Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/01 07:11:55
Subject: Assault, vehicles and shooting.
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
The Void
|
If a squad is in base to base with a tank it is not locked in combat. The tank is free to shoot it and drive away. But if it doens't then the squad continues to get melee attacks on it in every assault phase until it does.
My question is if a squad that assaulted a tank the previous turn and the tank didn't move away can shoot while remaining in base to base with the tank and also take their cc attacks in the assault phase. And if so, could they shoot a unit other than the tank and then still get their attacks against the tank for still being in base to base?
|
Always 1 on the crazed roll. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/01 08:04:16
Subject: Assault, vehicles and shooting.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
1) Shooting while still b2b with the tank: After reading the rule again, I do not see any problem with this. As they are not 'locked' in combat and can themselves be shot at.
2) Shooting another unit and still assaulting b2b tank: I say no, even after reading the rules again. Reason is you still are legally bound to the assault rules (only assaulting units you shoot at in the previous shooting phase). I know the last paragraph in the successive turns in the vehicles in assaults rules states it quite bluntly that a model still in b2b may attack said vehicle, it still does not excuse said unit from following the other rule.
Remember the way to read rules is that you must follow ALL rules. The rules in the rule book are not 'supposed' to contradict each other. So we must assume that all rules follow the guidelines of other rules when they intersect unless explicitly stated otherwise.
|
DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/01 12:04:30
Subject: Assault, vehicles and shooting.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Good job padixon. You got it right.
I did find a way that I couldn't assault the tank I was touching on my assault phase but I was able to during the tanks assault phase. I rapid fired a plasma gun at it and couldn't assault after. However it doesn't say that I can't swing on the tank during it's assault phase.
|
1850 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1000 and counting |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/02 06:47:16
Subject: Assault, vehicles and shooting.
|
 |
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy
|
Not so sure about that one. The way it's worded, you need to have assaulted the tank to hit it again in the enemy turn. If you fired at it, you weren't assaulting it in your turn, so wouldn't that break the sequence and prevent you assaulting it in your turn? Or does the very first assault satisfy this condition, even if you do other things in the meantime?
A clearer example would be:
- assault the tank in your assault phase
- hit it again in the enemy assault phase
- shoot at something else in your shooting phase
- in your assault phase you can't attack it because you shot something else
- in the enemy assault phase, can you now hit it again?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/02 12:19:32
Subject: Assault, vehicles and shooting.
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
I'm not so sure about being able to shoot, although the issue isn't so much with that, but if you are in b2b with the tank still, then you are within 1" of an enemy model without being locked in combat which is meant to be illegal. If you treated it as being locked as long as you are in b2b, it would resolve it, but you would forego shooting. Then again, the same issue applies to the tank, by choosing to stay stationary it remains within 1" of the things that just meleed it and is breaking the rules by ending it's movement in that location. edit: oops, read the rules a bit more carefully, I would take the specific allowance for shooting AT the unit because it's not locked to extend to the unit being able to shoot, I still think there is a bit of an issue with being in b2b that has to be ignored.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/11/02 12:20:28
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/02 17:11:41
Subject: Assault, vehicles and shooting.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I don't think there is a rule about being within 1", the rule says you can't move to within 1" (Or DS, etc.) I see no rule that would make you move away.
The rules say that you are never locked in CC with a Vehicle.
Thus you can shoot on your next turn.
You can only assault that which you shot.
On the *tanks* turn, you can hit it if still in btb with it.
|
|
 |
 |
|