Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/22 05:44:33
Subject: Red terror?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
HI,
can someone tell me if the rules for the red terror are still avaible somewhere?
I know that there is no rules about it in the current codex but I know that it used to be Gw website.
Ty
L2
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/22 13:54:49
Subject: Red terror?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/22 14:18:38
Subject: Red terror?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ah!Thank you
So, I can use it in V5?
If yes, it means that the terror can move 9 inches + d6 (if it runs)? Not bad...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/22 15:11:29
Subject: Red terror?
|
 |
Skink Chief with Poisoned Javelins
Belgium, political ass-end of the old continent
|
Its rules are not official for 5th ed.
|
I can bend minds with my spoon...
KingCracker wrote:PanzerSmurf, you win the trophy for most accident posts ever. Dear lord man!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/22 20:14:08
Subject: Red terror?
|
 |
Proud Phantom Titan
|
40k? no. apoc? sounds like a great addtion
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/22 21:42:08
Subject: Red terror?
|
 |
Hellacious Havoc
|
PanzerSmurf wrote:Its rules are not official for 5th ed.
But it's rules were updated to coincide with the latest tyranid codex so it should be fine for play.
|
I play:
1000 pt Sons of Calthus
1000 pt Splinter Fleet Goliath |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/22 23:49:36
Subject: Re:Red terror?
|
 |
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver
|
Haha those look mean.
Is it like a smaller version of the apocalypse Trygon. (I think that's what its called - the gargantuam creature that can burrow underground.)
I love the rules about swallowing a model whole-yummy.
Imagine this
charging marneus calgar from 18" away - landing four out of five 4+ hits (possible) and then just gobbling him up  epic win!
Not T5 or S5? sorry - no rolls to wound,no invulnerable saves, no armour of antilochus, no five PF attacks
Imagine the look on your oponents face!
He couldn't eat cassius though - (T6! what is that guy made of?)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/23 01:07:19
Subject: Red terror?
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
Murfreesboro, TN
|
Actually, Marneus would be immune, since his effective strength is 8 due to the Gauntlets of Ultramar.
Red Terror Rules wrote:Models with a Strength and/or Toughness value of 5 or more (including increases for Chaos marks, etc)
As for Cassius, he's mainly made of cybernetics; he's probably less organic that your average T-101 Terminator.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/10/23 01:08:41
As a rule of thumb, the designers do not hide "easter eggs" in the rules. If clever reading is required to unlock some sort of hidden option, then it is most likely the result of wishful thinking.
But there's no sense crying over every mistake;
You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.
Member of the "No Retreat for Calgar" Club |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/10/23 01:51:15
Subject: Re:Red terror?
|
 |
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver
|
Ahh Good catch Sutekh.
I guess it's not that easy to eat someone wearing a powerfist (or two)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/23 22:27:09
Subject: Red terror?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
so are you saying that any model with a power fist/klaw or what not cannot be eaten whole????
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/23 23:11:48
Subject: Re:Red terror?
|
 |
Unrelenting Rubric Terminator of Tzeentch
|
You can still eat them. Unless they have strength five on their profile (like a Warboss...lucky Ghazkull), they can be eaten. The strength of the swallowees weapon has no bearing on whether they can be eaten.
|
DR:90S+G++MB+I+Pw40k07++D++A++/eWD-R+++T(Ot)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/23 23:19:16
Subject: Red terror?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
then the statement above mine are wrong.....
red terror could eat marneus calgar..
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/24 01:37:38
Subject: Red terror?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
I'm with rustyknight, a power fist doesn't modify a models strength, it is just a weapon used at double strength, thus the reason it works against a necron monolith.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/24 01:45:56
Subject: Red terror?
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
lord_sutekh wrote:Actually, Marneus would be immune, since his effective strength is 8 due to the Gauntlets of Ultramar.
Red Terror Rules wrote:Models with a Strength and/or Toughness value of 5 or more (including increases for Chaos marks, etc)
As for Cassius, he's mainly made of cybernetics; he's probably less organic that your average T-101 Terminator.
Assuming that the above rule quote is from the Red Terror rules, notice it says "including increases for marks, etc." That means that the increase due to a powerfist DOES count, and that the Red Terror cannot eat a powerfist or powerklaw wielding model. Or a Space Marine with Furious Charge that charged it (for that round), or a marine on a Bike, or any other model who has a S or T of 5 or more, regardless of the source. The rule says nothing about using the profile.
And I tried the link above, and it says its not working.
|
Legio Suturvora 2000 points (painted)
30k Word Bearers 2000 points (in progress)
Daemonhunters 1000 points (painted)
Flesh Tearers 2000+ points (painted) - Balt GT '02 52nd; Balt GT '05 16th
Kabal of the Tortured Soul 2000+ points (painted) - Balt GT '08 85th; Mechanicon '09 12th
Greenwing 1000 points (painted) - Adepticon Team Tourny 2013
"There is rational thought here. It's just swimming through a sea of stupid and is often concealed from view by the waves of irrational conclusions." - Railguns |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/24 01:58:17
Subject: Red terror?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Page 98 of the 2004 Chapter Approved Compendium confirms your point of view:
Q. A Space Marine with a power fist is hit four times by the Red Terror. His Strength and Toughness are 4, but the power fist makes him fight with a Strength of 8. Can the Terror make lunch of him? He may not swallow anyone with a Strength and/or Toughness of 5 or more.
A. Count Strength and Toughness after any modifications for Marks, power fists, frost blades etc, so the answer is no.
Also, if I remeber correctly (since the above link is not working) the rules are unchanged from the old codex.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/24 02:05:20
Subject: Red terror?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Cruentus wrote:lord_sutekh wrote:Actually, Marneus would be immune, since his effective strength is 8 due to the Gauntlets of Ultramar.
Red Terror Rules wrote:Models with a Strength and/or Toughness value of 5 or more (including increases for Chaos marks, etc)
As for Cassius, he's mainly made of cybernetics; he's probably less organic that your average T-101 Terminator.
Assuming that the above rule quote is from the Red Terror rules, notice it says "including increases for marks, etc." That means that the increase due to a powerfist DOES count, and that the Red Terror cannot eat a powerfist or powerklaw wielding model. Or a Space Marine with Furious Charge that charged it (for that round), or a marine on a Bike, or any other model who has a S or T of 5 or more, regardless of the source. The rule says nothing about using the profile.
And I tried the link above, and it says its not working.
it also says NOTHING about not being able to eat people with power weapon.....so i'd say that's wrong.
for instance, marneus calgar stregth is still 4, powerfist fist reflect his weapons stregth NOT his and thus can attack with a fist....
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/03/24 02:12:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/03/24 02:19:45
Subject: Red terror?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Sorry, but that's wrong. Please see the FAQ that I posted above. Also from page 42 of the Warhammer 40,000 5th edition rulebook:
A power fist is a power weapon, and also doubles the user’s Strength...
It is indeed his Strength, not the weapon's Strength. Close combat weapons generally don't have their own Strength.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
|