Switch Theme:

applying rules from DE Codex in 5th edition...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





So, I've been going back over my DE army after a hiatus playing Chaos. I'm looking at using some wargear that I've never tried much and not at all in 5e. The piece in question is the terrorfex and by extension the Horrofex. Both are a Blast weapon and so use that template. I've used the search, looked in the official FAQ and even the INAT so forgive me if this has come up in some forum other than YMDC.

Now the terrorfex says to roll 'to hit' as normal but to not roll for wounds or saves. Obviously in 5e there is no rule for rolling 'to hit' for a blast marker, instead you place the marker then roll 2D6 and a scatter die. The problem is pretty obvious, at least I hope it's obvious. Here's the question: How do you resolve using this piece of wargear?

A. Place the Blast template and roll 2D6 and a scatter die.
B. Place the Blast template...nothing else required.
C. Roll to see if you hit, like in a normal shooting attack, then place the Blast template.

How has everyone been playing this? Or has there been some definative discussion leading to a resolution?

   
Made in us
Sickening Carrion




Wa. state

Since both are Blast weapons and do not have special rules for their use. Just use the Blast rules.

Who are all these people, and why aren't they dead? 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






I would read "roll to hit as normal" as meaning "roll to hit using the normal rules for blast weapons" meaning you would use a scatter roll

Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Thanks for the input your points certainly makes sense to me. Ahh, the joys of using an outdated codex...
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: