Switch Theme:

2 rules clarifications from 4th to 5th  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Cackling Chaos Conscript





Charrlotte, NC USA

Hello,

I have seen these questions answered in 4th but not in 5th. If you answer them and have pages in either a codex or the BRB please reference them as I will look them up when I get home from work.

Question the first: When a unit has rolled to come in from deepstrike at the (beginning) of the movement phase, do they immediately strike in, or can some of your units move about and then the deepstrike occurs after movement? For instance, two scenarios:
1. During a chaos players turn they roll to summon a Greater Daemon. What can (must) they do?
A: Immediately sacrifice an aspiring champion and put the GD into play following the codex rules.
B: Allow movement of any number of squads before sacrificing and putting GD into play.
C: Allow a squad to embark into a rhino, move 12" and then sacrifice the AC which puts the GD into play no more than 2" from the hull of the Rhino.
2. During a space marine players turn they roll to summon a unit of vanguard veterans:
A: Must immediately place and roll for scatter, unless placed within 6" of teleport homer.
B: Allow movement of any number of squads before placing them.
C: Allow a squad of bikers with teleport homer to turboboost 24" then have the vanguard veterans deepstrike with no scatter next to the bikes.

Question the second: After passing a psychic test can a chaos psyker with Lash of Submission lash an enemy squad out of close combat? Can a squad be lashed twice or more in one turn? does the model doing the lashing have to assualt the unit he lashed??

Thank you for your time and consideration.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Bodichi wrote:Hello,

I have seen these questions answered in 4th but not in 5th. If you answer them and have pages in either a codex or the BRB please reference them as I will look them up when I get home from work.

Question the first: When a unit has rolled to come in from deepstrike at the (beginning) of the movement phase, do they immediately strike in, or can some of your units move about and then the deepstrike occurs after movement? For instance, two scenarios:
1. During a chaos players turn they roll to summon a Greater Daemon. What can (must) they do?
A: Immediately sacrifice an aspiring champion and put the GD into play following the codex rules.
B: Allow movement of any number of squads before sacrificing and putting GD into play.
C: Allow a squad to embark into a rhino, move 12" and then sacrifice the AC which puts the GD into play no more than 2" from the hull of the Rhino.
2. During a space marine players turn they roll to summon a unit of vanguard veterans:
A: Must immediately place and roll for scatter, unless placed within 6" of teleport homer.
B: Allow movement of any number of squads before placing them.
C: Allow a squad of bikers with teleport homer to turboboost 24" then have the vanguard veterans deepstrike with no scatter next to the bikes.


Rulebook page 94, "Rolling for Reserves" specifies that all units arriving from reserve (this would include all units arriving from reserves including summoned daemons) are deployed before moving other units on the table.

So the answer to both questions is 'A'.

Question the second: After passing a psychic test can a chaos psyker with Lash of Submission lash an enemy squad out of close combat? Can a squad be lashed twice or more in one turn? does the model doing the lashing have to assualt the unit he lashed??

Thank you for your time and consideration.


The GW online CSM FAQ says that you cannot Lash models out of CC. As for the second query, the answer depends on whether you consider Lash of Submission a psychic shooting attack or just a regular 'ole psychic power. It isn't specified one way or another so the matter is a bit hazy, but if you believe that the power is a psychic shooting attack as I do (as it is used in the shooting phase instead of firing another weapon) then yes, the psyker would have to charge the unit he shot (lashed) at.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/11/14 13:26:29


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Cackling Chaos Conscript





Charrlotte, NC USA

Thank you for the quick answer!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: