Switch Theme:

Broodlord retinue w/ infiltrate and scout!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

Ok im a bit confused since in the rulebook it says that if a character with infiltrate joins a unit, the ability is not confered. However it seems to me that his retinue DOES have it passed on to them. Is there a difference between his retinue and a normal brood of stealers? Also if I then gave his retinue the scuttlers upgrade, would it then be confered to the broodlord?

Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







It doesn't matter how the rulebook says the USR's work for infiltrate in this case because the broodlord's entry says specifically "broodlords and their broods may infiltrate...".

On the other hand, the USR rules do matter for fleet. If you give the brood scuttlers, the unit won't benefit from fleet until the broodlord dies because:
a. the broodlord can't get scuttlers and can't get fleet
b. fleet is marked as one of the "if anyone doesn't have it, no one gets it" USR's.
c. there's no listed exception for the broodlord
so therefore
d. the unit doesn't benefit from fleet
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Of course, Scuttlers has nothing to do with Fleet....

But no, the Blord can't Scuttle/scout, and neither can the retinue since the Blord can't.
   
Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

damn i was hoping he could...if his retinue benefited from it I was hoping it would also work the other way around...never mind

Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller






The reason for giving them Scuttlers is for the Outflank move, nothing more.



Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
 
   
Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

No need for scuttlers ouflank manouvre cos the b/lord already can use it through his infiltrate ability. I was hoping to deploy him in out of line of site, use his 6" scout move then charge on turn 1.

Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
Made in us
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller






You do need to give the Genesteelers scuttlers so they can get the outflank ability, otherwise they can not do the maneuver.



Quote: Gwar - What Inquisitor said.
 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

InquisitorFabius wrote:You do need to give the Genesteelers scuttlers so they can get the outflank ability, otherwise they can not do the maneuver.


Unless of course they are a retinue for a Broodlord.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in ca
Been Around the Block





Just wondering with the scuttle USR. i know they come up on the oppents short table edge, BUT how close can they be to enemy units when putting them on the table edge????
   
Made in us
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut







No less than 1" away.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/02/17 05:45:02


"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers

Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. 
   
Made in ca
Been Around the Block





Centurian99 wrote:No less than 1" away.


with that said. i could scuttle on opponents table edge 8inches away from a unit, run instead of shoot and attack the same turn entered???? hope so...

thx
   
Made in us
Raging Ravener





A normal brood of stealers could do that but /w a lord they could not. Lord is not fleet so if they run in shooting then they can not assault. Just hold them in reserve and let them outflank. it will work just as well and keep the enemy a bit in the dark as to what is going on.


"I am the crash of blades, and the furry of the storm. There is no shelter from my wrath, and no reprieve from my judgment." --Unknown (but it sure sounded cool) 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: