Switch Theme:

Dawn of War vs. the Dedicated Transport  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Ok, in DoW rules, it states you can have a MAX of 1 HQ and 2 Troop units on the table at the end of deployment. On page 92 of the Little rule book under 'Multiple Unit Choices', it states that "Apart from being bought as a single choice, these units [dedicated transports] operate and count as separate units in all respects."
My question is if I have a SM Tactical Squad with a Rhino, do I get to deploy the rhino with the tac squad since the rhino is a separate unit and not an HQ or Troop unit?
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





"Unit" is the operating word.
The squad is a unit and the transport is another unit.

-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
Made in us
Morphing Obliterator




The Void

While the rules are a bit sketchy on it, i've never seen it played as the rhino counting. Its always included with the squad, so usually its 2 squads in rhinos and an hq deploying. This is how the redshirts say it is, and while i know that hardly the letter of the law i think RAI is clear here.

Always 1 on the crazed roll. 
   
Made in gb
1st Lieutenant







Where we play it's been that transports are counted as units so you deploy HQ + Troop + Transport not HQ + Troop and Transport + Troop and Transport

My FOW Blog
http://breakthroughassault.blogspot.co.uk/

My Eldar project log (26/7/13)
http://www.warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?p=5518969#post5518969

Exiles forum
http://exilesbbleague.phpbb4ever.com/index.php 
   
Made in us
Major






far away from Battle Creek, Michigan

Judging by "...in all respects" and that DoW says you deploy two UNITS from troops selection it follows that if you deploy a dedicated transport with its unit you have used up all the troop selections.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/11/30 21:15:45


PROSECUTOR: By now, there have been 34 casualties.

Elena Ceausescu says: Look, and that they are calling genocide.

 
   
Made in de
Dominating Dominatrix






Piercing the heavens

But deploying a transport AFTER the unit is just dumb. From any perspective.
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




Murfreesboro, TN

Look to the example in the mission description, and all your questions will be answered.

As a rule of thumb, the designers do not hide "easter eggs" in the rules. If clever reading is required to unlock some sort of hidden option, then it is most likely the result of wishful thinking.

But there's no sense crying over every mistake;
You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

Member of the "No Retreat for Calgar" Club 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Anung Un Rama wrote:But deploying a transport AFTER the unit is just dumb. From any perspective.


Explain... Are you talking about some sort of tactical faux pas, or just personal preference?

Yep, the example says it all. When playing my DE I've always sent in one raider squad w/ an attached Haemonoculus all embarked. Perfectly legal.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/11/30 21:46:01


 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Oh, thanks for the pointer lord sutekh, I hadn't noticed that example before and it really does clear it up, seems alot of people have been playing it wrong me included.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

The rules aren't sketchy on it at all. Read the entire Dawn of War deployment example. It specifically addresses the transport issue.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in de
Dominating Dominatrix






Piercing the heavens

It reads that a dedicated transport can be taken as the second Troop choice.
   
Made in ca
Inspiring Icon Bearer




Canada

From the Dawn of War description:

"Example:.....In his half of the table, player B then deploys a unit of troops, already embarked into their dedicated transport (which is his second unit of troops). He then deploys an independent character from his HQ, joining the unit embarked in the transport"

We've houseruled it so that transports don't count, but the rulebook's example here is pretty explicit: dedicated transports count as your second unit from troops.
slowed? Yes. But it's absolutely explicit, so therefore both RAW and RAI are that it counts as your second troops selection.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

PirateRobotNinjaofDeath wrote:slowed? Yes.


I disagree. A unit is a unit.

Sure, when it's only a rhino, it may seem odd. But think instead of someone deploying a unit with a Land Raider as a dedicated transport as opposed to a Squad and a HS Land Raider. Makes a slightly larger difference to the scenario.

 
   
Made in ca
Inspiring Icon Bearer




Canada

insaniak wrote:
PirateRobotNinjaofDeath wrote:slowed? Yes.


I disagree. A unit is a unit.

Sure, when it's only a rhino, it may seem odd. But think instead of someone deploying a unit with a Land Raider as a dedicated transport as opposed to a Squad and a HS Land Raider. Makes a slightly larger difference to the scenario.


I'm thinking more about someone deploying two 20 man berzerker squads and a daemon prince vs someone deploying a 10 man tac squad in a rhino with a librarian. How many troops squads get LRs as dedicated transports? Pretty much only deathwing squads. I mean I can understand why it's done, a transport can pretty much be IN the enemy deployment zone first turn with DoW deployment, its just that they're telling me a 35 point rhino is the same as a 200 point troop squad.

Pretty much i just don't like dawn of war deployment. It's pretty frusterating to my drop pod army when I drop in first turn with nothing to shoot at.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Depending on how it's used, a 35 point transport can possibly be worth more than that 200 point troop squad.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





Mayhem Comics in Des Moines, Iowa

How about a unit of Ork Nobz in a Battlewagon?

 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

I like to start a Rhino on the board to illuminate something with its searchlight on turn 1, so everything I have which can move and fire comes on turn 1 and pounds the illuminated unit.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity





Mayhem Comics in Des Moines, Iowa

Mannahnin wrote:I like to start a Rhino on the board to illuminate something with its searchlight on turn 1, so everything I have which can move and fire comes on turn 1 and pounds the illuminated unit.


I like to do the same thing with a Lord packing a Solar Pulse. I found out it Really annoys the crap out of my opponents when they find out they have to play with Night Fight but I do not.

 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






I bet the rhino doesn't last long though when it's the only targettable thing for them.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




If you don't think the rhino is worth deploying... then don't deploy it. Deploy a different second unit. But it is definitely powerful enough that it should not get to be put on for 'free'
   
Made in gb
1st Lieutenant







ok example of why a rhino can be lethal in DOW setup

HQ - DP with lash.

Troops Bezerkers with rhino.

Go second.

they can't charge and all shooting uses nightfighting rules.

When you go, fire the rhino at your target first, hopefull you see them. You've then illuminated them and then you can lash without needing to role nightfighting.

Or even better if they have something big and killy again light 'em up and use your heavy stuff which has long range and just come on from the board edge to hit them.

Hail the mighty rhino!

My FOW Blog
http://breakthroughassault.blogspot.co.uk/

My Eldar project log (26/7/13)
http://www.warseer.com/forums/showthread.php?p=5518969#post5518969

Exiles forum
http://exilesbbleague.phpbb4ever.com/index.php 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

PirateRobotNinjaofDeath wrote:its just that they're telling me a 35 point rhino is the same as a 200 point troop squad.

Pretty much i just don't like dawn of war deployment. It's pretty frusterating to my drop pod army when I drop in first turn with nothing to shoot at.


Yep, and a 60 point IG squad is the same as that 200 point Troop squad as well. So? Bottom line is that unless you houserule it, transports count.

And yeah, I think Drop Pod armies should always go first, so that my IG don't sit there with nothing to shoot at for the first turn..................................... Same thing, right?

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in ca
Inspiring Icon Bearer




Canada

don_mondo wrote:
PirateRobotNinjaofDeath wrote:its just that they're telling me a 35 point rhino is the same as a 200 point troop squad.

Pretty much i just don't like dawn of war deployment. It's pretty frusterating to my drop pod army when I drop in first turn with nothing to shoot at.


Yep, and a 60 point IG squad is the same as that 200 point Troop squad as well. So? Bottom line is that unless you houserule it, transports count.

And yeah, I think Drop Pod armies should always go first, so that my IG don't sit there with nothing to shoot at for the first turn..................................... Same thing, right?


But that takes all the fun out of pelting your soft little bellies with bolter shells now doesn't it
   
Made in us
Sneaky Kommando






Steelmage99 wrote:"Unit" is the operating word.
The squad is a unit and the transport is another unit.


exactly, you get to deploy a total of 3 UNITS. So a squad with a transport is 2 units. Mech. guard and other transport armies usually get nerfed a bit ( I hope this was intentional) its no biggie though because everything comes on first turn anyway and your in transports so, how much does it really hurt you. IMHO it really bogs the game for the first 2 turns especially if you have 2 large armies. Smart players use it as a sort of scout move, with the actual deployment taking place on turn 1. Also remember its UP to 2 troops and 1 HQ you dont have to deploy anything.

"For the emperor!" "E' aint listenin!" *squish* (my fav blood and thunder quote)

BUT NOBS are NO GOOD at CC "ork town grot"
-perhaps the single dumbest comment I have ever heard-

Boss Zagstruck and Her-ORKick intervention, anything you can do we can do better  
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



CNY

Anung Un Rama wrote:But deploying a transport AFTER the unit is just dumb. From any perspective.


Deploying two transports can be useful, if you can go first. Put out two "sacrificial" rhinos at the edge of the deployment zone, forcing the opponent 18" away from your rhinos. On first turn, move them 12" back towards your board edge, and bring in the remaining units. Very few things can shoot at your rhinos (without a range of 30" [minimum] and a role of a 10 on your nightfight action), and the tac marines can board the trucks in the next turn.

STAND FAST AND DIE LIKE GUARDSMEN 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: