


Several nid players disagreed with the tactic of "avoiding lurking" by choosing neither to move nor lurk, stating that the use of the word "alternatively" was exclusionary and thus summed up all available options (ie lurk or roll to move). I have posted the link below.

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/216936.page

Coredump and Kirsanth happened to be two of those who disagreed with the tactic you mentioned. I as well . Oh, and I too am a Tyranid player.

I would agree with coredump that since the unit may not choose to move since it is pinned, it would, by default, remain lurking unless within 12" of synapse at the beginning of the controlling player's movement phase.

Drunkspleen, I would say you are right, you can't argue to have it both ways...though I am not sure anyone has yet

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2008/10/25 19:40:09


Wyomingfox's Space Wolves Paint Blog A journey across decades.
Splinter Fleet Stygian Paint Blogg Home of the Albino Bugs.
Miniatures for Dungeons and Dragons Painting made fun, fast and easy. 
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon





The House that Peterbilt

At first I thought skipping was RAW but the previous discussion swayed me. Plus, it is better to err on the less advantageous interpretation.

As far as how this interacts w/ GtG, I agree with others, if outside of synapse a unit that was GtG must remain lurking since they cannot move. Think of it as cumpulsory and not really an action. If within synapse though, then they would lose lurking but still be unable to move or shoot.

snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."

Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." 
   
Made in us
Fireknife Shas'el





Reedsburg, WI

winterman wrote:Plus, it is better to err on the less advantageous interpretation.


QFT

Wyomingfox's Space Wolves Paint Blog A journey across decades.
Splinter Fleet Stygian Paint Blogg Home of the Albino Bugs.
Miniatures for Dungeons and Dragons Painting made fun, fast and easy. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Drunkspleen wrote:well coredump, you are at odds with all the nid players who claim you can choose not to roll, and also choose not to lurk if you stay motionless, allowing you to secure an objective without fear of your unit breaking.
.


Of course I am... because they are wrong.


When it comes around to the Nid players turn 'again'; they are stuck with a unit of gaunts 13" away from synapse, and they have GtG.
If they do not roll.... then they are lurking. You do not 'choose to lurk', you 'choose to roll'; lurking is what happens if you don't do anything.

The real question, is if you are even allowed to roll? IB says you roll if you 'want to move'. Well, you can't move... but can you still roll if you 'want' to move?
GtG says you can't do 'anything', but doesn't define 'anything'. I know it may seem obvious, but rolling for IB is more of a metagame aspect than actually 'doing' anything. Like you can take Morale tests... can you take IB tests...??

My point..... in the situation where the gaunts are out of synapse, and have previously GtG.... not only *can* they lurk again. By the rules, they may *have to* lurk again. (Since, if they are not allowed to roll, they are lurking)

OTOH, if you allow them to roll, and they fail, they fall back towards synapse, and return to 'normal'
   
Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior






Okay...NOW I got it.

Tyranid turn: Lurking +1 cover save
Enemy shooting phase: Go To Ground +1 cover save
= +2 cover save

Next Tyranid turn: No more GTG and not really getting UP, but getting ready or some bigger brain to tell them what to do. +0 cover save
Since they can not move they automatically Lurk and await some one with a bigger brain to tell them what to do. +1 cover save
= +1 cover save

Thanks for all the feed back

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/10/29 15:06:10




Don't Want a Tyranid Egg Implanted in Your Brain?
GOOD NEWS!!
It's Also a Suppository...
Hive Fleet Malicean
Cult of the Omnipotent Mind's Eye.
Your Vote Counts: C.O.M.E. Join Us! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: