Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/20 05:30:13
Subject: ICs in CC questions
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
The Void
|
1) If an IC is attached to a unit in cc can wounds on the unit be allocated on the IC, or is he a separate unit completely? On page 49 of the rule book it says "ICs are always treated as a separate single-model unit even though they have joined the unit." But people never seem to play it that way.
2) Is the IC treated as a seperate unit for purposes of combat resolution? In other words, if combat is lost do you roll a morale check for the IC and unit he is attached to together, or seperately? And if you win, do they make 1 sweeping advance roll or one each?
|
Always 1 on the crazed roll. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/20 05:44:19
Subject: ICs in CC questions
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Drudge Dreadnought wrote:Is the IC treated as a seperate unit for purposes of combat resolution? In other words, if combat is lost do you roll a morale check for the IC and unit he is attached to together, or seperately? And if you win, do they make 1 sweeping advance roll or one each?
Page 49 of the Warhammer 40,000 5th edition rulebook under the heading 'Independent Characters & Assaults', end of the second paragraph.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/10/20 05:44:33
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/20 05:46:43
Subject: ICs in CC questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
the only time the IC is counted seperately is when you are allocating attacks.
so IC's have to be targeted seperately from the rest of the unit. wounds do not carry from him over to the squad
once the battle is fought, the unit is a single unit again for purposes of checking morale. if there are drag down wounds, they are suffered by the squad, not the IC and the squad seperately
just like if they get run down.. its not possible for the IC to get away due to higher iniative. if the squad gets taken out so do they.
hope that helps
NaZ
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/20 05:49:26
Subject: ICs in CC questions
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
The Void
|
Alright, thanks for the clarification guys, but just one more detail:
wounds do not carry from him over to the squad
And they don't carry from the squad to him either right? This was my main point of confusion as at the LGS i go to people usually play it that they can allocate wounds on the squad onto the IC. Is this right?
|
Always 1 on the crazed roll. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/20 05:52:22
Subject: ICs in CC questions
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
depends if it's just an IC and a normal squad or an IC and a retinue (an actual retinue that he can't leave and is called a retinue in the codex), if it is the latter of the two, the IC is treated no different to a sergeant for that squad, and is just a noteworthy member.
Most of the time though, no, wounds do not cross between an IC and a squad.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/20 05:55:14
Subject: ICs in CC questions
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
The Void
|
Alright, i got it all down then.
|
Always 1 on the crazed roll. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/20 09:12:19
Subject: ICs in CC questions
|
 |
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator
Colorado
|
To further clarify a point of contention:
If the squad the IC is attached to is completely wiped out, the IC must make the additional saving throws if he is Fearless.
|
|
 |
 |
|