Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/12 16:18:26
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Unbalanced Fanatic
|
The Chapter Master in the SM Codex has the ability to call in an orbital bombardment. In the description of the ability it says that he can do this as long as he has not moved in the movement phase. 2 questions.
Can he use this ability when he is in reserve?
Can he use this ability on the turn that he deep strikes if arriving from a pod, jum pack or teleporting?
|
The 21st century will have a number of great cities. You’ll choose between cities of great population density and those that are like series of islands in the forest. - Bernard Tschumi |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/12 16:26:19
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Brotherhood of Blood
|
I think it reads he has to have LOS so if he is not on the tabe he can't.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/12 16:35:12
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
1. Interesting. I say no, models not on table typically have no effect (ref: psychic Hood not being usable if not on table, psychic powers not being possible, etc.)
2. No. They count as moving when deepstriking.
|
Manfred on Dwarfs: "it's like fighting a mountain, except the mountain stabs back."
For Hearth and Home! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/12 16:42:22
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
Lemartes wrote:I think it reads he has to have LOS so if he is not on the tabe he can't.
No, it does not, as it has the "Barrage" special rule.
1. I would say they could not, just as a vehicle/unit in Reserve cannot fire if not on the table (unless in transport of course ,there's rules for that). There are very few circumstances where mdoels not on the table can do anything at all and those circumstances are stated in their rules.
2. No, Deepstrike counts as moving.
|
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/12 16:46:12
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Brotherhood of Blood
|
I am at work so that makes sense. You have to give up movement/shooting to use it tho' and if your off the board your not giving up anything.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/12 17:07:52
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Also, claiming that he can use his special ability while off table, is like saying a basilisk with the barrage upgrade can shoot you while its in reserve too.
Yea, no abilities/powers/shooting/or anything else if the model is not in play.
|
DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/12 17:12:47
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Unless, of course, the rules specify that the ability can be used while off-table (IG Improved Comms for example).
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/12 19:27:52
Subject: Re:Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
I know this doesn't pertain to the original question but say he is in a transport can he call in the bombardment from a fire point? I would figure he could as long as the transport hadn't moved.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/12 22:29:34
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Yes Emrab he could call in the bombardment from a fire point, it's important that you remember that he requires a fire point though. Alot of people seemed to think that he should be able to do this from a land raider last time the issue came up.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/12 22:47:19
Subject: Re:Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
Thanks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/12 22:55:31
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Raging Ravener
|
Does the attack have a weapon profile like a shooting attack. If so then i would say no, If he is not on the field then he could not use it. Besides most thing clearly say "weather he in play or not" Lictors for Nids say this as does the Eldar Autarch. I cant think of an attack though that says anything like that. If anyone can set presidence that would help.
|
"I am the crash of blades, and the furry of the storm. There is no shelter from my wrath, and no reprieve from my judgment." --Unknown (but it sure sounded cool) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/13 06:36:05
Subject: Re:Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
Emrab wrote:Thanks.
Just remember a Land Raider doesn't have a fire point
|
The Happy Guardsman
Red Templars
Radical Inquisitor
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/13 07:15:46
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Can a chapter master call on an orbital strike if he deep strikes but is in Terminator Armor?
|
Comparing tournament records is another form of e-peen measuring.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/13 08:02:10
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
No, the rules explicitly state that he cannot use it if he moves, terminator armour(relentless) only says that the model can use rapid fire or heavy weapons as though it was stationary, not all weapons, and so does not override the requirements of the orbital bombardment.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/14 01:25:19
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
Yeah I must say it's the only downside to the LR but then again if it did have a firepoint then it would be a tad overpowered.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/14 17:34:12
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
I agree he must be on the table, in a transport that is on the table and did not move counts. If the Orbital Bombardment is Barrage, why does he need line of sight? The rules for Barrage say they do not need LOS, page 32.
Homer
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/14 17:34:52
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/14 23:49:44
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
(I dont have the new SM codex on me or rule book) I take it that his attack is just like the IG Bassalic attacking so he shouldnt need line of sight, however if he were in a transport he would still need a firepoint.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/15 01:37:29
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Emrab wrote:(I dont have the new SM codex on me or rule book) I take it that his attack is just like the IG Bassalic attacking so he shouldnt need line of sight, however if he were in a transport he would still need a firepoint.
Spot on, despite barrage attacks not needing LOS he is effectively firing a mortar, and you certainly wouldn't do that inside a tank that didn't have a firing port for it.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/15 15:29:54
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
Drunkspleen wrote:Emrab wrote:(I dont have the new SM codex on me or rule book) I take it that his attack is just like the IG Bassalic attacking so he shouldnt need line of sight, however if he were in a transport he would still need a firepoint.
Spot on, despite barrage attacks not needing LOS he is effectively firing a mortar, and you certainly wouldn't do that inside a tank that didn't have a firing port for it.
Except that he isn't shooting anything. The ordnance is coming from space, hence the term Orbital Bombardment. The rules I think apply are that he must not move, so the transport can't either, and the shot scatters 2D6 due the rule itself and no LOS from the Barrage designation. What am I missing O RAW gods/daemons?
Homer
|
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/15 15:37:09
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
You are missing that fluff are not rules.
It's a man portable one shot ordnance barrage weapon which can never used if you moved in the movement phase and counts as BS 0.
You can't fire any shooting weapon out of a vehicle with no Fire points, regardless if you need LOS or not.
|
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/15 18:30:33
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
This Webbe wrote:It's a man portable one shot ordnance barrage weapon [... snip]
is you making up fluff to fit the rule, the thing you claim I was doing, in reverse.
Webbe wrote:You can't fire any shooting weapon out of a vehicle with no Fire points, regardless if you need LOS or not.
This part I think is the strongest for needing a firing port. Just seems silly that he can't get on the phone without having the sunroof open.
Homer
|
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/15 20:51:44
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
Homer please re-read the rules for the chapter master orbital bombardment carefully before making any point on a rules discussion board
"This ability can be used once per game in his Shooting phase, providing that the Chapter Master did not move in the preceding Movement phase... Calling down an orbital bombardment otherwhise counts as firing a ranged weapon"
If you are firing a ranged weapon, you need a firing point.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/15 21:01:16
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/15 21:06:05
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Dominar
|
Homer S wrote:What am I missing O RAW gods/daemons?
Homer
That the rule itself specifically says he can't move and is used just like a shooting attack.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/15 21:47:43
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
foil7102 wrote:Homer please re-read the rules for the chapter master orbital bombardment carefully before making any point on a rules discussion board
"This ability can be used once per game in his Shooting phase, providing that the Chapter Master did not move in the preceding Movement phase... Calling down an orbital bombardment otherwhise counts as firing a ranged weapon"
If you are firing a ranged weapon, you need a firing point.
sourclams wrote:Homer S wrote:What am I missing O RAW gods/daemons?
Homer
That the rule itself specifically says he can't move and is used just like a shooting attack.
Thank you both... I did read the rule and agreed with the outcome... like 2 hours ago!
My only remaining point is that it is silly that he can't do it while in a Land Raider because he needs the top open. Must be cheap satellite cell service.
Homer
|
The only "hobby" GW is interested in is lining their pockets with your money.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/17 16:41:16
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Homer S wrote:
My only remaining point is that it is silly that he can't do it while in a Land Raider because he needs the top open. Must be cheap satellite cell service.
Homer
Fluffwise i would imagine he has to tag the target with some kind of device (hence the needing los) like a laser target painter that transmits the exact location of the target to the bombardeers
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/17 16:41:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/20 21:34:41
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
ok also going with the fluff of calling in the attack via cell phone you can lose signal in an elevator or a tunnel so there for he could lose signal in a LR.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/20 22:12:14
Subject: Re:Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Towering Hierophant Bio-Titan
UK
|
Being able to broadcast any personal portable device from within the plasteel & adamantium enforced hull of the mighy land raider is beyond plausible, even for the brillaint Adeptus Mechanicus..
Indeed, being able to pinpoint the foe (or target building) is required to ortheruise the full force of a lance-strike battery and only a vertern commander warrants such authortiy. Basically he needs to point.
|
H.B.M.C. wrote:Friend of mine just sent me this:
"The Tyranid Codex, where I learned the truth about despair, as will you. There's a reason why this codex is the worst hell on earth... Hope. ." Too be fair.. it's all worked out quite well!
Heh. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/20 22:34:20
Subject: Orbital Bombardment when not on the Field
|
 |
Inspiring Icon Bearer
|
To reiterate what I'm sure others have said, since the orbital bombardment "otherwise counts as firing a ranged weapon," it cannot be fired out of a land raider (no firing points, thus models inside can't fire), and can't be fired if the model is in reserves (models in reserves are not yet in the game, so can't fire).
|
|
 |
 |
|