Switch Theme:

Dreadnaught  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Dakka Veteran






Can a dread run and fire smoke in the same turn? I was wondering......both are instead of shooting but does doing one, prevent the other?

Also, my friend keeps insisting that Independant Characters attached to a squad may not begin the game inside a transport(example....Ork Warboss joined with nobz mob with trukk transport) is this true?

Phillip

Good trades: 8!!


 
   
Made in ca
Serious Squig Herder






I don't play Marines, so I can't help with the first question.

If the Trukk is the Nobz' Dedicated Transport, then yes, as long as theres room for him, which here usually is when talking Nobz.

blarg 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






It's not exactly a definitive answer for running with smoke launchers but I personally take this answer from the Eldar FAQ to suggest it's perfectly possible.

Q. The Star Engines description says the vehicle may move an extra 12" 'in lieu of shooting'. Does this mean that they cannot make this extra move if they are unable to shoot for other reasons (such as being shaken). Also, when is this move executed - in the Movement or the Shooting phase?

A. As long as the vehicle is allowed to move that turn, and does not shoot or embark/disembark troops, it may use its Star Engines. This means that it can use them when shaken, but not whilst stunned. This extra move of up to 12" is executed during the Shooting phase.


Per the deployment example on page 93 for the Dawn of War mission type, an IC may deploy with a unit inside said unit's dedicated transport.

edit: Thought I should just point out that smoke launchers aren't done "instead of shooting" per se but at the end of the vehicles movement and simply prohibit shooting, making them equate to something like shaken in the eldar vehicle example, if both were actually done in the shooting phase as a replacement for shooting, the situation might be a bit different.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/01 08:30:13


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




Both answers can be found in the BGB.

1) Yes, pg. 72 "...they can choose to run like infantry,....though they can still trigger their smoke launchers, if they have any."

The middle part I cut out, because it basically says you can't shoot/assault after a run.

2) Of course they can, pg. 48 "...independent character may begin the game already with a unit, by being deployed in coherency with them."
This one is does not say "exactly" that they can, but being in a vehicle with them *is* being deployed in coherency.

Also, he may be talking about the dedicated vehicle vs. the undedicated vehicle. This is an on going debate here. But the rule in question comes from pg. 67 in the lower right corner in the little box second paragraph. Something to bring up between yourselves and come up with a solution.

But my personal opinon is Yes, the rule IMHO clearly puts a 'limitation' upon a dedicated transport. And hence, there are only 2 types of transports (dedicated vs. undedicated) then we can *easily* assume that the 'limitation' only applies to the dedicated version. Clearly also implying that a unit *can* start in a vehicle, but only the one it is bought for if it is the dedicated type.

Anyways if they guy is still being a tard with you about #2, just smack him with the rule book.

DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in us
Martial Arts Fiday






Nashville, TN

1.Yes as quoted above

2. The rules on pg 67 state: "..only the squad (plus any independent cahracters) it was purchased for." So, yes!

"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"

-Nobody Ever

Proverbs 18:2

"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.

 warboss wrote:

GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up.


Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.

EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.

Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: