Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/04 20:42:17
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
Hopping on the pain wagon
|
So, masque can shoot her pavane three times and one can shoot multiple weapons at the same target. I know that pavane only works once, but stick with me here. Say she hits with all three pavanes - do you get to roll 3d6 and take the highest since it is simultaneous?
Thanks!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/04 20:46:43
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade
|
No. The Codex specifically prohibits a unit being affected by multiple Pavanes.
That's why the Masque has the ability to shoot at multiple units.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2015/10/30 04:44:56
Triggerbaby wrote:In summary, here's your lunch and ask Miss Creaver if she has aloe lotion because I have taken you to school and you have been burned.
Abadabadoobaddon wrote:I too can prove pretty much any assertion I please if I don't count all the evidence that contradicts it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/04 21:02:21
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Fixture of Dakka
|
Taking multiple shots at the same unit is really only useful for when you really really need to move that unit, and even then, you can roll a '1' for distance.
Pavane is a cute trick, but it's no where near as broken as Lash
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/04 21:10:57
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
And remember boys and girls.
Masque is *not* an IC, so can't join other units
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/04 23:05:47
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
Hopping on the pain wagon
|
Sigh. I said that specifically in my post. Please re read it. Shooting happens at the same time. I get three hits. Do I get to roll 3 dice and take the high one or do I have to just roll 1.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/05 00:08:29
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade
|
Somnicide wrote:Sigh. I said that specifically in my post. Please re read it. Shooting happens at the same time. I get three hits. Do I get to roll 3 dice and take the high one or do I have to just roll 1.
Like I said, no. Unfortunately, you can't roll 3d6, take the highest.
From the Codex:
"Successive hits have no effect."
Firing multiple shots at a single unit makes it more likely that you'll successfully hit that unit, but only 1d6 will be rolled.
|
Triggerbaby wrote:In summary, here's your lunch and ask Miss Creaver if she has aloe lotion because I have taken you to school and you have been burned.
Abadabadoobaddon wrote:I too can prove pretty much any assertion I please if I don't count all the evidence that contradicts it. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/05 06:37:18
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
Hopping on the pain wagon
|
Right, but shooting from a single model is not successive. If it were, you could pavane a unit into a nice flamer shaped group and hit with a DP Breath.
Successive =/= Simultaneous, which is what the Masque is.
The masque is the only character where it comes up - even a blue scribes "watch this" will be successive.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/05 06:42:06
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
So then you're saying that the power can only be used once on a unit in a game? Because that's the only other option left if you don't agree with MinMax's interpretation.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/05 07:18:43
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
Hopping on the pain wagon
|
No, I am saying...
Masque shoots all three shots and all three hit. All shooting from a single unit (in this case, a single model) hits simultaneously. Do you roll 3d6 for the effect (1d6 for each hit as you normally would for shooting) and take the highest and discard the others, since it only moves 1d6 worth or do you just discount the other 2 simultaneous hits and roll only 1d6.
Any successive hits (from other models) obviously have no effect as stated in the rules.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/05 07:19:37
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Why wouldnt you be able to use pavane first then wind of chaos after that with your DP?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/05 07:36:29
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
Hopping on the pain wagon
|
You would. Sorry I should have been more clear. If you have a DP with pavane and breath even though they can fire 2 weapons (because they are monstrous creatures) they cannot fire pavane first to move the unit and then breath because the shooting is simultaneous.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/05 09:56:20
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Let me ask again, why? Maybe I missed something in the rules since I actually dont run that, but wont you be able to bunch them up first then use your template? If you could back it up with some rulebook page reference or something would really help.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/05 15:07:47
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Kalbrand, the rules is that all shooting from a unit is simultaneous, and resolved as such. Therefore, you don't resolve one shot or group of shots from the unit before resolving another.
Say for instance I have a SM tac squad with 5 bolters and a plasma gun shooting at a CSM squad with a AC and 4 CSM. I do not have the option of firing all 5 bolters and making my opponant pull casualties before rolling and pulling casualties for the plasma gun in the hopes of tagging a suddenly single AC. I roll all hits and wounds, and he assigns all effects at the same time.
Likewise, the DP's pavane and breath happen at the same time, so you place the template, see what is it hit, roll for wounds, and then roll for hitting with pavane and roll for effect. THEN your opponant allocates wounds, and the men are (re)moved around the board.
I do agree with Somnicide as well that you should roll 3d6 and pick the highest, since the attacks are simultaneous and not successive. It is a bit of a gray area created by GW's rules, mostly around the order of opperations since simultaneous might imply you COULD get 3d6 movement out of Pavane that way, but I think 3d6 and pick the highest makes the most sense out of the grey area.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/05 15:39:26
Subject: Re:quick masque question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I was going to put forward an argument about rolling the pavane dice in sequence, but that got shot down when I was reminded of the simultanous shots rule by Wehrkind's post. It just only makes sense that you would choose not to move the unit with the low rolling pavane hits.
From personal experience, firing two pavane's at a single unit because you would really like to avoid missing does make sense. Do keep in mind that she does have "We are Legion" so she could pavane up to three different units.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/05 15:52:54
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Somnicide wrote:No, I am saying...
Masque shoots all three shots and all three hit. All shooting from a single unit (in this case, a single model) hits simultaneously. Do you roll 3d6 for the effect (1d6 for each hit as you normally would for shooting) and take the highest and discard the others, since it only moves 1d6 worth or do you just discount the other 2 simultaneous hits and roll only 1d6.
Any successive hits (from other models) obviously have no effect as stated in the rules.
Even if they hit simultaneously, they're still 'successive'. It's three 'successive' Pavanes and not one 'single' Pavane.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/05 16:15:07
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
Hopping on the pain wagon
|
No, it is three simultaneous Pavanes, not 3 successive pavanes.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/05 16:23:51
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
No, it's three succesisve Pavanes. It doesn't matter if they're applied simulatneously or not. If it's not the first one, then it's a successive one. How it's applied in the game is inconsequential.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/05 17:07:23
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Wait, Ghaz, you are stating that 3 simultaneous, which is to say "happening at the same time", pavanes are also 3 "successive" pavanes, which is to say "one after another".
So your position is that
(happening at the same time) = (happens one after the other)
Really? So, can I shoot my tac squad's lascannon at your rhino, blast the troops out, then gun them down with bolters?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/05 21:35:23
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I hadnt tought about it that way and checked the rules when I got home. You actually do roll all to hit rolls at the same time, so that would mean they are simultaneous.
But doesnt this leave tau in the deep doodoo, with a markerlight in the squads but unable to benefit from it?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/05 21:54:24
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Of course, tau squads can not benefit from their own markerlights. I never know a player who did it otherwise, but then again, I have only played 2 consistently enough to notice.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/05 23:02:03
Subject: Re:quick masque question
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
As far as I know, the Bluescribes are the only unit in the game that can shoot two powers/weapons successively, and not simultaneously because of the "Watch This" rule.
Back to the original question...I think that you've got a grey area here, so you have to go with only rolling a d6.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/12/05 23:03:12
"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers
Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/06 00:31:11
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
Mayhem Comics in Des Moines, Iowa
|
I'd go with rolling multiple and picking the one you want.
And yeah, Tau don't benefit from their own Marker Light with the exception of Networked Marker Light, as that is specifically intended to benefit the unit it's in.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/06 02:48:02
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
You're casting more than one Pavane, so you're casting successive Pavanes that affect the target simultaneously. Your mistaking the simultaneous effect for casting.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/06 03:30:50
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
Mayhem Comics in Des Moines, Iowa
|
You're not "casting" because it's not a psychic power, it's a shooting weapon. It's like saying a squad of marines is firing successive bolter rounds, instead of simo. You're firing three simultaneous Pavanes. They'd hit at the same time, not successively. Heck, if you wanted to go pure unadulterated RAW, they'd probably have to move 3d6, but I doubt that one would survive very many tourney calls, or any kind of FAQ. I'd play it as I already said, roll a d6 for each hit, and pick the one you want to apply. Any further hits, iow successive, would then no longer affect the target.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/06 03:59:11
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Yes, you're casting. It follows the rules for shooting weapons, true but 'casting' and 'shooting' are interchangeable here.
And yes, you are casting three successive Pavanes. Only one Pavane can affect the target.
Aduro wrote:
I'd play it as I already said, roll a d6 for each hit, and pick the one you want to apply.
In other words, you'd only allow one Pavane to affect the model and the successive Pavanes would have no affect.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/06 04:30:51
Subject: Re:quick masque question
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Somnicide wrote:If you have a DP with pavane and breath even though they can fire 2 weapons (because they are monstrous creatures) they cannot fire pavane first to move the unit and then breath because the shooting is simultaneous.
I have a problem with this statement, because even though the rules say "all shooting is simultaneous", that's physically impossible. Since you say you cannot pavane a unit into place, then hit it with the breath, logically I can assume when you play that you use the breath attack, then move the models via the pavane. Bad news, you're still not doing it simultaneously.  All you've done there is choose the non-simultaneous option that least benefits you.
for the record, I don't know how I would handle the pavane/breath from the same unit question. I've never had it come up, mostly because I've avoided it.
as for the 3d6 pick the best, rolling the 3 dice (or however many hits you get) makes sense. Why would you get to pick the best, however? Why not select the worst? The rules support both of those suppositions equally. I've always played it as just rolling 1d6 regardless of how many hits, but that's only because by strict rule wording the actual rule would be "roll 3d6, take the first" which is physically impossible to determine, unless you happen to see which stopped rolling first.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/06 04:40:30
Subject: quick masque question
|
 |
Prescient Cryptek of Eternity
Mayhem Comics in Des Moines, Iowa
|
Nah, you'd do the breath then move the unit. The shots happen simo, which means you do your hits, then your wounds/effects. You could roll to see if Pavane hits first, but then you still have to check your hits on the breath weapon before resolving the "wound" from Pavane.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/06 04:49:13
Subject: Re:quick masque question
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
the only way I can parse this process would be step by step:
Determine all the hits. Did pavane hit? how many hits with breath?
determine all the wounds. pavane has no wound step, so you would move the guys at this phase. how many breath wounds?
determine all unsaved wounds. no more steps left for pavane. how many invulns made against breath?
This adheres to the rules, and still keeps the same result.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/06 08:57:54
Subject: Re:quick masque question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The magic words to me are "When a unit fires, all of its weapons are fired simultaneously" and resolved simultaneously except when otherwise noted.
So, if you have two or more pavane hits, rolling the dice all at once and selecting one makes more sense and is faster than rolling each die in sequence and trying to decide whether to use it.
Is this going to end up being a poll question?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2008/12/06 18:51:38
Subject: Re:quick masque question
|
 |
Virulent Space Marine dedicated to Nurgle
where i want to be
|
solkan wrote:
So, if you have two or more pavane hits, rolling the dice all at once and selecting one makes more sense and is faster than rolling each die in sequence and trying to decide whether to use it.
Could roll them one at a time then either chose to ignore it or roll again. ex: have 3 hits 1st roll is a 2 so you roll again , second roll is a 5 you decide to roll again third roll is a four and you got greedy and have to take the four. its like a minigame dice wammy if you will.
|
|
 |
 |
|