Switch Theme:

Orbital Bombardment  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Boosting Ultramarine Biker





Denton, TX

Just a few questions about this weapon. It states that you cannot use it if the unit had moved in the movement phase, however...

...what if the unit is in a transport (lets say a rhino) that has moved? Is he able to shoot the orbital bombardment?

If yes..does it require the use of a fire point? Alternatively...is he even able to use orbital bombardment in a vehicle at all?

Finally, is he able to disembark (and perform no further moving) and fire the bombardment?

Thanks in advance.

5500
3500
2000  
   
Made in us
Hunter with Harpoon Laucher




Castle Clarkenstein

Disembarking counts as movement.
Being in a vehicle that is moving counts as movement.

In neither case could he call in the OB.

Being in a vehicle should not matter. He isn't firing a weapon, he's talking on a radio.

....and lo!.....The Age of Sigmar came to an end when Saint Veetock and his hamster legions smote the false Sigmar and destroyed the bubbleverse and lead the true believers back to the Old World.
 
   
Made in us
Bounding Assault Marine






Arkansas

what about after he uses the OB. does he have to assault the unit that was hit with the OB, or can he assault a different unit?

   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





St. Louis, MO

dashrendar wrote:what about after he uses the OB. does he have to assault the unit that was hit with the OB, or can he assault a different unit?


He can assault a different unit.

IIRC, it was FAQed.


Eric

Black Fiend wrote: Okay all the ChapterHouse Nazis to the right!! All the GW apologists to the far left. LETS GET READY TO RUMBLE !!!
The Green Git wrote: I'd like to cross section them and see if they have TFG rings, but that's probably illegal.
Polonius wrote: You have to love when the most clearly biased person in the room is claiming to be objective.
Greebynog wrote:Us brits have a sense of fair play and propriety that you colonial savages can only dream of.
Stelek wrote: I know you're afraid. I want you to be. Because you should be. I've got the humiliation wagon all set up for you to take a ride back to suck city.
Quote: LunaHound--- Why do people hate unpainted models? I mean is it lacking the realism to what we fantasize the plastic soldier men to be?
I just can't stand it when people have fun the wrong way. - Chongara
I do believe that the GW "moneysheep" is a dying breed, despite their bleats to the contrary. - AesSedai
You are a thief and a predator of the wargaming community, and i'll be damned if anyone says differently ever again on my watch in these forums. -MajorTom11 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






I'm fairly confident it hasn't been FAQ'd since they haven't released a FAQ for the new space marines codex yet.

The rule specifically says "Calling down an orbital bombardment otherwhise counts as firing a ranged weapon". Which means that the Chapter Master would indeed have to assault the unit that is targetted, as well as target the same unit as a unit he is attached to if he happens to be attached.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in ca
Inspiring Icon Bearer




Canada

Drunkspleen wrote:I'm fairly confident it hasn't been FAQ'd since they haven't released a FAQ for the new space marines codex yet.

The rule specifically says "Calling down an orbital bombardment otherwhise counts as firing a ranged weapon". Which means that the Chapter Master would indeed have to assault the unit that is targetted, as well as target the same unit as a unit he is attached to if he happens to be attached.


"...a unit that fired in the Shooting phase can only assault the unit that it shot at - it cannot assault a different unit to the one it previously shot at."
-from the rulebook

"Calling down an orbital bombardment otherwise counts as firing a ranged weapon and uses the following profile"
-from the space marine codex.

I wonder if there's an exception for it being a barrage weapon in the book somewhere, though I bet he's the only character in the game who counts as firing an ordinance barrage weapon making that pretty unlikely.

Would be pretty ballsy to call down a barrage on a unit that is within assault range of him

Makes sense though. He's staring at the unit he is giving coordinates to fire on, not looking for another unit to rush into combat with.

[disclaimer]->just finished 6 hours of finals, and have 3 more to go today uggggh, so sorry if my grammar is jibberish
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: