Switch Theme:

LR Firing Arcs  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Guardsman with Flashlight






My friend and I played a game in which he brought a land raider. My question is, can the land raider fire both of its sponsoon mounted lascannons at a leman russ? I belive that the land raider's cannons can't both 'see' the leman russ because of their limited firing arcs and the fact that the tank is so wide.
   
Made in de
Dakka Veteran




Yea, this one is a fun one. By the wording in 5th edition, and in fact was the same as 4th ed. You trace LOS from the mounting and down the barrel. And 5th Ed uses true line of sight instead of 4th ed. So if you can't see it you can't shoot it.

Important to note though: That you only need to see a piece of the target to be able to shoot at it in reason of course (not just a barrel for example, but more along the lines of like a full corner of the tank). For in 5th ed. The model nor anything in the models unit can provide a cover save to the target. This is actually worded in the BGB on pg. 58 "...then work out if the target gets cover saves exactly as if each firing weapon on the vehicle was a separate model in a normal unit."

IMHO I believe this to mean if you can see it (even a piece of it) and your own model is blocking most of the model, than the target model would *not* gain a cover save. Just anything else in the way.

But, yes, the landraider sucks at anything to close.

DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
 
   
Made in us
Dominar






If you're across the table the raider should be able to see the Russ with both sponsons if it's got its hull down to it.

Otherwise, what Padixon said. The standard Raider is not a close in support vehicle.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Exactly what Sourclams pointed out... I've been meaning to work out exactly where the blind spot for the LR sponson mounted Las guns start but it's more than I care to do. So whenever my LR is firing at a close target, I usually only shoot with one Las; since it's rare to have a 'dead on' view of a target.

Hmm, I wonder if two rhinos could pin a LR in a position? One directly in front, the other in back....Interesting.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







I don't have a leman russ, so I had to substitute a rhino.

If I turn the land raider to face the rhino, there's no problem getting line of sight from the outermost laser of both sponsons, even down to 9" away. At 9", turning the rhino face on to the land raider and line of sight from the sponsons was hitting the corners of the rhino. At, 4" (for example), the land raider's basically shooting at the rhino's side hatches if they're each pointed head on. I don't think a Leman is that much smaller than a rhino...
   
Made in dk
Stormin' Stompa





Parallel to this.




The Land Raider is clearly situated in the enemy vehicle's front arc.

The left sponson can draw LOS to the front armour of the target.
The right sponson cannot draw LOS to the front armour facing.

How is this resolved in respect to;

Rulebook, Page 62 wrote:

"It may rarely happen that the firing unit cannot see any part of the facing they are in (front, side or rear), but they can still se another facing of the target vehicle. In this case they may take the shot against te facng they can see, but to represent such an extremely angled shot, the vehicle recieves a 3+ cover save."

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/03 05:07:06


-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."

18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: