Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/04 18:53:20
Subject: Cover saves from lootas that have a unit of grots in front of them
|
 |
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver
|
Totally flat table, no terrain. Unit of lootas with a unit of grots in front of them. The end of the deffguns are higher then the grots heads. If the lootas are shooting at something, does the targeted unit get a cover save?
the grots provide the lootas a cover save as they are half the height or more of the lootas, but since the guns are modeled higher then the grots heads (and this is just standard lootas, no special modeling), do they block/obscure LOS to the targeted unit?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/04 19:05:04
Subject: Re:Cover saves from lootas that have a unit of grots in front of them
|
 |
Boosting Ultramarine Biker
|
Your own models will never ever give cover to an opponents models. Doesn't matter what sort of units are in front. Your own models are only taken into account for LOS when targeting enemy units. LOS is taken from the point of view of the model, so as long as your units can see over the grots, then they can fire without any penalties.
Edit: I am wrong about this, please read below.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/11/04 21:58:27
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/04 19:13:10
Subject: Re:Cover saves from lootas that have a unit of grots in front of them
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
Axyl wrote:Your own models will never ever give cover to an opponents models. Doesn't matter what sort of units are in front. Your own models are only taken into account for LOS when targeting enemy units.
No. members of the same squad do not grant cover, all other obscuring models, however, DO. ( Pg. 22 1st bullet).
The Lootas would get a cover save on a level table in pretty much any instance. The Grots would provide cover to the enemy if they were far enough away from the Lootas to actually obscure the enemy models. It is all based upon the distance from the Grots-Lootas and TLOS.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/11/04 19:15:48
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/04 21:18:38
Subject: Cover saves from lootas that have a unit of grots in front of them
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
The Void
|
Remember that you do NOT measure from the gun unless it is a vehicle, so the placement of the loota's gun makes no difference.
|
Always 1 on the crazed roll. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/04 21:22:34
Subject: Cover saves from lootas that have a unit of grots in front of them
|
 |
Lurking Gaunt
Newcastle UK
|
Drudge Dreadnought wrote:Remember that you do NOT measure from the gun unless it is a vehicle, so the placement of the loota's gun makes no difference.
What about in the instance of flamer template weapons? Granted, this would bypass the whole coversave/no coversave issue here, but wouldn't that always be put against the tip of the flamer etc?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/04 21:29:23
Subject: Cover saves from lootas that have a unit of grots in front of them
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Read the rulebook!
When any part of the target model’s body (as defined on page 16) is obscured from the point of view of the firer, the target model is in cover. This is intentionally generous, and it represents the fact that the warrior, unlike the model, will be actively trying to take cover (as well as the smoke, explosions and flying debris that are mercifully absent from our tabletop battlefields).
Firers may of course shoot over intervening terrain if they are tall enough or high up on some terrain piece so that their line of sight is completely clear. As usual, check the firers’ line of sight by taking a good look from behind their heads, and ‘see what they see’.
If a target is partially hidden from the firer’s view by other models, it receives a 4+ cover save in the same way as if it was behind terrain.
So the weapon is not relevant, it is the location of the eyes relative to the target and the intervening model/terrain that matters. Lootas with grots right in front can easily shoot over yet get a cover save from shots coming their way.
|
snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."
Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/04 21:34:29
Subject: Cover saves from lootas that have a unit of grots in front of them
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
What about in the instance of flamer template weapons? Granted, this would bypass the whole coversave/no coversave issue here, but wouldn't that always be put against the tip of the flamer etc?
Again, read the rulebook!
Instead of rolling to hit, simply place the template so that its narrow end is touching the base of the model firing it and the rest of the template covers as many models as possible in the target unit without touching any friendly models.
Granted, most people have not caught this rather wierd rule and play it how it makes sense.
|
snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."
Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/04 21:57:22
Subject: Re:Cover saves from lootas that have a unit of grots in front of them
|
 |
Boosting Ultramarine Biker
|
Nurgleboy77 wrote:Axyl wrote:Your own models will never ever give cover to an opponents models. Doesn't matter what sort of units are in front. Your own models are only taken into account for LOS when targeting enemy units.
No. members of the same squad do not grant cover, all other obscuring models, however, DO. ( Pg. 22 1st bullet).
The Lootas would get a cover save on a level table in pretty much any instance. The Grots would provide cover to the enemy if they were far enough away from the Lootas to actually obscure the enemy models. It is all based upon the distance from the Grots-Lootas and TLOS.
Oh hey, you are right. My bad. I always read that as friendly units and models do not grant cover.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/04 22:53:31
Subject: Cover saves from lootas that have a unit of grots in front of them
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
winterman wrote:Instead of rolling to hit, simply place the template so that its narrow end is touching the base of the model firing it and the rest of the template covers as many models as possible in the target unit without touching any friendly models.
Granted, most people have not caught this rather wierd rule and play it how it makes sense.
Haven't 'caught' it?
It's worked that way since 2nd edition.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/05 00:45:34
Subject: Re:Cover saves from lootas that have a unit of grots in front of them
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
Illustrated here.
|
-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."
18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/05 02:06:03
Subject: Cover saves from lootas that have a unit of grots in front of them
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
those pics make perfect sense.
its why grotz are soo weedy
NaZ
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/05 02:25:33
Subject: Cover saves from lootas that have a unit of grots in front of them
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Haven't 'caught' it?
It's worked that way since 2nd edition.
Did I say it was a new rule? I've seen very few people play it that way since I started in 3ed...
|
snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."
Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/05 02:34:43
Subject: Cover saves from lootas that have a unit of grots in front of them
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
winterman wrote:Did I say it was a new rule?
It sounded like that was what you were saying, yes.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/05 03:28:26
Subject: Cover saves from lootas that have a unit of grots in front of them
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Keep in mind, if that gretchin moves forward an inch or two, the marine will now get a cover save.
|
|
 |
 |
|