Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/09 23:04:43
Subject: New FAQ
|
 |
Incorporating Wet-Blending
|
http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2220025_Warhammer_FAQ__PART2_Jan_2009.pdf
Some things of interest:
Flying vampire missiles no longer work
Big bases in smaller based units and US is resolved as 6th
Dead mount=no using lance (Dreadlance nerf)
Frenzied models do not have to charge units they wouldn't reach
Hydras do not skirmish for charging through terrain purposes
Champions don't count as RNF for the 5 man rule
Flame Cannons, Warpfire Throwers, and Salamander shooting are all Flaming attacks
2 models with ASF then go to initiative and ignore charging, GWs, etc.
|
-James
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/10 00:08:14
Subject: New FAQ
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Los Angeles
|
Thank you for bringing that to our collective attention. Now if only I had the patience to read it right now...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/10 00:08:47
"The last known instance of common sense happened at a GT. A player tried to use the 'common sense' argument vs. Mauleed to justify his turbo-boosted bikes getting a saving throw vs. Psycannons. The player's resulting psychic death scream erased common sense from the minds of 40k players everywhere. " - Ozymandias |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/10 04:13:56
Subject: New FAQ
|
 |
[DCM]
Tzeentch's Fan Girl
|
Which FAQ affects the Vampire Missile?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/10 18:24:15
Subject: New FAQ
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Well that was fairly extensive. Almost worth releasing 8th edition to cover all of that.
Still at least a Flame Cannon is now a flamming attack. That argument drove me up the wall. ASF vs ASF is clearly resolved too.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/10 19:28:02
Subject: New FAQ
|
 |
[MOD]
Madrak Ironhide
|
Thanks for posting this.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/10 20:40:55
Subject: New FAQ
|
 |
[MOD]
Madrak Ironhide
|
Can someone explain the ruling on this one?
Q. If a character declares a lone charge out of a
unit against an enemy armed with missile
weapons, and the enemy elects to Stand and Shoot,
whom do they target with their Stand and Shoot
reaction – the character or his unit?
A. They will target the character’s unit, and if the
unit panics and flees, it will take the character with
them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/10 20:58:51
Subject: New FAQ
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Cherry Hill, NJ
|
That last one is a very poor answer. But in general the reason for that answer is that the Stand and Shoot reaction happens before any models are moved. Under normal circumstances the character will be in the unit when the shooting takes place. Thus the shots will be directed at the unit.
Now there is a big problem with that particular one. By RAW now a unit with 12" Missile weapons cannot stand and shoot against a character charging out of a unit more than 12" away. Since the stand and shoot reaction is resolved as soon as the model is in range, the charged unit will need to wait until the unit, not the character is within range which will never happen during the move chargers segment of the movement phase.
While I applaud them for making a good decision on this issue they did so in their usual manner of poorly wording a vital rule.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/11 04:56:26
Subject: New FAQ
|
 |
[DCM]
Tzeentch's Fan Girl
|
Negative, I think you can still make that shoot reaction. If the charger is out of range when the charge is declared, you don't shoot until the charger is within range.
I would still assert that in the case described, you'd be able to shoot the character once he comes into range. Even taking RAW, you can't target the unit as it is out of range; only when the character comes into range does a legal target open up.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/11 17:12:01
Subject: New FAQ
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
Ontario
|
^ But he isn't a legal target as the shooting is designated for the unit which the character is no longer a part of.
|
DCDA:90-S++G+++MB++I+Pw40k98-D+++A+++/areWD007R++T(S)DM+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/11 20:46:38
Subject: New FAQ
|
 |
Plaguebearer with a Flu
Virginia Beach
|
I think the reasoning for shooting the unit is that you can't pick a character out of a unit and you shoot before moving. In a case where the character is charging a distance greater than the range of the missile weapon, you would have to target him when he was no longer in the unit and thus could be singled out.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/12 17:51:49
Subject: New FAQ
|
 |
Incorporating Wet-Blending
|
Manfred von Drakken wrote:Which FAQ affects the Vampire Missile?
None. I misread the all chargers using the same *type* of movement.
|
-James
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/15 17:01:45
Subject: Re:New FAQ
|
 |
Fickle Fury of Chaos
San Lorenzo, CA
|
Whats are "Flying vampire missiles "? I've not heard this before and I'd like to know.
Thanks -K
|
Lurking & Posting since 1997.
|
|
 |
 |
|