Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/05 00:35:45
Subject: Can I start my Harlequins in a Wave Serpent?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
There is no 'transport' option under the Harlequin entry in the eldar codex, so if I want to give them a transport I have to buy one using a troop slot on the force organization chart. My question is can I start the game off with the Harlequins in the wave serpent or do the Harlequins need to start the game off next to the wave serpent and then embark on the first turn? It would obviously be much better if they could start in the wave serpent but I'm not sure the rule on this one?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/05 00:51:31
Subject: Can I start my Harlequins in a Wave Serpent?
|
 |
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard
|
No, you can't.
Only the unit that you bought the transport for can start deployed in it. Harlies don't have the option, so may not.
|
I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.
That is not dead which can eternal lie ...
... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/05 00:55:36
Subject: Re:Can I start my Harlequins in a Wave Serpent?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Ok, thanks.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/05 01:00:18
Subject: Can I start my Harlequins in a Wave Serpent?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
SuperCow wrote:... so if I want to give them a transport I have to buy one using a troop slot on the force organization chart...
This sounds like you believe that you may purchase a Wave Serpent by itself to me. That is not the case. A Wave Serpent may only be purchased by a unit that can take it as a transport option. It can not be purchased as a separate unit.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/05 14:36:37
Subject: Can I start my Harlequins in a Wave Serpent?
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
I think they could start in a Falcon, assuming they are small enough to fit. I'm not sure that is stricly RAW, but I have no problem playing that way and would let an opponent do the same.
Homer
|
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/05 23:45:15
Subject: Re:Can I start my Harlequins in a Wave Serpent?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Hrm, Ok. Thx for the help.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/05 23:50:52
Subject: Re:Can I start my Harlequins in a Wave Serpent?
|
 |
Sneaky Kommando
|
I think they could start in a Falcon, assuming they are small enough to fit. I'm not sure that is stricly RAW, but I have no problem playing that way and would let an opponent do the same.
Homer
where do these rules interpretations come from? RAW (and it is strict) says only the units that bought the transport may start the game embarked. Now can you start the tank empty and put the owning unit on one side and the clowns on the other, embark the clowns and drive off into the sunset absolutley(on your movement phase of course), leaving the poor fire dragons wondering who jacked their ride.
|
"For the emperor!" "E' aint listenin!" *squish* (my fav blood and thunder quote)
BUT NOBS are NO GOOD at CC "ork town grot"
-perhaps the single dumbest comment I have ever heard-
Boss Zagstruck and Her-ORKick intervention, anything you can do we can do better |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/06 00:47:34
Subject: Re:Can I start my Harlequins in a Wave Serpent?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
da gob smaka wrote:I think they could start in a Falcon, assuming they are small enough to fit. I'm not sure that is stricly RAW, but I have no problem playing that way and would let an opponent do the same.
Homer
where do these rules interpretations come from? RAW (and it is strict) says only the units that bought the transport may start the game embarked. Now can you start the tank empty and put the owning unit on one side and the clowns on the other, embark the clowns and drive off into the sunset absolutley(on your movement phase of course), leaving the poor fire dragons wondering who jacked their ride.
I wouldn't be so quick to jump on people's "interpretations" in the future if I were you, The falcon is purchased as a heavy support option, much like a non dedicated land raider.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
|