Switch Theme:

do you actually sweep with the advance?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
The New Miss Macross!





Deep Fryer of Mount Doom

a question came up during my first game of 5th edition this weekend. i won a round of close combat and my opponent failed his morale check. using the d6+initiative rule, i beat his roll. do i slaughter him BEFORE he moves and then take my 1d6 consolidation move? or does he roll his 2d6, move, and i catch up/slaughter him there? if so, do i consolidate from that new position? i've played a ton of 3rd ed but not much 4th so that may help explain my misconceptions regarding this. (lol, it was a total 40k newb vs a 2-editions out of date veteran game!) thanks!
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon





The House that Peterbilt

Gotta read the rule book a couple times, especially if you are getting 3ed stuff mixed in.

It is made very clear in the rules -- you either equal or beat his roll and his unit is destroyed -or- he beats your roll and then falls back 2d6". Afterwards (in either case) you get a d6" consolidation move that cannot be used to contact another enemy or the unit that just fell back.

HTH

snoogums: "Just because something is not relavant doesn't mean it goes away completely."

Iorek: "Snoogums, you're right. Your arguments are irrelevant, and they sure as heck aren't going away." 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





It can be confusing but winterman stated it correctly. Think of the Initiative roll as an Initiative check. I don't think the rulebook calls it such, but that's what you're doing.

I had to run through a few CC's before it became clear to me.
   
Made in us
The New Miss Macross!





Deep Fryer of Mount Doom

thanks for clearing that up, especially with the polite response.
   
Made in ca
Decrepit Dakkanaut





All respect to Rymafyr, but I think considering the Sweeping Advance as an Initiative check is a bad idea, since that would be rolling equal to or unit the unit's Initiative.

Think of it instead like rolling off to determine the interpretation of a disputed rule, with the rule being "Something happens with these units", one player saying it means "My unit massacres your unit" and the other player saying it means "My unit escapes your unit".

And remember that you add your Initiatives to this roll.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: