Switch Theme:

Space Marine Chapter master orbital bombardment.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Tunneling Trygon





The House that Peterbilt

Couple q's

1)If a Chapter master uses his orbital bombardment does he have to assault the unit he targets with it? The text of the rule says he can assault after using the ability but doesn't say what he can assault.

2) Similarly, if he is attached to a unit, would that squad also have to target the unit shot with the bombardment? Even if it is out of LOS.

Both seem straightforward to me but looking for what others think

snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."

Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






"Calling down an orbital bombardment otherwhise counts as using a ranged weapon"

1) I would say he can only assault the target of the orbital bombardment.

2) Yes the unit would have to target the same unit.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Agree. It is resolved as a ranged weapon that the Chapter Master is firing. While the fluff tells us that a ship in orbit is actually doing the firing, in game terms it is resolved just like any other shooting weapon.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





The way I look at it is something similar to "painting" a target.... Like in the movie Clear and Present Danger with harrison ford when they are targeting something with the laser scope to call in an air strike. The Chapter master would likewise be aiming is Targeter.

Just a fluff explanation heh

Eldar
Luna Wolves 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: