Switch Theme:

Clarification needed with ordinance and cover.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




A couple games ago a leman russ shot at a CSM squad which had disembarked from their rhino and were hiding behind it, my opponent placed the marker over a model that was clearly out of the tank's LOS and scored a direct hit, and after he rolled to would denied me a cover save for intervening models stating that since the battle cannon was ordinance it was not fired directly at the target. Later in the game another leman russ scored a direct hit on a rhino and my opponent stated that the shot hit rear armor since the shot hit from above instead of the side the tank was facing.
In short, can you get cover saves due to intervening models from ordinance and are there any special rules for ordinance hitting in the center of a vehicle?
   
Made in us
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator



Colorado

Barrage would be indirect fire. Ordinance is not always Barrage.

1) Intervening models grant cover saves from Ordinance, yes.
2) Ordinance hitting a vehicle, strikes the armor facing the firer.

pg. 60, BRB should get you pointed in the right direction.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

1. The battle cannon has nothing to do with the law, it's not ordinance. It is a big gun, that's called Ordnance

2. The Battle Cannon is a direct fire weapon. As such, it can only target, ie place the center hole onto, a model that is in LOS.

3. As a direct fire Ordnance weapon, the Battle Cannon resolves hits against vehicles based on the armor facing the platform firing the Battle Cannon.

4. If it should happen to scatter, cover is still resolved based on where the platform firing the battle Cannon is in relation to the models hit by the ordnance.

Basically, tell your opponent to quit trying to use INDIRECT FIRE rules for a direct fire weapon. And even with IDF, the vehicle hit would have been side armor, not rear armor.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

CannedLaughter wrote: my opponent placed the marker over a model that was clearly out of the tank's LOS


Gone wrong right off the bat...

Battle Cannons are Ordnance weapons. They're not Ordnance Barrage weapons... which means they follow the same LOS rules as any other Blast weapon, which means they have to be placed on a target within LOS of the firer. (Page 30, second paragraph. Page 58, "Ordnance Barrage weapons" - second paragraph also clearly distinguishes between the two.)


and after he rolled to would denied me a cover save for intervening models stating that since the battle cannon was ordinance it was not fired directly at the target.


As above. He's confusing Ordance with Ordnance Barrage. Ordnance markers can scatter out of LOS, but must be placed on a visible model.

Blast weapons allow the same cover saves as any other weapon.



Later in the game another leman russ scored a direct hit on a rhino and my opponent stated that the shot hit rear armor since the shot hit from above instead of the side the tank was facing.


Again, this would only be true (almost) if it was a Barrage weapon, and the marker's centre hole is over the vehicle... in which case it would hit the side armour, not the rear. Page 60: "Template and Blast weapons against vehicles"

 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






It's okay so he made a few rules mistakes, just next time you see him tell him you found a rule that says guard can only be used in kill points games haha

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: