Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/12 18:15:19
Subject: Questions from my last gaming session
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
PNW
|
Ive mailed these out to GW and haven't gotten a reply in over a week so I thought I would post them up here to see if you guys could help me out.
These scenarios came up in our last weekends gaming session, I hope you guys can shed some light on them for us.
These questions involve a game between deamonhunters and tyranids
1: How many kill points is a Hive Tyrant and a Retinue worth?
2: If a unit of Grey Knights embark onto a trasport does that vehicle gain any benifit from the Aegis special rule of its passengers?
3: Does the Aegis specail rule provide protection from Psychic Scream or The Horror psychic powers?
4: If a Brother Captin Grey Knight uses the Holocaust psychic power, is he guaranteed to hit himself?
5: Using the version of Smoke Launchers from the Daemonhunter Vehicle Upgrade section, if I place wool around my land raider after deploying smoke launchers, do I then get the benifit of concealment and thus a cover save on top of down ranking penatrating hits to glancing?
6: Does a unit containing an auspex get a 'free shot' on an inflitrating unit that preforms an outflank action?
7: (my rules lawyer friend would like this included) Is there a specifc rule that prevents a character with full access to his army's armory list from hauling around a hunter killer missle? To be specific the character is not in any way associated with a vehicle, just moving around on foot.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/12 18:47:08
Subject: Questions from my last gaming session
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Terrandfw wrote: 1: How many kill points is a Hive Tyrant and a Retinue worth?
1 each. Terrandfw wrote: 2: If a unit of Grey Knights embark onto a trasport does that vehicle gain any benifit from the Aegis special rule of its passengers?
No. Terrandfw wrote: 3: Does the Aegis specail rule provide protection from Psychic Scream or The Horror psychic powers?
No. Permanent psychic powers can't be cancelled. Terrandfw wrote: 4: If a Brother Captin Grey Knight uses the Holocaust psychic power, is he guaranteed to hit himself?
No. Touching isn't partially overlapping. Terrandfw wrote: 5: Using the version of Smoke Launchers from the Daemonhunter Vehicle Upgrade section, if I place wool around my land raider after deploying smoke launchers, do I then get the benifit of concealment and thus a cover save on top of down ranking penatrating hits to glancing?
No. Terrandfw wrote: 6: Does a unit containing an auspex get a 'free shot' on an inflitrating unit that preforms an outflank action?
No. Outflanking isn't infiltrating. Terrandfw wrote: 7: (my rules lawyer friend would like this included) Is there a specifc rule that prevents a character with full access to his army's armory list from hauling around a hunter killer missle? To be specific the character is not in any way associated with a vehicle, just moving around on foot.
Pots and kettles.... A non-vehicle unit can't take vehicular upgrades.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2009/01/12 18:47:39
"I was not making fun of you personally - I was heaping scorn on an inexcusably silly idea - a practice I shall always follow." - Lt. Colonel Dubois, Starship Troopers
Don't settle for the pewter horde! Visit http://www.bkarmypainting.com and find out how you can have a well-painted army quickly at a reasonable price. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/12 19:16:43
Subject: Questions from my last gaming session
|
 |
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot
|
Terrandfw wrote:
7: (my rules lawyer friend would like this included) Is there a specifc rule that prevents a character with full access to his army's armory list from hauling around a hunter killer missle? To be specific the character is not in any way associated with a vehicle, just moving around on foot.
Think of it this way Can a man in real life carry around a cruse missle?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/12 19:44:03
Subject: Re:Questions from my last gaming session
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I'm good with all of those responses, but I'm not sure I understand this one:
Terrandfw wrote:1: How many kill points is a Hive Tyrant and a Retinue worth?
Centurian99 wrote:1 each.
A Hive Tyrant isn't an independent character (although he may be the only example anywhere of a non-independent-character with a legal retinue), and I got the impression that he became a sort of upgrade character for the unit. Broodlord and his retinue are clearly worth a point each ( IC and retinue), but I can't see what I'm missing on the Hive Tyrant. I'm not disputing it, just curious as to how the ruling came about.
Emrab wrote:Think of it this way Can a man in real life carry around a cruse missle?
Sure. 2500 meter range, infrared tracking, all the bells whistles any good missile should have. That doesn't make stacking a Seraphim Superior up with HK missiles legal or even a good idea, though
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/12 20:40:58
Subject: Questions from my last gaming session
|
 |
Stubborn Temple Guard
|
The Hive Tyrant is a KP, and the entirely of the retinue is a KP. This is a total of 2 KP for the whole unit.
Each Tyrant Guard is NOT an individual KP.
|
27th Member of D.O.O.M.F.A.R.T.
Resident Battletech Guru. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/12 22:07:07
Subject: Questions from my last gaming session
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No, the TGuard is not a retinue in the BRB sense; because the HT is not an IC. Thus the entire unit counts as 1 KP.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/12 22:36:27
Subject: Re:Questions from my last gaming session
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
Murfreesboro, TN
|
Coredump's got it right, the only way to get more then 1 kp from a single unit is for it to contain a model that is either an indenpendant character or that will revert to IC status is his retine is killed. The broodlord and retinue for instance is worth 2KPs.
|
"I'm not much for prejudice, I prefer to judge people by whats inside, and how much fun it is to get to those insides." - Unknown Haemonculi |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/12 22:43:51
Subject: Questions from my last gaming session
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
from the BRB page 91: "If a character has a retinue, the character and his unit are worth 1 kill point each." page 47: "Warhammer 40,000 armies normally include two types of characters... [Independent characters or Upgrade characters]" I suppose there's a case for saying the Tyrant isn't an upgrade character because he wasn't an upgrade for the squad but rather it was built around him, but merely the fact that he isn't an Independent character doesn't make him exempt from the double kill points for having a retinue.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2009/01/12 22:44:16
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/13 00:30:08
Subject: Re:Questions from my last gaming session
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Drunkspleen wrote:page 91: "If a character has a retinue, the character and his unit are worth 1 kill point each."
page 47: "Warhammer 40,000 armies normally include two types of characters... [Independent characters or Upgrade characters]"
The IC rules make my head hurt every time I have to read them
So a character becomes an upgrade character the moment he assembles a retinue, but when the retinue is killed, he becomes an independent character, if I'm reading page 48 correctly. In order to assign the second kill point for the HT and his retinue, we'd have to stipulate that he becomes an upgrade character when he selects a retinue (page 91) because only characters and their retinues are worth 1 kill point each. There's no provision in the Tyrant Guard special rules under the Hive Tyrant, or under the Tyrant Guard entry in the codex that addresses that situation. If the page 48 rules kicked in and called the HT an upgrade character, making the unit eligible to give up two kill points, then the last line on page 48 would seem to grant the HT independent character status when the Tyrant Guards die:
BRB Page 91 wrote:"Where this is the case, the character counts as an upgrade character until all the other members of this unit are killed, at which point it starts counting as an independent character and it will do so for the rest of the game."
Drunkspleen wrote:I suppose there's a case for saying the Tyrant isn't an upgrade character because he wasn't an upgrade for the squad but rather it was built around him...
Tyrants are in a bizarre position. They're not characters of either flavor (independent or upgrade), but they're entitled to purchase retinues. Page 48 says that "Some Codex books allow you to field characters together with a special unit that they cannot leave during the game...", but it doesn't mention that one Codex book allows you to field a retinue around a non-character.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/13 05:47:14
Subject: Questions from my last gaming session
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Centurian99 wrote:Terrandfw wrote:
3: Does the Aegis specail rule provide protection from Psychic Scream or The Horror psychic powers?
No. Permanent psychic powers can't be cancelled.
Can't be cancelled by enemy psykers or wargear. The Aegis would seem to be equal parts wargear and psyker, but in the end that's only the fluff portion of it. And while some GW FAQs say persistent powers can't be cancelled others say they can be ignored by units with the right sort of stuff. The Null Rod from the same Codex: DH is said to let the carrier and his unit ignore even persistent powers despite being wargear in every sense of the word. Same goes for Kharn... he ignores the powers even if they still work on everyone else.
Not that GKs will have many problems with those two powers anyway, being Fearless.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/13 09:55:24
Subject: Re:Questions from my last gaming session
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Spetulhu wrote:Not that GKs will have many problems with those two powers anyway, being Fearless.
-5 Leadership might come up on something else besides The Horror, but you're right, they don't have much to fear from The Horror itself. Honestly, I wouldn't use The Horror at all, were it not free on the HT. Fearless seems so common as to be the rule, rather than the exception
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/13 22:57:08
Subject: Questions from my last gaming session
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Drunkspleen wrote:from the BRB
page 91: "If a character has a retinue, the character and his unit are worth 1 kill point each."
page 47: "Warhammer 40,000 armies normally include two types of characters... [Independent characters or Upgrade characters]"
I suppose there's a case for saying the Tyrant isn't an upgrade character because he wasn't an upgrade for the squad but rather it was built around him, but merely the fact that he isn't an Independent character doesn't make him exempt from the double kill points for having a retinue.
Except that it is in a large box talking about ICs, and comes after the heading that it is about ICs. Plus, under your reading, if all the guards die, the HT would become an IC; since that is what the 'retinue' rules state.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2009/01/14 00:06:09
Subject: Questions from my last gaming session
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
coredump wrote:
Except that it is in a large box talking about ICs, and comes after the heading that it is about ICs. Plus, under your reading, if all the guards die, the HT would become an IC; since that is what the 'retinue' rules state.
What does complicate the matter is the Tyranid FAQ which says the Tyrant plus Tyrant Guard follow the rules for a retinue (except that the Tyrant counts as an upgrade character for this unit, which of course doesn't even make sense).
I don't really know what that means by the RAW as the ruling is such a jumbled mess, but I thought I'd at least point it out.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|