Switch Theme:

Dawn Blade vs Monolith  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot





Monolith

Weapons that get additional armor penetration dice do not get extra dice against the monolith (pg 21 necron codex)

Dawnblade

O'shovah rolls 2d6+5 when rolling to penetrate the armor of a vehicle (pg 44 Tau codex)

Does O'shovah get 2d6+5 or 1d6+5? the rules don't say roll an additional die the way melta or chainfists do. I personally think he get 2d6+5 the same way zzap guns roll 2d6, the 2d6 isn't additional dice it's variable strength.

DT:80S++G++MB++I+Pw40k07+D++A++/areWD-R++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I think he would only get 1d6+5. Normally, you only get one die to determine armor penetration, anything else would be additional.

I can see your point of view, but not all methods of dealing 2d6 armor pen specifically say 'additional'. A Witch Hunters eviscerator says simply 'roll 2d6'. EDIT: Chainfists are the same way, it doesn't mention being additional, just 2d6.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/05 10:41:21


 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






Springhurst, VIC, Australia

I personally feel the it is 2D6+5, as there is no word of addition, it seems like a flat rate

DC:90+S++G++MB+I+Pw40k98-ID++A++/hWD284R++T(T)DM+

Squigy's Gallery, come have a look
 
   
Made in se
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





I think I have to agree with spinach_chin.

RB, page 60 wrote:ARMOUR PENETRATION
Hitting a vehicle is no guarantee that you will actually
damage it. Once a hit has been scored on a vehicle, roll
a D6 and add the weapon’s Strength to it

So I think you can say the standard armour penetration is d6+Strength.
If you get more than one dice to add to your strength by any means then you have gotten an extra dice.

Zzap guns roll 2d6 for their strength so their penetration still is only d6+Strength, they have no extra penetration dice.

In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... 
   
Made in us
Sure Space Wolves Land Raider Pilot





yeah this is a crazy gray area in the rules as both TMC's and meltas specifally say they get additional dice and are mentioned in the necron codex as being innefective but chainfists do not say additional can anyone else confirm deny that? Anyways from a fluff standpoint he should totally get full penetration as the dawnblade is clearly a sword of vaul designed for cleaving necrons up anyways.

DT:80S++G++MB++I+Pw40k07+D++A++/areWD-R++T(T)DM+ 
   
Made in ca
Irked Necron Immortal





Well, the Monolith's Living Metal rule clearly states that weapons that get extra armor penetration dice do not get them against the monolith, with the exception of Ordnance weapons...

ALSO, in the slightly newer "Second Printing" of the Necron Codex, the last line of the Living Metal rule says, and I quote:
"In practice, any weapon attacking the Monolith will roll for Armor Penetration using it's unaugmented strength and a single D6 no matter what."

Read the last 3 words of that rule "no matter what". Harsh.

Also, fluff wise: The Monolith IS portrayed to be the strongest "tank" in the 40K universe, so it does make sense.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/01/05 21:03:58


7000 pts (Not including Gauss Pylon Network)
Alpharius wrote:Meltdown at the Nuclear Over-reactor!
Run! Run! RUN!
Unit1126PLL wrote:Everything is a gunline. Khorne berzerkers have pistols? Gunline unit. Tanks can't assault? They're all, every last one, a gunline. Planes? Gunline. Motorcycles? Mobile gunline. Mono-Khorne daemons? Bloodthirster has shooting attack. Gunline.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





If 2d6+5 is determining the strength of the attack, then you would normally roll 2d6+5 + d6 for armor penetration.

This clearly isn't the case. I agree with d6+5.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Yep D6+5.

The standard rules for armor penetration are Strength + D6. Any rule that adds a further D6 to this equation is most certainly "additional" whether the word 'additional' is actually included in the rule or not is irrelevant.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator





Hooper

yakface wrote:
Yep D6+5.

The standard rules for armor penetration are Strength + D6. Any rule that adds a further D6 to this equation is most certainly "additional" whether the word 'additional' is actually included in the rule or not is irrelevant.



True.....but codex trumps rule book correct? Tau codex says that farsight rolls 2d6+5 for armor pen. So Farsight using the dawn blade standard armor pen roll is 2d6+5 not 1d6 + extra d6 + 5.

IMO shoot the monolith with rail guns str 10 FTW



This is silly! Buttons are not how one escapes dungeons! I would smash the button and rain beatings liberally down on the wizard for playing such a trick!


 
   
Made in us
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator




Falls Church, VA

Boyofdestiny205 wrote:
yakface wrote:
Yep D6+5.

The standard rules for armor penetration are Strength + D6. Any rule that adds a further D6 to this equation is most certainly "additional" whether the word 'additional' is actually included in the rule or not is irrelevant.



True.....but codex trumps rule book correct? Tau codex says that farsight rolls 2d6+5 for armor pen. So Farsight using the dawn blade standard armor pen roll is 2d6+5 not 1d6 + extra d6 + 5.

IMO shoot the monolith with rail guns str 10 FTW


Codex trumps rulebook when they disagree, they are not disagreeing. Regardless, the necron codex quoted above states you only ever roll 1 d6, no matter what.

He gets 1d6 + 5, not 2d6.
   
Made in us
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator





Hooper

targetawg wrote:
Boyofdestiny205 wrote:
yakface wrote:
Yep D6+5.

The standard rules for armor penetration are Strength + D6. Any rule that adds a further D6 to this equation is most certainly "additional" whether the word 'additional' is actually included in the rule or not is irrelevant.



True.....but codex trumps rule book correct? Tau codex says that farsight rolls 2d6+5 for armor pen. So Farsight using the dawn blade standard armor pen roll is 2d6+5 not 1d6 + extra d6 + 5.

IMO shoot the monolith with rail guns str 10 FTW


Codex trumps rulebook when they disagree, they are not disagreeing. Regardless, the necron codex quoted above states you only ever roll 1 d6, no matter what.

He gets 1d6 + 5, not 2d6.




Codex trumps rulebook when they disagree, they are not disagreeing. Regardless, the necron codex quoted above states you only ever roll 1 d6, no matter what.



But they do disagree as yakface said standard rules for armor pen are D6 + strength.

Farsight's standard armor pen roll is 2d6+5 no where does it say he gains an extra d6 its just 2d6+5.

But if you want i will follow the rules that you are stating which means farsight rolls D6+5+Strength against a Monolith.

Now before anyone says BUUUUUWAAAAA?????

Standard armor pen rolls are d6+Str Right?

Farsight with the dawn blade will roll 2d6+5+Strength (farsight is str 5 by the way)

Which means Farsight will roll 2d6+5+5 against normal vehicles and "following the rules" will roll D6+10 against the Monolith. Because and i quote "In practice, any weapon attacking the monolith will roll for armor penetration using its unaugmented strength and a single D6 no matter what."

One more time thats D6+5+unagumented str 5 for armor pen against the MONOLITH.


This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/01/08 04:14:01




This is silly! Buttons are not how one escapes dungeons! I would smash the button and rain beatings liberally down on the wizard for playing such a trick!


 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Boyofdestiny205 wrote:

Codex trumps rulebook when they disagree, they are not disagreeing. Regardless, the necron codex quoted above states you only ever roll 1 d6, no matter what.



But they do disagree as yakface said standard rules for armor pen are D6 + strength.

Farsight's standard armor pen roll is 2d6+5 no where does it say he gains an extra d6 its just 2d6+5.

But if you want i will follow the rules that you are stating which means farsight rolls D6+5+Strength against a Monolith.

Now before anyone says BUUUUUWAAAAA?????

Standard armor pen rolls are d6+Str Right?

Farsight with the dawn blade will roll 2d6+5+Strength (farsight is str 5 by the way)

Which means Farsight will roll 2d6+5+5 against normal vehicles and "following the rules" will roll D6+10 against the Monolith. Because and i quote "In practice, any weapon attacking the monolith will roll for armor penetration using its unaugmented strength and a single D6 no matter what."

One more time thats D6+5+unagumented str 5 for armor pen against the MONOLITH.



This is not a case of codex vs. rulebook, and even when that is the case it is only in a situation where two rules disagree.

Here we have one special rule in a codex vs. another special rule in a codex.

The Dawnblade gives farsight 2D6+5 for penetration against vehicles.

The Living Metal rule says that models never get to roll more than one D6 for penetration against the Monolith.


THIS IS NOT A CONFLICT OF RULES!

In one case you have a rule that grants and ability on the other hand you have a rule which restricts abilities.


In any game, the restriction always supersedes the permission. This is a basic fundamental part of any rules.

For example if I have a rule that says: "In the movement phase models move up to 6 inches".

But then in the rules for terrain I say: "Models that move through terrain only move 3 inches".


So which is it? The first rule says models can move 6 inches but the 2nd rule says that models can only move 3 inches? Which one takes precedence?

In all such cases the restrictive rule takes precedence otherwise the entire set of rules completely breaks down.


So in this case since the Dawnblade grants a bonus penetration die and Living Metal restricts bonus penetration dice from being used, you have to follow the restrictive rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/08 04:39:33


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator




Falls Church, VA

Clearing one last thing up...

Farsights dawnblade just rolls 2d6 + 5 for armor pen. The 5 is his strength as far as I know, I've never heard of or seen anyone try to say "but i get to add my strength as well, so I roll 2d6 +10!"

I'm not going insane on this am I? This is how it works...right?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/08 05:45:44


 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




IMO the "no matter what" is just the writer making sure you understood that you don't get extra dice if using a weapon that would normally grant them. An infantry model with a melee weapon that grants 2d6+S AP is definitely getting a bonus dice same as MCs. Melta weapons get an extra dice in certain cases, so it's a bonus.

The Monolith is still a mess in cases where you can't be sure if it's a bonus or not. Spore Mines were FAQd to work as written since "it's not a bonus", same goes for the Vindicare's super shot. Melta Bombs have for some reason been left out even if they're never given the Melta rule (they don't have AP1 for example) or even called a weapon.
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





The Codex states 2d6+5. That is what Farsight does for armor penetration. No +5, no +d6, it is 2d6+5. There is no mention of a bonus penetration die in the Farsight entry.

Ignore the rulebook as Codex trumps.

I've not seen the amended Necron monolith text, but if what Centurion quoted is true, then I'd say it trumps Farsight's rules.

I honestly don't see where the confusion lies nor do I see a need to try to decipher a game designer's intent in this case.
   
Made in us
Wicked Warp Spider





South Carolina


IMO shoot the monolith with rail guns str 10 FTW


The Monolith is still a mess in cases where you can't be sure if it's a bonus or not. Spore Mines were FAQd to work as written since "it's not a bonus", same goes for the Vindicare's super shot. Melta Bombs have for some reason been left out even if they're never given the Melta rule (they don't have AP1 for example) or even called a weapon.


I agree with yakface on this, restrictive rules trump normal rules (even other dex's rules unfortunatly). I also believe that the 5 is his strenght in the (2d6+5 debate) because somebody else would have quesitoned that before.

The two quotes I QFT (couldn't figure out multiquote), Even farseight should be lugging a big gun around either in the form of broadsides or a hammerhead. Hopefully the new necron dex will clear up the crons multipal confusing rules.

"I suppose if we couldn't laugh at things that don't make sence, we couldn't react to a lot of life." - Calvin and Hobbes

DukeRustfield - There's nothing wrong with beer and pretzels. I'm pretty sure they are the most important members of the food group. 
   
Made in ca
Irked Necron Immortal





Dal'yth Dude wrote:The Codex states 2d6+5. That is what Farsight does for armor penetration. No +5, no +d6, it is 2d6+5. There is no mention of a bonus penetration die in the Farsight entry.

Ignore the rulebook as Codex trumps.

I've not seen the amended Necron monolith text, but if what Centurion quoted is true, then I'd say it trumps Farsight's rules.

I honestly don't see where the confusion lies nor do I see a need to try to decipher a game designer's intent in this case.


Again, this is not against the rulebook, this is against the Necron codex, to be more precise the Living Metal rule:
"In practice, any weapon attacking the monolith will roll for armor penetration using its unaugmented strength and a single D6 no matter what."

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/01/08 16:49:09


7000 pts (Not including Gauss Pylon Network)
Alpharius wrote:Meltdown at the Nuclear Over-reactor!
Run! Run! RUN!
Unit1126PLL wrote:Everything is a gunline. Khorne berzerkers have pistols? Gunline unit. Tanks can't assault? They're all, every last one, a gunline. Planes? Gunline. Motorcycles? Mobile gunline. Mono-Khorne daemons? Bloodthirster has shooting attack. Gunline.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Ok by reading this rule does that mean dreadnaughts have to use Str 6. The close combat arm augments his Str 6 to Str 10. I had though that powerfist and thunderhammers were double strength but from this rule you have to use the unaugmented strength of 4.

I think this is a crap rule.

The Venticar Assassin has an armor piercing round that does 3d6+3. By this rule it would not work on the monolith. I think this is crap.

1850 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1850+ 1000 and counting 
   
Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





The unagumented S of a DDCW is a base 10.

In practice, any weapon attacking the monolith will roll for armor penetration using its unaugmented strength and a single D6 no matter what.


In the same way a model with a powerklaw has an unaugmented S of double their normal S because that's the weapon's S. So a nob with a pk charging a tank would hit it with S8 instead of S9 because they don't get to augment the S of the weapon with the Furious Charge USR.
   
Made in us
Shas'la with Pulse Carbine





Eight Ball wrote:
Dal'yth Dude wrote:The Codex states 2d6+5. That is what Farsight does for armor penetration. No +5, no +d6, it is 2d6+5. There is no mention of a bonus penetration die in the Farsight entry.

Ignore the rulebook as Codex trumps.

I've not seen the amended Necron monolith text, but if what Centurion quoted is true, then I'd say it trumps Farsight's rules.

I honestly don't see where the confusion lies nor do I see a need to try to decipher a game designer's intent in this case.


Again, this is not against the rulebook, this is against the Necron codex, to be more precise the Living Metal rule:
"In practice, any weapon attacking the monolith will roll for armor penetration using its unaugmented strength and a single D6 no matter what."


And that's is exactly what I said when I said "I've not seen the amended Necron monolith text, but if what Centurion quoted is true, then I'd say it trumps Farsight's rules."
   
Made in ca
Irked Necron Immortal





Okay, am I missing something here, who is Centurion?

7000 pts (Not including Gauss Pylon Network)
Alpharius wrote:Meltdown at the Nuclear Over-reactor!
Run! Run! RUN!
Unit1126PLL wrote:Everything is a gunline. Khorne berzerkers have pistols? Gunline unit. Tanks can't assault? They're all, every last one, a gunline. Planes? Gunline. Motorcycles? Mobile gunline. Mono-Khorne daemons? Bloodthirster has shooting attack. Gunline.
 
   
Made in ca
Nasty Nob





Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

I am again not sure how you people make a big deal out of these things.

Simply...Farsight has 2d6+5 AP, that is 2d6 + 5 (his strength). The Necron codex says 1d6 MAX, so he gets 16d+5 AP.

As for the VINDICARE assassin, his penetrator round only does d6 penetration.

====================================

The whole point of the living armour rule on the Monolith was to make sure most of the 'awesome' tank hunters don't work against it.

Only way to hurt the thing is brute force weapons, see Lascannons, Railguns, etc.


Current Project: Random quaratine models!
Most Recently Completed: Stormcast Nightvault Warband
On the Desk: Looking into 3D Printing!
Instagram Updates: @joyous_oblivion 
   
Made in us
Wicked Warp Spider





South Carolina

MauleedlovesYakeface wrote:Ok by reading this rule does that mean dreadnaughts have to use Str 6. The close combat arm augments his Str 6 to Str 10. I had though that powerfist and thunderhammers were double strength but from this rule you have to use the unaugmented strength of 4.

The Venticar Assassin has an armor piercing round that does 3d6+3. By this rule it would not work on the monolith.


Here is the answer from the Cron FAQ online

Q. Does a model with a powerfist/claw that
attacks a Monolith get to double its Strength for
armour penetration rolls?
A. Yes, powerfists/claws, thunder hammers, andso on still double their user’s Strength when
attacking a Monolith.

As to the Vindicar, I think I remember reading somewhere he gets the 3d6 but no extra dice for rending...cant find it currently.

"I suppose if we couldn't laugh at things that don't make sence, we couldn't react to a lot of life." - Calvin and Hobbes

DukeRustfield - There's nothing wrong with beer and pretzels. I'm pretty sure they are the most important members of the food group. 
   
Made in ca
Irked Necron Immortal





yeah, the double STRENGTH thing I had seen is still there, but you STILL only get the D6 plus that (doubled) strength...

As for the Vindicare (that is the correct spelling BTW), I have never seen the 3D6, but if you can find that, it would be helpful.

7000 pts (Not including Gauss Pylon Network)
Alpharius wrote:Meltdown at the Nuclear Over-reactor!
Run! Run! RUN!
Unit1126PLL wrote:Everything is a gunline. Khorne berzerkers have pistols? Gunline unit. Tanks can't assault? They're all, every last one, a gunline. Planes? Gunline. Motorcycles? Mobile gunline. Mono-Khorne daemons? Bloodthirster has shooting attack. Gunline.
 
   
Made in se
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





Casper wrote:As to the Vindicar, I think I remember reading somewhere he gets the 3d6 but no extra dice for rending...cant find it currently.

You remember it from the Necron 4ed FAQ.
That FAQ is no longer in effect resulting in the Turbo-Penetrator being reduced to a single d6 vs liths.

In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... 
   
Made in us
Wicked Warp Spider





South Carolina

Webbe for the save. Thanks man, wouldn't be suprised if we wind up haveing similar discussions when the new monolith comes out again (if living armor is still there).

"I suppose if we couldn't laugh at things that don't make sence, we couldn't react to a lot of life." - Calvin and Hobbes

DukeRustfield - There's nothing wrong with beer and pretzels. I'm pretty sure they are the most important members of the food group. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: