Switch Theme:

Rending on multiple penetration dice  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Lancaster PA

During some deep thinking time on the can, it occured to me I didn't know what happens when a model has multiple penetration dice and rending.

Take for instance the Vindicare with his Turbo Penetrator shot. Vehicle Penetration of 3d6, and since it is fired from a sniper rifle, it has rending.

Now, I am presuming that any 6 rolled on the original 3d6 adds an additional d3. So, theoretically, one could have a penetration of 27 (3 6's and 3 3's.)

Is there a rule somewhere that limits the number of rend bonuses to one per hit or something?


Woad to WAR... on Celts blog, which is mostly Circle Orboros
"I'm sick of auto-penetrating attacks against my behind!" - Kungfuhustler 
   
Made in us
Sickening Carrion




Wa. state

In those cases each 6 rolled is a rend. I believe this was FAQ for some MC. So yes a pen roll of 27 is possible.

edit: Checked the FAQ :BRB there it washttp://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2030054_40k_Rulebook_Oct_2008.pdf

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/12/11 22:05:52


Who are all these people, and why aren't they dead? 
   
Made in us
Hellacious Havoc






Wow! That means a 'fex with rending claws or even a tyrant with rending could really trash a LR or Monolith. A feat that is truly hard to do.

AFTER THOUGHT: Does the Monolith's "living metal" special rule negate the extra D3 like it does the extra D6 for monstrous creatures?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/12/11 23:13:55



MARTIAL LAW-FTW

There is no "cheese", just whiney rats who lose too much!




 
   
Made in us
Dominar






Hand of Dume wrote:Wow! That means a 'fex with rending claws or even a tyrant with rending could really trash a LR or Monolith. A feat that is truly hard to do.

AFTER THOUGHT: Does the Monolith's "living metal" special rule negate the extra D3 like it does the extra D6 for monstrous creatures?


Living metal negates.

And Fexes could already trash Raiders pretty well. Rending is just [more] overkill.
   
Made in gb
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan



UK

Those cronny bastards...

 H.B.M.C. wrote:
Friend of mine just sent me this:

"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ."
Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!

Heh.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: