Switch Theme:

Twin-linked blast weapons re-roll which dice?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran







Do twin-linked blast weapons (such as the Chaos Space Marines' Havoc Launcher) re-roll their To Wound roll or their Scatter (and 2d6) roll?

(Quotes from the Assault on Black Reach mini-book p30 &31):

  • 1) Under BLAST->Blast Weapons and re-rolls: "If a model has the ability to re-roll its rolls to hit... must re-roll both the scatter dice and the 2D6."

  • 2) Under TWIN-LINKED->Twin-linked template weapons: "Twin-linked template weapons...can re-roll the dice to wound."

  • In short, the blast rules don't explicitly address twin-linked weapons, and the twin-linked rules don't explicitly address blast weapons.

    My verdict is to re-roll the dice To Wound. The wording under 2) seems to use "template" in the general sense of "any weapon that uses a blast or flame template". Also, this rule is stated under the twin-linked category, rather than template weapons category. Further, the wording under 1) does not refer to twin-linked at all, rather just models that have the ability to re-roll hits. Ideas?

    This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2008/12/20 13:52:17


    "Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm." 
       
    Made in us
    [ARTICLE MOD]
    Fixture of Dakka






    Chicago


    Template weapons refer specifically to weapons that use the teardrop (flamer) shaped template only.

    Twin-linked blast weapons re-roll scatter dice (scatter and the two distance dice).

    This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/12/20 13:54:35


       
    Made in us
    Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator



    Colorado

    Look a little higher under the Twin-Linked rule and you will find your answer.

    (It is not re-rolling Wounds)
       
    Made in us
    [ADMIN]
    Decrepit Dakkanaut






    Los Angeles, CA

    groz wrote:
    Further, the wording under 1) does not refer to twin-linked at all, rather just models that have the ability to re-roll hits. Ideas?


    Yep. The rules for 'twin-linked' (which does mention blasts) and the rules for 'blast weapons and re-rolls' tells you everything you need to know in this case.





    I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
    yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
    yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
    yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
    Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
       
    Made in au
    Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






    Just to reiterate, there is an important definition Between Templates, which use the flame template, and Blast Weapons, which use Blast "Markers" the plastic circles used to calculate blasts are now never (to the best of my knowledge) referred to as templates.

    Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


    -Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
       
    Made in us
    Dakka Veteran







    Thanks all. Here's the quote from under Twin-Linked: "...may re-roll the dice to hit if you miss (including twin-linked blast weapons)..."


    "Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm." 
       
     
    Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
    Go to: