Switch Theme:

Chaos Daemons and Bolt of Tzeentch question (Pink Horrors)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




When choosing Daemonic Gifts for your Chaos Daemons units, there are usually a few choices presented. In the Pink Horrors section, you have four choices. One of those choices is Bolt of Tzeentch. The language in the description states that you make choose one gift for a model at a specific cost. It then states that you may choose another gift at an additional costs, and so on. I'm paraphrasing this since I don't have the codex in front of me.

The problem is that one player in our group believes that you can choose Bolt of Tzeentch as many times as you want and put it on all the models in the unit. The rest of our group reads the rule as stating that you can choose this one particular daemonic gift (wargear) for one model per unit only.

Is there anywhere in the rulebook that makes this clear?
   
Made in de
Ladies Love the Vibro-Cannon Operator






Hamburg

No, you can take BoT just once per pack.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/12/23 18:16:41


Former moderator 40kOnline

Lanchester's square law - please obey in list building!

Illumini: "And thank you for not finishing your post with a "" I'm sorry, but after 7200 's that has to be the most annoying sign-off ever."

Armies: Eldar, Necrons, Blood Angels, Grey Knights; World Eaters (30k); Bloodbound; Cryx, Circle, Cyriss 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




wuestenfux wrote:No, you can take BoT just once per pack.


I know that, but is there anywhere in the rulebook that specifically states this fact? My friend is going to argue with me about this. I've tried to tell them that this is just common sense, but they don't believe me.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






San Jose, CA

p. 85, C: Daemons wrote:
Options:
-Gift one model with:
Bolt of Tzeentch...+X pts.

-Gift another model with:
Chaos Icon...+Y pts
etc.

The rules allow you to give ONE model Bolt of Tzeentch. Constrast with, say, Codex: IG Hardened Veterans, with the "up to four models may replace..." language.

There's really no ambiguity there.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2008/12/23 21:30:37


Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? 
   
Made in us
Strider





Bremerton, WA

I thought it was quite clear that only 1 bolt of tzeentch and I have a reading disabilty. Unfortanately there isn't a FAQ to clear things up.

If you smell bad, take a shower before playing me. I hate when people devote too much time to something that they can't even shower.  
   
Made in us
Phanobi





Paso Robles, CA, USA

This doesn't need a FAQ, there is no ambiguity based on the rules that Janthkin posted.

Ozymandias, King of Kings

My name is Ozymandias, King of Kings.
Look on My works, Ye Mighty, and despair.

Chris Gohlinghorst wrote:Holy Space Marine on a Stick.

This conversation has even begun to boggle my internet-hardened mind.

A More Wretched Hive of Scum and Villainy 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: