Switch Theme:

Boss Snikrot not an IC  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Squishy Squig




I don't want to rehash the "HIS UNIT" discussion so this is very specific and just wanted to clear something up as I read it in both the Codex and the Rule book.

I read ALL the post on the "his unit" thread and found a couple things off. For 1 it sounds like a lot of people are interpreting or using Boss Snikrot like an IC. I read some stuff as to IC's like a Warboss or Ghazkull being allowed to ambush by being attached to Snikrot's unit.

I don't want to mis quote anyone...but to just clear this up. Doing so would be a rules violation. Correct?
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






that's the whole point of the "his unit" thread, ask any two people on the board this question and you will likely get 2 different answers.

Whether Snikrot is an IC or not has absolutely no effect on whether he grants an IC infiltrate when that IC joins snikrot's unit, so I don't see why you bother to bring that up.

And even then this thread will achieve nothing but distracting from the thread where the real discussion is occuring.

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Squishy Squig




Sorry you're right, Snikrot in relation to the IC rule has no bearing on the question i asked. The Debate got locked down due to arguing...was there another thread opened?

Anyway as to my earlier Snikrot question I re-read the rules and you can't Infiltrate or Ambush with an IC attached. Or at least do it legally per page 48, so I am cool. I tend to lean towards all the evidence Trekari put forth.

I run orks by the way...that is why I was interested in the comments in the debate and the HIS UNIT wording.

In particular in regards to the WARPHEADS "ere we go" where states "teleports his unit". I can think of at least three really cool maneuvers that would tear the heart out of an opponent.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Brasscorpion wrote:Sorry you're right, Snikrot in relation to the IC rule has no bearing on the question i asked. The Debate got locked down due to arguing...was there another thread opened?

Anyway as to my earlier Snikrot question I re-read the rules and you can't Infiltrate or Ambush with an IC attached. Or at least do it legally per page 48, so I am cool. I tend to lean towards all the evidence Trekari put forth.

I run orks by the way...that is why I was interested in the comments in the debate and the HIS UNIT wording.

In particular in regards to the WARPHEADS "ere we go" where states "teleports his unit". I can think of at least three really cool maneuvers that would tear the heart out of an opponent.


Are you trying to get that whole mess started up again.



I think the whole debate was because Snot grit is not infiltrating. He has a special ambush rule that has nothing to do with infiltrate. it simply allows you to move in from any table edge. So people were arguing for or against IC's making use of this rule. By RAW the unit would not be able to infiltrate but is this what they are doing? hence the debate.
   
Made in us
Squishy Squig




No I'm Cool thanks. Not trying to stir things up...I understand the rules perfectly. I was just interested in the Warphead usage of the term. Basically any unit that he can attach himself to can teleport since it is a "power" that in the rules specifically states "he and the unit". Makes for very interesting tactics.

As for Snikrot...any IC that wants to attach himself to a Bloodaxe unit (kommandos) better have the special ability to infiltrate or ambush...or the whole unit including Snikrot loses the ability to do either.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2008/12/30 08:41:22


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: