Switch Theme:

POTMS and ordinance barrage  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Major






far away from Battle Creek, Michigan

p.58 of the BGB states that a vehicle with an ordinance barrage weapon can choose to shoot a normal, direct shot or fire a barrage. If it chooses the latter, according to the rules, "the crew must carefully calculate the firing trajectory, so only vehicles that remained stationary may fire an ordinance barrage weapon (and may, of course, fire no other weapons that turn)." So how would POTMS apply in this case? Can a vehicle move 6" and fire a barrage? Can it remain stationary and fire a barrage and an additional weapon?

PROSECUTOR: By now, there have been 34 casualties.

Elena Ceausescu says: Look, and that they are calling genocide.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Do any Land Raiders have ordinance barrage weapons?
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

gaylord500 wrote:Do any Land Raiders have ordinance barrage weapons?


Yeah, the Land Raider helios (Imperial Armor).

The machine spirit simply allows the vehicle to fire one more weapon than it is normally able to fire, it doesn't override any other basic restrictions required to fire a weapon.

This is a very similar situation with the people who had the mistaken idea that if a unit had fleet it could now disembark out of a vehicle, run, then charge in the same turn, when in reality, fleet only overrides the restriction about running and charging in the same turn, not any other restrictions against charging.


So in short, no a vehicle with a POTMS cannot move and fire an ordnance barrage, but yes it could fire another weapon along with firing the ordnance barrage (provided it didn't move, of course).


This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/12/08 16:03:42


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

gaylord500 wrote:Do any Land Raiders have ordinance barrage weapons?

The Land Raider Helios

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: