Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/12 21:47:21
Subject: Red Paint Job?
|
 |
Serious Squig Herder
|
I'm looking at the Red Paint Job vehicle upgrade in the Ork 'dex, and I'm wondering something. The example they give tells you that a vehicle could move 13" but count as moving 12". If this is the case then could a vehicle move 1" and count as not moving at all?
Imo, if this is possible, then I believe it's just an abuse of Red Dye #40.
|
blarg |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/12 23:19:08
Subject: Red Paint Job?
|
 |
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade
|
Yes, it's perfectly legal to do so. Not, it's not abusive at all.
It's not especially spectacular to move 1", and count as not moving. Heck, why did you even buy the vehicle, then?
|
Triggerbaby wrote:In summary, here's your lunch and ask Miss Creaver if she has aloe lotion because I have taken you to school and you have been burned.
Abadabadoobaddon wrote:I too can prove pretty much any assertion I please if I don't count all the evidence that contradicts it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/13 01:20:37
Subject: Red Paint Job?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
actually, thats not entirely accurate.
0" = stationary
1"-7" = combat speed
7"-13" = cruising speed
13"-19" = flat out
its been debated before.
NaZ
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/13 01:26:21
Subject: Re:Red Paint Job?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Naz, you should try actually supporting your claims with some sort of evidence as for why they are true.
In the vehicle upgrade section, it says you may add +1 to your move in the Movement phase but not incur penalties for this extra inch.
Why wouldn't you be able to move 1 inch without incurring any penalties for moving the extra inch?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/13 01:35:53
Subject: Red Paint Job?
|
 |
Trustworthy Shas'vre
|
Because that is an abuse of rules lawyering? If you moved, you are not stationary. Pretty sure thats in the dictionary somewhere....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/13 01:42:32
Subject: Re:Red Paint Job?
|
 |
Wrack Sufferer
|
Traskel wrote:Naz, you should try actually supporting your claims with some sort of evidence as for why they are true.
In the vehicle upgrade section, it says you may add +1 to your move in the Movement phase but not incur penalties for this extra inch.
Why wouldn't you be able to move 1 inch without incurring any penalties for moving the extra inch?
To move you must actually move to be able to have a +1" to your move.
If I do not move in the move phase I can't add +1" to a move I don't make.
|
Once upon a time, I told myself it's better to be smart than lucky. Every day, the world proves me wrong a little more. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/13 01:47:48
Subject: Red Paint Job?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
It's not rules lawyering, and this sort of pointless debate is why people need to start posting the relevant sections of rules. The red paint job says "Ork vehicles with red paint jobs add +1 to their move in the movement phase but do not incur penalties for this extra inch". That means, you can't move 1" and claim to be stationary because you only add to a movement with this upgrade, you can't get the extra inch unless you have already chosen to move the vehicle. edit: Oops, missed the rule in Traskel's post.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/11/13 01:48:43
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/11/13 04:00:48
Subject: Re:Red Paint Job?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Typeline wrote:To move you must actually move to be able to have a +1" to your move.
If I do not move in the move phase I can't add +1" to a move I don't make.
I agree with this, I just feel like the quality of the rules discussion is decreasing, as people don't seem to support most of their comments with actual support.
|
|
 |
 |
|