Switch Theme:

Chronus and killpoints  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Widowmaker






Syracuse, NY

Came up in a tactics thread.
Chronus is always bought as an upgrade for a tank. When the tank is destroyed you roll a D6, and on a 1 or 2 Chronus is slain. If the result is 3 or more Chronus becomes an independent character and is placed within 2" of the (now wrecked) vehicles position.

From my understanding, with this information, the tank would be worth 1 kp, and Chronus would be worth 1kp as well if he manages to jump clear and become an IC. If you rolled a 1 or 2 and Chronus is 'slain', he never becomes a unit and wouldn't be worth a KP.

Some have argued that the tank would yield zero KPs until Chronus is destroyed and that destroying Chronus would then yield 1 KP for both him and the tank he started in. I haven't found any rules to back this assertion up, but maybe someone can better illustrate that argument here.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/12/12 21:19:28


   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

Have you checked his entry in the SM codex?

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Widowmaker






Syracuse, NY

...

Yes?

   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth






Busy somewhere, airin' out the skin jobs.

Part of Chronus' text says that "If Chronus' vehicle has been destroyed he has the above profile......."

Leading me to beleive that something has indeed been destroyed. Since ordinarily whenever you destroy something, you get a kill point, thats one.

Obviously, if he's running around on the board without a tank....he's a possible second kill point.

I also liked the point you made Moz about Tau gun drone upgrades being worth a kill point. There really isnt anything that would indicate that Chronus would be any different from them where kill points are concerned.

I have never failed to seize on 4+ in my life!

The best 40k page in the Universe
COMMORRAGH 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

After reading his rule my interpretation is that Chronus is an upgrade for the tank he chooses to command. Therefore as long as he is not destroyed no kill points for his tank.

G

ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Sslimey Sslyth






Busy somewhere, airin' out the skin jobs.

And how did you come to that conclusion?

What makes Chronos any different from a pair of gun drones bought for a hammerhead?

I have never failed to seize on 4+ in my life!

The best 40k page in the Universe
COMMORRAGH 
   
Made in us
Da Head Honcho Boss Grot





Minnesota

By that logic you can't kill a tank with extra armor, because no one destroyed the extra armor.

What does being an upgrade even have to do with anything? There's no rule that says something's not destroyed until it's upgrades are, or that upgrades never count as a kill point, or anything like that at all.

Anuvver fing - when they do sumfing, they try to make it look like somfink else to confuse everybody. When one of them wants to lord it over the uvvers, 'e says "I'm very speshul so'z you gotta worship me", or "I know summink wot you lot don't know, so yer better lissen good". Da funny fing is, arf of 'em believe it and da over arf don't, so 'e 'as to hit 'em all anyway or run fer it.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






on board Terminus Est

When you kill the tank upgrades a as extra armor go up in smoke. This is noy the case with Chronus if he survives. A drone has no effect on a Tau skimmer tank other than to disembark and form a separate unit while Chronus is literally the tank commander. IG used to have access to an escape hatch they could purchase for their tanks. If the IG tank was destroyed a few crewmen would disembark through the hatch and the tank was not considered destroyed until the escaped crewmen were also destroyed. The rule for Chronus does not spell this out so I believe it is open to discussion.

G

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/12/13 04:46:21


ALL HAIL SANGUINIUS! No one can beat my Wu Tang style!

http://greenblowfly.blogspot.com <- My 40k Blog! BA Tactics & Strategies!
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut







I don't have my SM codex anywhere...does it say he becomes an IC? I believe he is considered an upgrade character such as a sergeant.

Remember when Leman Russ tanks had emergency crew compartments and the crew could get out nd run away, and you only got something like half points for the tank? This is a similar situation, except you don't get a KP until Chronus dies.

No Comment 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


His full rule is:

"Tank Commander: Chronus is always bought as an upgrade and starts the game as commander of a Space Marine tank (see the army list). Use the tank commander model of Chronus to represent this. . .If the tank suffers a Wrecked or Explodes! result, roll a D6. On a 1 or 2, Chronus is slain. If the result is 3 or more, Chronus leaps clear at the last second -- when the damage has been resolved, place him within 2" of the vehicle's position. If Chronus' vehicle has been destroyed he has the above profile and the following special rules for the remainder of the game: And They Shall Know No Fear, Combat Tactics, Independent Character. He may not take command of a different tank."



I think it is inappropriate to compare Chronus to the IG escape hatch from previous editions because those rules specifically GRANTED the ability for the vehicle to not count as being destroyed until the crew were wiped out. . .Chronus' rules do not say anything like this.


IMHO, the rules as written indicate that if you destroy the vehicle without Chronus escaping, one Kill Point is garnered. However if he jumps free he becomes a new unit (an IC) and therefore will be worth another Kill point if killed later.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: