Switch Theme:

Overflow wounds and winning close combat  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Boosting Ultramarine Biker





Denton, TX

I was playing a game with my bud recently, and we had a question about wound overflow and winning close combat..here is the scenario (nids vs Dark angels codex):

This assault includes 1 hive tyrant, 1 carnifex, 1 sqaud of 5 terminators, 1 sqaud of 2 terminators, and Samuel on a jetbike. Tyrant kills the 2 termies, but actually scores 3 unsaved wounds on them. Fex gets two unsaved wounds on the 5 man termie sqaud. The Termies get 7 unsaved wounds on the fex (who had 3 wounds remaining). Now the questions is..who won combat? Do the extra wounds count meaning that the termies won by 2 wounds? Or do they not count meaning that the nids won by 1 wound?

Additionally...in reference to independent characters. I know you can target an IC in CC making him take wounds, but when an IC is part of a sqaud and I put wounds on the sqaud...can he allocate them to his IC?

5500
3500
2000  
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

Axyl wrote:

Additionally...in reference to independent characters. I know you can target an IC in CC making him take wounds, but when an IC is part of a sqaud and I put wounds on the sqaud...can he allocate them to his IC?


No. Unless the unit in question has the retinue rule, or counts as one according to the rulebook, then I.C.'s are treated as completely seperate units for purposes of attacks and wound allocation.


Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in us
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator





Philadelphia

Axyl wrote:This assault includes 1 hive tyrant, 1 carnifex, 1 sqaud of 5 terminators, 1 sqaud of 2 terminators, and Samuel on a jetbike. Tyrant kills the 2 termies, but actually scores 3 unsaved wounds on them. Fex gets two unsaved wounds on the 5 man termie sqaud. The Termies get 7 unsaved wounds on the fex (who had 3 wounds remaining). Now the questions is..who won combat? Do the extra wounds count meaning that the termies won by 2 wounds? Or do they not count meaning that the nids won by 1 wound?


I'll take a stab at this: I believe that only the "unsaved wounds" are counted for combat resolution (including wounds on multi-wound models killed with Instant Death attacks). So, in your example, the Nids scored: 2 for the termies, 2 on the other termies. Total 4 unsaved wounds. Termies cause 3 wounds on the Fex (only the first 3 are unsaved, after that, they're wasted).
Nids win by 1.

Lordhat has it right for the other question.

Legio Suturvora 2000 points (painted)
30k Word Bearers 2000 points (in progress)
Daemonhunters 1000 points (painted)
Flesh Tearers 2000+ points (painted) - Balt GT '02 52nd; Balt GT '05 16th
Kabal of the Tortured Soul 2000+ points (painted) - Balt GT '08 85th; Mechanicon '09 12th
Greenwing 1000 points (painted) - Adepticon Team Tourny 2013

"There is rational thought here. It's just swimming through a sea of stupid and is often concealed from view by the waves of irrational conclusions." - Railguns 
   
Made in us
Veteran Wolf Guard Squad Leader





We have always played it the opposite. Say a single wound model must make 4 armor saves. He fails 2. He still takes 2 unsaved wounds even though he would be dead with 1.

My 40k Theory Blog
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Page 39 of the Rulebook, "Determine Assault Results" - last paragraph:

"Note that wounds that have been negated by saving throws or other special rules do not count, nor do wounds in excess of a model's Wounds characteristic, only the wounds actually suffered by enemy models..."


So if a 1 wound model fails two saves, it only counts as a single wound for Combat Resolution.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: