Last game that I played my Tyranid teammate gave the genestealers of his Broodlord retinue scuttlers to give scout to the squad. It was sick, because he could infiltrate 18", scout, move assault, and bam, 1st turn Broodlord assault when over open ground. I know Scout is normally lost if an Independent Character w/o Scout joins the squad, but in Broodlord's case he is defined as an Upgrade Character and not an Independent Character because he arrives with a retinue, and has the Independent Character special rule. We had a big discussion about it and just decided it w/ a die roll because we were short on time. It evened out in the game because my shokk attack gun took out himself, a squad of lootaz, and a carnifex right at the start and we lost 3 KPs, so it was still a good game. (Note: Broodlord does not have a scuttler option)
I realize this is the almost the same as the 'Can Broodlord fleet?' argument that has come up before, and the tyranid player has generally found that people believe Broodlord can't fleet. RAW, it seems like Broodlord can fleet and scout if scuttlers are taken on the genestealers. I would prefer if he didn't, because he already destroys anything even close to table edges, but here's why I think he can:
-The wording for losing a special ability describes a unit being joined by an Independent Character. Broodlord is not an Independent Character when with his retinue, he is an Upgrade Character with the Independent Character special rule, which causes him to become the IC when his genestealers are wiped out.
So does having the Independent Character rule even when the model is defined in the game as an Upgrade Character still make the Broodlord an Independent Character for purposes of losing special abilities (getting confused typing this)?
|