Switch Theme:

drop pods and assault  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
drop pod assault
A see below
B see below

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine






today in a game with my orks vs. sm i assaulted his drop pod right after it landed and this came up.

do you auto hit it or hit it on 6's

A. it is a immobile vehicle meaning you auto hit

B. it counts as moving at cruising speed so you need 6s

H.B.M.C. wrote:
"Balance, playtesting - a casual gamer craves not these things!" - Yoda, a casual gamer.
Three things matter in marksmanship -
location, location, location
MagickalMemories wrote:How about making another fist?
One can be, "Da Fist uv Mork" and the second can be, "Da Uvver Fist uv Mork."
Make a third, and it can be, "Da Uvver Uvver Fist uv Mork"
Eric
 
   
Made in ca
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





The Frozen North

It doesn't matter how fast a vehicle was moving - as soon as it is Immobile, it is automatically hit.

Triggerbaby wrote:In summary, here's your lunch and ask Miss Creaver if she has aloe lotion because I have taken you to school and you have been burned.

Abadabadoobaddon wrote:I too can prove pretty much any assertion I please if I don't count all the evidence that contradicts it.
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

I'm not so sure. The rule says a vehicle that is 'immobilised', not one that is immobile. From page 63 of the Warhammer 40,000 5th edition rulebook:

Attacking a vehicle that is immobilised or was stationary in its previous turn.

'Immobilised' could be referencing the roll of a four on the Vehicle Damage Table and not a vehicle which is immobile to begin with. After all, it's hard to immobilise a vehicle that's already immobile.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ca
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





The Frozen North

The Space Marine Codex wrote:Immobile: A Drop Pod [...] counts in all respects as a vehicle that has suffered an immobilized damage result


I think it's pretty clear-cut. Drop Pods are always hit automatically in close-combat.

Triggerbaby wrote:In summary, here's your lunch and ask Miss Creaver if she has aloe lotion because I have taken you to school and you have been burned.

Abadabadoobaddon wrote:I too can prove pretty much any assertion I please if I don't count all the evidence that contradicts it.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Ghaz wrote:The rule says a vehicle that is 'immobilised', not one that is immobile.


So far as the Drop Pod is concerned (or at least the new Marine version) they're the same thing.

The Pod is treated as a vehicle that has suffered an Immobilised result on the Damage table.

 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






assuming insaniak and minmax have it right, I would say you automatically hit, besides, it logically makes sense anyway, it's not like you are trying to melee the thing while it's flying through the air, nobody is going to take a swing till it hits the ground and is immobilised.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: