Switch Theme:

Independent Character in Assault Q (Basic, w/ pics)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Ran into this the other night, I was playing Orks, other guy was playing Chaos. He just barely has 6" on my ork boyz with his Chaos Sorc + Khorne Berserker squad, with the sorc out front. Here are two super detailed mspaint diagrams.






Since the sorc is an independent character, he is the only one that can attack my orks, correct?
And I can only wound his sorcerer?
Also, if I kill the sorcerer (insta kill power klaw FTW ), do I pile into the khorne berserkers, or are we both now unengaged?
   
Made in us
Wrack Sufferer





Bat Country

You have to pile in into the combat sir. The sorc is part of the Zerkers unit and anything within 2" of the sorc is going to be able to swing.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/11/21 04:39:42


Once upon a time, I told myself it's better to be smart than lucky. Every day, the world proves me wrong a little more. 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Theoretically, if I did consolidate and ended up like that?

It didn't look exactly like that when we were playing. He was charging down a narrow pass, about the width of the Sorcerer. My orks had nowhere to move forward.

EDIT:
I was under the impression that Independent Characters operated as separate units in an assault?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/11/21 04:57:05


 
   
Made in se
Bounding Assault Marine





In the deepest reaches of Valhalla

True that they are a separate unit in assault but only for the purpose for hitting and being hit


//Edge
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





Well that's the problem isn't it? Whether a model can hit or be hit depends on whether they are engaged.

So far I can find stuff under the rules for Independent Characters in close combat saying that, because an Independent Character counts as a separate single-model unit, they must be in base to base contact in order to attack.

The two conditions for being engaged are being either in base to base contact, or within 2" of a model in base to base contract and in the same unit.

The Sorcerer meets the first condition, that of being in base to base contact. The Berzerkers apparently don't meet either condition, since the Sorcerer is a separate unit for that combat, and no Berzerkers are in base to base contact.

Now, once all attacks have been exchanged between the Sorcerer and the Orks, the Sorcerer is again treated as a member of the Berzerker unit. If you kill the Sorcerer and the Berzerkers don't evaporate under the No Retreat! wounds that might ensue, then you have to pile in on them (or them on you, if the Sorcerer wins the combat for them).

Edit: I guess the morale of the story is that your Sorcerer had better be lucky!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/11/21 06:29:23


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




The sorc/zerkers charge. ONly the sorc gets into base

The Orks now React, and move to get into base with the sorc *and* the zerkers.

Assuming it is a narrow area with impassable walls on both sides... if the orks can't get into base with the zerkers, it is orks vs sorc, and the zerkers can only watch.

Assuming the orks win, the zerkers also need to make a Ld test, and if they are fearless, must take No Retreat wounds.

After combat, if possible, the zerkers and orks pile in to each other.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Nurglitch wrote:
Now, once all attacks have been exchanged between the Sorcerer and the Orks, the Sorcerer is again treated as a member of the Berzerker unit. If you kill the Sorcerer and the Berzerkers don't evaporate under the No Retreat! wounds that might ensue, then you have to pile in on them (or them on you, if the Sorcerer wins the combat for them).


Just a quick note, doesn't matter who wins, the player whose turn it is always piles in first.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Unless there are high walls all around, as described by Coredump, I'll lay good odds that the Orks don't survive that encounter.

Manfred on Dwarfs: "it's like fighting a mountain, except the mountain stabs back."

For Hearth and Home! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: