Switch Theme:

More combat squad questions, and one about "locked" units  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

Question 1: Can a terminator squad divide into combat squads, with one half deploying and the other half deepstriking? Why not, if no?


Question 2: An ordnance weapon scattered into a close combat and wiped out all of my men, and all but one of my opponent's, a meltagun. Is that meltagun then free to shoot whatever's in range, as he's no longer in combat? Or is there some sort of "status" that was achieved because he was in combat at the start of the turn that prevents him from firing? What about charging someone else? What if it was a heavy weapon? What about a Space Marine Master using Orbital Bombardment? He didn't move in the movement phase, and is not currently in assault, so could he fire that, too?

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in us
Fate-Controlling Farseer





Fort Campbell

Spellbound wrote:Question 1: Can a terminator squad divide into combat squads, with one half deploying and the other half deepstriking? Why not, if no?


Question 2: An ordnance weapon scattered into a close combat and wiped out all of my men, and all but one of my opponent's, a meltagun. Is that meltagun then free to shoot whatever's in range, as he's no longer in combat? Or is there some sort of "status" that was achieved because he was in combat at the start of the turn that prevents him from firing? What about charging someone else? What if it was a heavy weapon? What about a Space Marine Master using Orbital Bombardment? He didn't move in the movement phase, and is not currently in assault, so could he fire that, too?


Question 1: The decision must be made when their deployed, so they gotta be placed on the table before you can split them.

Question 2: I'd say no, but I'm not sure. Pretty ambigous IMO.

Full Frontal Nerdity 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Yep, no go on #1 as you can't combat squad them until they are deployed (deep strike).


On #2, if the model has no opponents anymore he can't be locked in combat, which means he can perform any actions any unit is allowed to do (including shooting). There is no such thing as being 'pseudo' locked in combat, and that means there are no guidelines about when such a psuedo-status would end.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Fate-Controlling Farseer





Fort Campbell

yakface wrote:
Yep, no go on #1 as you can't combat squad them until they are deployed (deep strike).


On #2, if the model has no opponents anymore he can't be locked in combat, which means he can perform any actions any unit is allowed to do (including shooting). There is no such thing as being 'pseudo' locked in combat, and that means there are no guidelines about when such a psuedo-status would end.



So if your locked in combat at the start of the shooting phase, and then by some fluke your standing on your own before the phase ends, your free to fire?

Full Frontal Nerdity 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

That's what he's saying. You can apparently assault, too, if another unit happens to be within range.

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Spellbound wrote:That's what he's saying. You can apparently assault, too, if another unit happens to be within range.



Yes, there are no rules stating otherwise. A unit is only locked in combat as long as it is actually locked in combat. If firing kills off all opponents, again there is nothing in the rules stopping the unit from now behaving normally.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in au
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy






In this case he will have to take a morale check for the meltagun at the end of the shooting phase, as that unit has suffered 25% casualties and doesn't match any of the exceptions in the rulebook. They would be able to shoot before having to take the test however.
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






Apologies if I'm highjacking the thread but you seem to have the answers and this does relate to point 1 so it seems silly to make a new one.

Given that a unit of deepstriking terminators can be combat squadded upon deployment (deep striking) and that the combat squad rules allow for deploying in two seperate locations, I assume this would mean being able to target each squad on a different region. If so would you roll for scatter twice (seems logical) and would you have a choice in when it happens, or would you be forced to combat squad before scattering if combat squadding at all?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/12/19 14:39:58


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh






Dallas, TX

No clear answer on that one - I asked that question before. I personally think that once combat squadded they could deepstrike in two separate locations [though they would roll once for reserves and arrive at the same time], reason being that when other squads deploy there's nothing that says they have to deploy next to each other - you can have your flamer and sergeant in a rhino and your missle launcher up on a hill on the other side of the board. So I think terminators should be able to deepstrike in different locations.

40k Armies I play:


Glory for Slaanesh!

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Spellbound wrote:No clear answer on that one - I asked that question before. I personally think that once combat squadded they could deepstrike in two separate locations [though they would roll once for reserves and arrive at the same time], reason being that when other squads deploy there's nothing that says they have to deploy next to each other - you can have your flamer and sergeant in a rhino and your missle launcher up on a hill on the other side of the board. So I think terminators should be able to deepstrike in different locations.


I concur. The combat squad rules state that they can be deployed in different locations, and deep strike is s specialized form of deployment.

So that means you make one reserve roll for the whole unit, and if it arrives you can then decide to combat squad it. If you do you then deploy each unit separately onto the table.




I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: